We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Odessa Jewel”

Holy Assumption Cathedral
Naples, Florida
Level Contributor
698 reviews
349 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 261 helpful votes
“Odessa Jewel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 September 2013

On a sunny day, the Cathredral sits in the middle of a lovely green space in the heart of Odessa. The most impressive thing about the structure is the clean look of the building, but with the iconic look of a classical Orthodox place of worship. Inside or outside, it gvies the vibe of a place for quiet contemplation. However, the lively vibe in the gardens outside add to the overall impression.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank skyhoosier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

34 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    16
    13
    4
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Utah
Level Contributor
103 reviews
54 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Pantaleimonivsky”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 December 2012

I love the exterior of this church, it is perhaps my favorite in all of Ukraine. The scent of beeswax permeates the halls and chapel, and it was a very reflective atmosphere. We arrived just before some sort of mass was taking place, and not wanting to intrude we exited quietly. Not avoiding a few glares from a grumpy priest, I may add. Visited in Spring 2008.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank braybrigade
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Assumption Cathedral”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 October 2012

This is a big shell with lots of gold embellishment - feels like a State church not a place where Christians have met for the 1000 years of Orthodoxy in the region

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Ozmarkotsis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Missouri
Level Contributor
290 reviews
169 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 154 helpful votes
“Rebuilt Post-Communism, This Cathedral is Beautiful in its Simplicity but not Particularly Unique as Tourist Attraction”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 September 2012

This cathedral is situated on the large green park of Cathedral Square (we saw pony rides here on our visit), it is also known as Preobrazhensky Cathedral. With its very tall bell tower, this cathedral is beautiful in its simplicity but not particularly unique as a tourist attraction. However, it is a local symbol of pride as it was rebuilt post-communism.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank WonderfulWorld59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Holy Assumption Cathedral also viewed

 

Been to Holy Assumption Cathedral? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing