We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Disappointed” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Boutique Hotel California

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Boutique Hotel California
Ranked #69 of 78 Hotels in Odessa
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
19 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Disappointed”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2013

The best features of the hotel are the location and the lobby. It is a short walk to the Opera house which is one of the best parts of the city. The hotel website describes it as a comfortable business hotel, appointed with lots of marble. The lobby is rich with marble accents, however that is where it stops. The guestrooms are average at best, in the style of an old Holiday Inn in the US in desperate need of refurbishment. My room didn't even have a box of kleenex. The bed which consisted of a thin mattress with no box spring was as hard as a rock, and the rooms they refer to as "suites" are small and cramped. My "suite" had a shower enclosure but no shower, only a hand held spray contraption.
The buffet breakfast has the smallest selection of food I have ever encountered and there is not an a la carte menu. I found it amusing to watch hotel guests pace the four foot buffet table trying to find something to eat.
If you are looking for a place to sleep in a great location at a good price, this is your hotel. However if you desire something more than basic, or even with a hint of upscale, go elsewhere.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank ZZZZ10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

133 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    78
    33
    13
    7
    2
See reviews for
17
28
26
40
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bergen, Norway
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 August 2013

This is a very good located hotel, just 6-7 mins walk from Deribasovskaya! Also walking distance from railway station and market there! Service is exellent from the friendly and english speaking staff! Roms and lobby are nice...but not really my taste! Breakfast is just a minimum..but what y need is there. Dont expect too much, and y will be happy in this hotel! I payed about 120$ for a night stay. That is an okey price for this good located hotel, but i wouldnt pay more!!
I had a good stay, and i can recomend this hotel!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Trond R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
116 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 342 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2013

This is a new 4-star very centrally located business hotel in Odessa - it was opened in July 2012 and is very close to the famous Odessa synagogue and literally at five-minute walk from the main Deribasovskaya street. The hotel is situated in a new building on the central but at the same time quiet Evreyskaya (Jewish) street and offers to its guests 44 rooms of different categories, all of them with air-conditioning and free Wi-Fi access (ask for the password at the reception upon arrival/check-in), not a bad continental breakfast and a free secured parking in front of the hotel. The hotel is still fresh and clean, the staff is very kind and English speaking, the only negative remarks apart from the relatively high price (so typical for Odessa in general!) is the fact that the rooms are somehow not really sound-proof and you can hear all your neighbours, apart from this the breakfast starts at 8:00 a.m. and this could be sometimes an issue for the business customers who would like to start work early. In general I would recommend this hotel as one of the best in Odessa!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wolfchild
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madrid, Spain
Level Contributor
30 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2013 via mobile

It's a reasonable hotel at a reasonable price. The city is great and quite expensive, and this hotel is not. Services are fine and room confortable. The only but: breakfast doesn't start until 8.00 am, so not very convenient when you're there for work.

Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank OriolEN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
38 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2013

A new hotel with excellent location. You'll walk to city center in ten minutes. Rooms were very nice, clean all over, nice bathrooms. The breakfast is average, but tasty. The breakfastroom does the job as a bar at night. The staff speaks good english and are serviceminded.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Christian022011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 June 2013

I thought this hotel was wonderful. It was near the center of town. I walked everywhere from this hotel. There are many, many restaurants within waling distance of the hotel. I got the Jr. suite becasue of the double bed and they upgraded me to the full suite upon my arrival. But don't get excited it is not the kind of suite you expect in hotels in the US. Still small by anyone standards but lots of room. I did talk to one other person who stayed in the hotel at the same time and she indicated her room was very small. The staff was great!!! Always stood up when I approached the counter and all were very, very helpful and did talk English. Gave me great directions on how to get around. Breakfast was included and it was a decent breakfast with eggs, potatoes, juice, coffee, tea, cereal etc. Not just a continental breakfast. It was a very clean hotel and nicely decorated. I only wished there was more on TV than just Russian TV and futbol. But I really enjoyed the hotel but I would be curious to see a regular sized -room. I would recommend to anyone travelling in Odessa.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Robert C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 May 2013

I've been coming to Odessa on a quarterly basis and had always stayed in city-centre hotels. I've received a recommendation from a friend recently moved to Odessa, that hotel California (located right next to Ekaterinskaya road, 7 minutes walking from Delibasovskaya with the opera, promenade and nice restaurants). The rooms are super-clean, very fancy (in Ukrainian standards, that is) and most importantly: the price is fair! I've paid ~120$ per night for the Jr. Suite and the first night I arrived at 5AM and the hotel was booked solid, so they gave me that standard single room - which was cozy but also great... and it cost me 50$.

I will DEFINITELY come back. Service was great, room, lobby and restaurant were clean and "new-looking" (hotel is 1 year old from what I hear). ONLY thing missing is a nice fitness room and perhaps a bit richer breakfast, but that's just me.

Room Tip: If you're traveling alone and wanna save up some $, take the standard single room, it's just...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Checkpi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Odessa hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Bristol Odessa
Hotel Bristol Odessa
#6 of 78 in Odessa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 203 reviews
1.1 mi away
Panorama De Luxe
Panorama De Luxe
#18 of 78 in Odessa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 49 reviews
0.6 mi away
Duke Hotel
Duke Hotel
#9 of 78 in Odessa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 87 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Resort & SPA Hotel NEMO with dolphins
0.2 mi away
Aleksandrovskiy
Aleksandrovskiy
#3 of 78 in Odessa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 286 reviews
0.0 mi away
Premier Geneva Hotel
Premier Geneva Hotel
#1 of 78 in Odessa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 177 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Boutique Hotel California? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Boutique Hotel California

Property: Boutique Hotel California
Address: Yevreyskaya St., 27, Odessa 65045, Ukraine
Region: Ukraine > Odessa Oblast > Odessa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #69 of 78 Hotels in Odessa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:5 star — Boutique Hotel California 5*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Boutique Hotel CALIFORNIA 5* is located in the center of historical, cultural and business part of the city of Odessa - on the quiet and cozy Yevreyskaya Street. The Hotel is close to the famous Odessa synagogue and a five-minute walk from Deribasovskaya Street. Such location gives a wonderful opportunity for the guests to be in the middle of all the events of Odessa - the most beautiful and dynamic cities of Ukraine. The architectural design of the Hotel has been developed with the use of marble and granite in the classical style by the most prominent architects, while its impeccable interior design - is a combination of elegant exquisiteness and European comfort. Boutique Hotel CALIFORNIA 5* is a comfortable hotel for business people. Modern technologies with the combination of the best traditions of Odessa's hospitality, immaculate services and individual approach create maximum comfort for both experienced business travelers and tourists. Our Hotel in Odessa has everything for a comfortable stay: continental breakfast, 24/7 room service, once a day room cleaning (an additional cleaning upon request), WI-FI. The Hotel consists of 44 rooms in 6 various categories: all of them will create a comfortable atmosphere during your stay and will help to understand the spirit of Old Odessa. Hotel has a restaurant with a refined European and Odessa cuisine. The Chef in the restaurant is a winner of international contests. Per your request, we are ready to cook the dishes of Old Odessa recipes. Bar and room-service are opened 24 hours a day. Also, we offer a variety of travel and entertainment services (for individuals or in groups) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, HostelWorld and Booking.com so you can book your Boutique Hotel California reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing