We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel Tsentralnaia Is A Good Deal!”
Review of Tsentralnaya

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Tsentralnaya
Ranked #67 of 84 Hotels in Odessa
Rhode Island
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Hotel Tsentralnaia Is A Good Deal!”
Reviewed 30 March 2012

I stayed here for one night and was very pleased. The hotel offers both Soviet and Western rooms. I stayed in a Soviet room. It was comfortable, but I should note that I had a shared bathroom down the hall. Bring your own shampoo and soap with you if you stay in the economy room. The staff was very nice and accommodating. I arrived early and they let me into my room ahead of time. They also allowed me to store my luggage for most of the day before my afternoon train. It appeared to me that they only spoke Russian and Ukrainian, but their website is also in English--so maybe some of the staff members speak English. The hotel has a cafe, hair salon, and free wi-fi. It is within walking distance to all of the main attractions and several grocery stores. I was very quite pleased since I only paid $25!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank dmh26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

74 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    8
    26
    22
    10
    8
See reviews for
8
20
15
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Jerusalem
Level 4 Contributor
48 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 November 2011

This hotel has value as part of historical simulation, imaginign the dark days of the area. Maybe someone else in the building had an en suite but I did not and it seemed that everyone on the third floor was all using the one single toilet / shower three corridors away.
I imagine that Odessan writer Isaac Babel, enjoyed a better breakfast the day he was shot by Stalin's henchmen than what was served on day two of my 3 day visit. Day one's would have been fine if the bread had not been bought the year previously but day two was inedible. Then again, for 280 Gr per night, it might have all been worth it. Just remember to bring your own bed pan.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank nikjem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Odessa hotels

Roermond, The Netherlands
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 22 October 2011

Hotel Central (Tsentralnaya) is value for money , I stayed there in October for 6 days ,the ladies on the desk were helpful ,pleasant , friendly and spoke english ! it helps if you speak a little Russian as well to get the point across ...breakfast was great and included in cost ,the rooms were clean and neat. ...and there was a airco in the room.....the girls in the restaurant where very helpfull and try to undersatnd you....when you speak some words Russian they very helpfull.
I was visiting from Holland and it was on par with most of my budget hotels ... you get what you pay for ...and it is well worth it ...I will back next year in Summer....

Room Tip: Choose a room on the second floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jstheboss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Copenhagen
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 September 2011

The hotel's biggest asset is its central location. It has a sort of worn charm, but no luxery. The staff is kind and helpful if you make an effort to communicate. the breakfast costs extra and is not worth the money.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank smfgCopenhagen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cornwall
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 August 2011

We found this hotel friendly, if a little worn around the edges. The breakfast was good, and we were able to check in early. The children loved having an apartment with space, air conditioning and a sitting room with television. The apartment was large, bright and airy, and very clean, with a bath and plenty of hot water. The only downside was we did get a little bitten at night - although not very badly - two or three bites a night. If it wasn't for this I would have given an excellent rating on cleanliness. The location was second to none, right in the centre, but still quiet at night, and it was well worth it for this alone. It was a great space for families, and I would recommend it for those on a budget.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank XanthestIves
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kalisz, Poland
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 May 2011

The hotel that is really centrally located, close to Odessa's touristic attractions and Deribassovskaya street where a lot of restaurants are. It was quiet cheap for tourist used to Western-European prices... but at the same time expensive for Ukrainian standards. And I guess that location and price are two main and only advantages. The hotel need to be renovated, if you're staying at last floor prepare for walking by the long stairs as there's no lift.. And we had to pay extra for leaving a luggage at the reception for a couple of hours before leaving when we still wanted to enjoy Odessa after check-out (it happened to me for a first time).
If you're looking just for a place to sleep it's ok, but don't expect much.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Arkadek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brussels
Level 6 Contributor
853 reviews
218 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 266 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 November 2010

The hotel is located in a very ancient and fascinating palace, anyway some refurnishing would be necessary.
The location is fantastic and almost everything can be find near the hotel or with a walk (Odessa is a quite big city so the centre is big indeed).
The service is normal considering the ex-soviet countries standards.
The breakfast can be improved because the place doesn't seem very hygienic and the choice is quite limited.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Rosario_it
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Odessa hotels
3.3 mi away
Arcadia Hotel
Arcadia Hotel
#46 of 84 in Odessa
85 reviews
0.0 mi away
Morskoy Hotel
Morskoy Hotel
#48 of 84 in Odessa
36 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Deribas
Hotel Deribas
#26 of 84 in Odessa
69 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 mi away
Mirny Resort
Mirny Resort
#43 of 84 in Odessa
20 reviews
0.3 mi away
Reno Hotel
Reno Hotel
#57 of 84 in Odessa
22 reviews
0.9 mi away
Black Sea Panteleymonovskaya
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tsentralnaya? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tsentralnaya

Property: Tsentralnaya
Address: Preobrazhenska vul. 40, Odessa 65045, Ukraine
Region: Ukraine > Odessa Oblast > Odessa
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #67 of 84 Hotels in Odessa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Tsentralnaya 2*
Number of rooms: 78
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Tsentralnaya Hotel, one of the oldest in our city! Built back in the late 19-th century, it is located in the very heart of Odessa's cultural, historical and business center and considered an architectural landmark.Having carefully preserved the best traditions of the past, today's Tsentralnaya Hotel offers 78 comfortable rooms of various categories. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, HostelWorld, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Tsentralnaya reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing