We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value for money!”
Review of Tsentralnaya

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Tsentralnaya
Ranked #68 of 86 Hotels in Odessa
Reviewed 22 September 2011

The hotel's biggest asset is its central location. It has a sort of worn charm, but no luxery. The staff is kind and helpful if you make an effort to communicate. the breakfast costs extra and is not worth the money.

  • Stayed: September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank smfgCopenhagen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (75)
There are newer reviews for Tsentralnaya
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

11 - 17 of 75 reviews

Reviewed 31 August 2011

We found this hotel friendly, if a little worn around the edges. The breakfast was good, and we were able to check in early. The children loved having an apartment with space, air conditioning and a sitting room with television. The apartment was large, bright and airy, and very clean, with a bath and plenty of hot water. The only downside was we did get a little bitten at night - although not very badly - two or three bites a night. If it wasn't for this I would have given an excellent rating on cleanliness. The location was second to none, right in the centre, but still quiet at night, and it was well worth it for this alone. It was a great space for families, and I would recommend it for those on a budget.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank XanthestIves
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2011

The hotel that is really centrally located, close to Odessa's touristic attractions and Deribassovskaya street where a lot of restaurants are. It was quiet cheap for tourist used to Western-European prices... but at the same time expensive for Ukrainian standards. And I guess that location and price are two main and only advantages. The hotel need to be renovated, if you're staying at last floor prepare for walking by the long stairs as there's no lift.. And we had to pay extra for leaving a luggage at the reception for a couple of hours before leaving when we still wanted to enjoy Odessa after check-out (it happened to me for a first time).
If you're looking just for a place to sleep it's ok, but don't expect much.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Arkadek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 November 2010

The hotel is located in a very ancient and fascinating palace, anyway some refurnishing would be necessary.
The location is fantastic and almost everything can be find near the hotel or with a walk (Odessa is a quite big city so the centre is big indeed).
The service is normal considering the ex-soviet countries standards.
The breakfast can be improved because the place doesn't seem very hygienic and the choice is quite limited.

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Rosario_it
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2010

The location is great, but that about ends the hotel's advantages. The building is old, rundown. No hot water in our room, windows barely close, street noise is terrible, furniture very old, and cleaning ladies plainly aggressive. Moved to another hotel.

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank dan0223
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2010

nice hotel, a very comfortable location in the city centre: five minutes walk from Deribassovskaya str.

Stayed: July 2009, travelled with friends
Thank MarinaLevchenko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2009

The best thing about the hotel is its central location; 5 minutes walk from Deribasovskaya Street (the pedestrianised area where there are lots of restaurants) and 10-15 minutes walk from the Potemkin Steps. The hotel is clean and has a quite charming old fashioned and grand style, and the double room we had was spacious and comfortable. The breakfast was decent with various cereals, meats and cheeses and there was an excellent choice of dishes ready to order, such as fried eggs, omelettes and porridge. The reception staff spoke English, which was very useful. The only drawback was there was no air conditioning in the room (only in the communal areas it appeared) and this made sleeping difficult but I would still recommend it based on price, location and the good level of cleanliness.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hotel_fusspot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Odessa hotels
3.3 mi away
Arcadia Hotel
Arcadia Hotel
#47 of 86 in Odessa
87 reviews
0.0 mi away
Morskoy Hotel
Morskoy Hotel
#48 of 86 in Odessa
38 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Deribas
Hotel Deribas
#28 of 86 in Odessa
69 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 mi away
Mirny Resort
Mirny Resort
#38 of 86 in Odessa
20 reviews
0.3 mi away
Reno Hotel
Reno Hotel
#56 of 86 in Odessa
22 reviews
0.0 mi away
Vilari Guest House
Vilari Guest House
#58 of 155 in Odessa
11 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tsentralnaya? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tsentralnaya

Address: Preobrazhenska vul. 40, Odessa 65045, Ukraine
Region: Ukraine > Odessa Oblast > Odessa
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #68 of 86 Hotels in Odessa
Price Range: £10 - £30 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Tsentralnaya 2*
Number of rooms: 78
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Tsentralnaya Hotel, one of the oldest in our city! Built back in the late 19-th century, it is located in the very heart of Odessa's cultural, historical and business center and considered an architectural landmark.Having carefully preserved the best traditions of the past, today's Tsentralnaya Hotel offers 78 comfortable rooms of various categories. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Expedia, HostelWorld, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Tsentralnaya reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing