We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“All good”

The Babushka Grand Hostel
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Babushka Grand Hostel
Ranked #58 of 283 Speciality Lodging in Odessa
Reviewed 1 February 2014

I've been traveling around Europe especially and this is one of my favorite hostels! The kitchen and bathroom are ideal places to make new friends. The dormitory where I stayed is always quiet and dark, so I know I will sleep well at any time (this can be a problem in some hostels).
See you soon!

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (39)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

17 - 23 of 39 reviews

Reviewed 12 January 2014

Hostel very cosy ,in the center of the city ,very near to train station and bus station,very spacious ,very good rate Quality/Price ,and cool staff.For sure ,next trip to Odessa i will book a bed in this hostel too.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BorisPareBalles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2014 via mobile

Stayed here couple of nights with a group of friends for New Year's eve celebrations. The hostel people make you feel welcome and are very helpful. Building outside is being renovated and at first sight looks like a mess. Once inside the place is clean and charming with spacious rooms, high ceilings and wooden floors. Great place to stay!

Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
Thank PaulExNed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 December 2013

I had a 2 night stay here and was even alllowed to leavy my luggage during the next day to leave in the evening. It is a safe place plus central if you want to explore the city. They also offer tours. It is one of those typical "we have a flat, we run a hostel" hostel, with 3(4?) rooms a big common room/reception plus a kitchen to use. Was worth the money and also fun. Recommendable.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank europlorer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 November 2013 via mobile

I stayed at the Babushka grand hostel for just shy of a month this October and has a blast. The staff were helpful and kind and I consider myself fortunate to have lucked out overall.

The hostel itself is beautiful, with a huge chandelier hanging in the common room that gives you the sense that you are on the titanic or in a 19th century salon.

The staff were helpful and they helped me seethe opera and a football match of chernomorets.

Overall it was an excellent base for exploring Odessa and launching side trips to Moldova and Lviv because of its proximity to the train station (2 blocks away).

Big thanks to John and all the staff at babushka grand :)

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lucbeebs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2013

We stayed in a private room in this hostel and our stay was perfectly adequate. In general, the hostel was well equipped and clean, although the shower in the hostel is really tricky and a couple of times I could only take a cold shower. Also, there is just one shower for the whole hostel, on the day we checked out there was a significant wait. Otherwise, it was fine...nothing wrong but nothing amazing. It is very close to the train station, and just about a 20 minute walk from the historical center of town. The staff was a little spacey and didn't quite seem to know what was going on at times, but were incredibly friendly. While certainly not amazing, I would say that this hostel is a safe bet.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Starwrangler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2013

Excellent location, near to Railway Station.
It is a big flat with 2 rooms. I stayed in a room where were 4 beds. My bed crashed 2 times, don't move yourself in that bed. Free lockers are provided (deposit fee). Stuff is very helpful by sharing information about a city.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KapaKohila
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Odessa hotels
0.8 mi away
Tsentralnaya
Tsentralnaya
#61 of 88 in Odessa
79 reviews
0.9 mi away
Reno Hotel
Reno Hotel
#55 of 88 in Odessa
23 reviews
2.5 mi away
Arcadia Hotel
Arcadia Hotel
#48 of 88 in Odessa
96 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Odesskiy Dvorik
Odesskiy Dvorik
#19 of 88 in Odessa
143 reviews
0.5 mi away
Premier Geneva Hotel
Premier Geneva Hotel
#1 of 88 in Odessa
229 reviews
1.4 mi away
Resort & Spa Hotel NEMO with dolphins
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Babushka Grand Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Babushka Grand Hostel

Address: Mala Arnautska vul. 60, Odessa 65012, Ukraine
Region: Ukraine > Odessa Oblast > Odessa
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #58 of 283 Speciality Lodging in Odessa
Price Range: £7 - £16 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We have a beautiful hostel that looks like a pre-revolutionary aristocrat's apartment with chandeliers, gilded ceilings that are 4 1/2 meters high and carpets. It is three blocks from the train station and a 25 minute walk from the beach and a 15 minutes from Deribasivskaya. Western service with local knowledge we are always available to help you plan any excursion or adventure. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your The Babushka Grand Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing