We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Old and to expensive, good location.”
2 of 5 bubbles Review of Tsentralnaya

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Tsentralnaya
Ranked #68 of 78 Hotels in Odessa
Lillehammer, Norway
1 review
“Old and to expensive, good location.”
Reviewed 28 October 2012

The hotel was clean but very old. Had not been modernized since early 1900.The room we had in 2.nd floor had private bath. Just a few rooms had private bath and wc. The hotel a typical soviet
standard. The room was equipped with 2 wooden chairs, fridge and a TV set. The door to the room was a simple wooden door of the type used between dining room and living room in a private home, the door had a ½ inch opening between the to door-wings, not much privacy!
The staff however was friendly after I had said “good morning/afternoon a couple of times. They however did speak very little English.
The hotel was situated very central in the town, close to the main street and the city park.
Even with a good price it was fare to expensive compared to the standard.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tarK26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

71 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    6
    25
    22
    10
    8
See reviews for
8
19
15
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Nuremberg, Germany
Level Contributor
210 reviews
209 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 244 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 September 2012

I stayed at the Tsentralnyy Hotel for two nights in august. As I was travelling for sightseeing I was very happy with the central location. Just a few minutes to the Passage, opera Building and Potemkin steps, also the railway station is not too far away. Bus Nr. 117 to the airport (2,50 Griwna) stops in front of the Hotel. The Hotel is across the cathedral. I had a economy room and was satisfied. The way to the bathromm was a bit long, but no problem at all. Room has a refrigarator. Because of the review of dmh26 I had my soap with me, but there have been towels and soap in the room (but shampoo you need to bring your own). Breakfast was good. Omlette, bread, one choice of cheese, two choises of sausage. juice, coffee, tea, fruits, cereals.
Would stay here again!

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank laendersammler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane
Level Contributor
63 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 July 2012

This freshly renovated hotel still retains a fabulous faded grandeur! Pictures accurately represent the hotel. Wide sweeping marble staircase, worn down by many feet. Fresh air sweeping in from large curtained doorways.
We had a comfortable, clean, fresh room with new furnishings. Air conditioned. We enjoyed a good night's sleep. Bathroom included (not shared), and with ample very hot water. Breakfast included - hot and cold, all you could want! Teller machine outside front door.
The hotel was still open even though we arrived late, and there was a security man at the door - as well as reception staff, who spoke clear english. ( Presumably 24 X 7 reception)
Tsentrainaya Hotel is located directly opposite the cathedral and large park. We bought some local craft (at what proved to be a very good price) at the market in the large park. Easy 5 min walk to the Opera House. (We recommend that you see a performance there, because inside is incredible!)
It is hard to beat the central location of this hotel, which offers all the attractions of the city centre. It is with in walking distance to the Port as well (but you might want to stop short at the famous Potemkin Steps and survey the view.)
Tsentrainaya Hotel still offers pre-communist era Ukrainian charm.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ladnyl1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rhode Island
Level Contributor
36 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 March 2012

I stayed here for one night and was very pleased. The hotel offers both Soviet and Western rooms. I stayed in a Soviet room. It was comfortable, but I should note that I had a shared bathroom down the hall. Bring your own shampoo and soap with you if you stay in the economy room. The staff was very nice and accommodating. I arrived early and they let me into my room ahead of time. They also allowed me to store my luggage for most of the day before my afternoon train. It appeared to me that they only spoke Russian and Ukrainian, but their website is also in English--so maybe some of the staff members speak English. The hotel has a cafe, hair salon, and free wi-fi. It is within walking distance to all of the main attractions and several grocery stores. I was very quite pleased since I only paid $25!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank dmh26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jerusalem
Level Contributor
48 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 November 2011

This hotel has value as part of historical simulation, imaginign the dark days of the area. Maybe someone else in the building had an en suite but I did not and it seemed that everyone on the third floor was all using the one single toilet / shower three corridors away.
I imagine that Odessan writer Isaac Babel, enjoyed a better breakfast the day he was shot by Stalin's henchmen than what was served on day two of my 3 day visit. Day one's would have been fine if the bread had not been bought the year previously but day two was inedible. Then again, for 280 Gr per night, it might have all been worth it. Just remember to bring your own bed pan.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank nikjem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Odessa hotels

Roermond, The Netherlands
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 22 October 2011

Hotel Central (Tsentralnaya) is value for money , I stayed there in October for 6 days ,the ladies on the desk were helpful ,pleasant , friendly and spoke english ! it helps if you speak a little Russian as well to get the point across ...breakfast was great and included in cost ,the rooms were clean and neat. ...and there was a airco in the room.....the girls in the restaurant where very helpfull and try to undersatnd you....when you speak some words Russian they very helpfull.
I was visiting from Holland and it was on par with most of my budget hotels ... you get what you pay for ...and it is well worth it ...I will back next year in Summer....

Room Tip: Choose a room on the second floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jstheboss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Copenhagen
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 September 2011

The hotel's biggest asset is its central location. It has a sort of worn charm, but no luxery. The staff is kind and helpful if you make an effort to communicate. the breakfast costs extra and is not worth the money.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank smfgCopenhagen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Odessa hotels
0.9 mi away
Black Sea Panteleymonovskaya
1.0 mi away
Odesskiy Dvorik
Odesskiy Dvorik
#30 of 78 in Odessa
110 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Deribas
Hotel Deribas
#24 of 78 in Odessa
63 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Metro Hotel Apartments Hotel
0.7 mi away
Klumba
Klumba
#52 of 78 in Odessa
15 reviews
0.4 mi away
Premier Geneva Hotel
Premier Geneva Hotel
#1 of 78 in Odessa
180 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tsentralnaya? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tsentralnaya

Property: Tsentralnaya
Address: Preobrazhenska vul. 40, Odessa 65045, Ukraine
Region: Ukraine > Odessa Oblast > Odessa
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #68 of 78 Hotels in Odessa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Tsentralnaya 2*
Number of rooms: 78
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Tsentralnaya Hotel, one of the oldest in our city! Built back in the late 19-th century, it is located in the very heart of Odessa's cultural, historical and business center and considered an architectural landmark.Having carefully preserved the best traditions of the past, today's Tsentralnaya Hotel offers 78 comfortable rooms of various categories. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, TripOnline SA, HostelWorld, Odigeo, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Tsentralnaya reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing