We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best cost-effective so far!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Boutique Hotel California
Ranked #69 of 81 Hotels in Odessa
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Best cost-effective so far!”
Reviewed 30 May 2013

I've been coming to Odessa on a quarterly basis and had always stayed in city-centre hotels. I've received a recommendation from a friend recently moved to Odessa, that hotel California (located right next to Ekaterinskaya road, 7 minutes walking from Delibasovskaya with the opera, promenade and nice restaurants). The rooms are super-clean, very fancy (in Ukrainian standards, that is) and most importantly: the price is fair! I've paid ~120$ per night for the Jr. Suite and the first night I arrived at 5AM and the hotel was booked solid, so they gave me that standard single room - which was cozy but also great... and it cost me 50$.

I will DEFINITELY come back. Service was great, room, lobby and restaurant were clean and "new-looking" (hotel is 1 year old from what I hear). ONLY thing missing is a nice fitness room and perhaps a bit richer breakfast, but that's just me.

Room Tip: If you're traveling alone and wanna save up some $, take the standard single room, it's just...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Checkpi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

145 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    83
    35
    14
    10
    3
See reviews for
20
29
27
42
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Odessa, Ukraine
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 April 2013

Very good location, staff very nice, eager to help.
Room and quality of comfort was very good, I would say better than net 4 stars hotels.
Breakfast is included, continential, great choice of varenicks:)
There is a free parking outdoors and lots of places to visit near the hotel!
In general- liked the hotel very much.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Irina S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 April 2013

Nice hotel designed and managed in a proper way. A very enjoyable experience.
Staff is good, very professional, pleasant, friendly.
New building, classical lobby and restaurant are beautifully furnished and well-appointed.
Room is cozy and clean, well-done!

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ConstanceT880
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Antonio, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 April 2013

Everything is great! The staff was very friendly and accommodating, the food at the restaurant is tasty and various. The room was cozy. Clean and brand-new furniture. Also, there is an extra room for business meetings, very comfortable and not expansive! It was organized at once! To summarize- my inpression abt the hotel is very good!

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank 595AndrewP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 March 2013

I stayed at this hotel for 2 nights in the beginning of March and I have very good feelings about California Hotel!
The hotel is beautiful from the outside& inside. It's situated in quite a good location: the Street is small & quiet, about only 5 to 10mins away from the heart of the city of Odessa if you take a walk.
The restaurant and gallery are well decorated and furnished and the breakfast was one of the best I've had in a long time - sausage, eggs and Ukrainian style pancakes and savoury pastry items were excellent. The room is well-furnished & clean.
My conclusion is that this hotel is a great place to stay in Odessa and the hotel staff provided a very professional and friendly service. I can fully recommend this hotel to travellers!

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kolin T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 March 2013

This Hotel is great in every way. I've stayed here for two days in March, when travelled on business. Very nice design, high standard facilities, excellent rooms and the staff actually smile! In all seriousness the staff at this hotel made me feel very welcome and extended the best service you could expect.The restaurant is also good^ breakfast is tasty and various,
The location is also a plus- the hotel is situated in the "hiostorical heart" of the town, near to every place to visit.
In common- liked "California" a lot and will recommend to other travellers.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Paul F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swindon, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 March 2013 via mobile

I arrived late at night and was immediately struck by the Hotels entrance and very friendly receptionist, all the decor is almost brand new and I think that the American owner has done a superb job in restoring the property from its original state ! To be honest I can`t find many faults with the Hotel, the staircase is imposing ,the room I was in was superb, (no bath, only shower) all the furniture and fixtures were excellent, a flat screen TV, safe and mini-bar, (prices were a bit over the top though, as in most hotels I think) two niggling points, I could not find a plug for the sink and all the stations on the TV were in Russian and Ukrainian. I had a small balcony which overlooked the city and I thought that the food at breakfast was good, but why weren`t there bigger plates to put the food on, only what seemed like saucers !! The location was good, only a few streets from the main boulevard, ( Deribasovskaya street) and within easy walking distance of the imposing facade of the railway station. But travellers beware, oh beware of taxi costs from the airport...it is only about 12km from the city centre but the taxis charge outrageous prices, I booked a taxi online but it still cost me $25 which I thought was a complete rip-off !! If I had arrived at the airport in the daytime I would have caught the bus into the centre. So if you want a good, clean comfortable hotel to stay in do not look further than the Hotel California.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ade200902
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Odessa hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Bristol Odessa
Hotel Bristol Odessa
#6 of 81 in Odessa
228 reviews
0.0 mi away
Premier Geneva Hotel
Premier Geneva Hotel
#1 of 81 in Odessa
194 reviews
1.1 mi away
Panorama De Luxe
Panorama De Luxe
#16 of 81 in Odessa
58 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Duke Hotel
Duke Hotel
#15 of 81 in Odessa
95 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel Otrada
Hotel Otrada
#30 of 81 in Odessa
76 reviews
0.4 mi away
Frapolli
Frapolli
#9 of 81 in Odessa
153 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Boutique Hotel California? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Boutique Hotel California

Property: Boutique Hotel California
Address: Yevreyskaya St., 27, Odessa 65045, Ukraine
Region: Ukraine > Odessa Oblast > Odessa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #69 of 81 Hotels in Odessa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:5 star — Boutique Hotel California 5*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Boutique Hotel CALIFORNIA 5* is located in the center of historical, cultural and business part of the city of Odessa - on the quiet and cozy Yevreyskaya Street. The Hotel is close to the famous Odessa synagogue and a five-minute walk from Deribasovskaya Street. Such location gives a wonderful opportunity for the guests to be in the middle of all the events of Odessa - the most beautiful and dynamic cities of Ukraine. The architectural design of the Hotel has been developed with the use of marble and granite in the classical style by the most prominent architects, while its impeccable interior design - is a combination of elegant exquisiteness and European comfort. Boutique Hotel CALIFORNIA 5* is a comfortable hotel for business people. Modern technologies with the combination of the best traditions of Odessa's hospitality, immaculate services and individual approach create maximum comfort for both experienced business travelers and tourists. Our Hotel in Odessa has everything for a comfortable stay: continental breakfast, 24/7 room service, once a day room cleaning (an additional cleaning upon request), WI-FI. The Hotel consists of 44 rooms in 6 various categories: all of them will create a comfortable atmosphere during your stay and will help to understand the spirit of Old Odessa. Hotel has a restaurant with a refined European and Odessa cuisine. The Chef in the restaurant is a winner of international contests. Per your request, we are ready to cook the dishes of Old Odessa recipes. Bar and room-service are opened 24 hours a day. Also, we offer a variety of travel and entertainment services (for individuals or in groups) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HRS and Cancelon so you can book your Boutique Hotel California reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing