We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“2 - 3 star experience”
Review of London

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
London
Ranked #7 of 87 Hotels in Odessa
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 30 June 2009

We just came back from an Odessa weekend trip where we staid at Hotel London.

The location of the hotel is not perfect, it's neither directly in the center nor at the beach.

The theme of the hotel is clear, "London". All the staff runs around in English costumes, all furniture is old English style (but mostly platic, artificial leather - and made in China), all paintings show some places in England. There're many flowers around, of course all plastic...

We did have a "Lux" room (which is the name for a two-room suite). The living- and bedroom has been okay (but a bit tasteless). But the bathroom has been completely tasteless, unpractical and not clean. Twice we found black hair (most propably of the cleaing lady) on the toilet and in the sink. The hair dryer has been useless (no power) and for new toilet paper we had to ask. All that at € 210.00 is too much!

Internet (WiFi) is at charge (€ 12/day).

Odessa offers far better options than Hotel London, i.e. Hotel Otrada, Continental etc.

Stayed: June 2009, travelled as a couple
5  Thank HONkiev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (127)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

58 - 64 of 127 reviews

Reviewed 16 February 2009

Overall, the Hotel is new and fairly elegant.
The rooms were fine and the service was great. Rooms were clean and "Western". The bathroom had above average comforts and worked well. My room had an Oval glass shower with room for two and plenty of Hot Water! Housekeeping kept restocking shampoo and soap supplies daily, bring your own conditioner.

The Staff was excellent, (Maria and Svetlana) are fairly well versed in English, and made every effort to make my accomodations cozy. One of the male staff ran down the street when I arrived, bought flowers (Roses), and delivered them to the Hotel Restaurant right on cue during my dinner date. "She was very impressed!" The staff was always quick at taking care of small errands or any task such as Champagne glasses and the occasional need for extra towels.

The glass elevator and atrium are modern and have a beautiful view. There is a large Park directly behind the Hotel and my room had a small outdoor Terrace facing the Park. Some rooms have terraces that open up to the Atrium, which is directly above the open-air Restaurant. There was a phone and satellite TV in the room with 1000+ channels in every language.

One of the staff was kind enough to make a romantic invitation phone call (in Russian) to my date the next morning, advising them of the day's Agenda.

it is in a good area of Centre City downtown, but NOT in the middle of a Tourist trap. (like some other Hotels) There is a Doorman to the building dressed in British style uniform. (looks like a Drum Major) The area is very clean, clear of Free-loaders or ladies of the evening. This was the perfect place to meet and entertain guests, or bring your wife or bride to be. There is also a business conference room with computer accessories and internet, if you left your wireless laptop at home.

It was very affordable compared to competing fine Hotels in Odessa.

  • Stayed: January 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank PackCat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 May 2008

Odessa is like Kiev in 2007: only a few hotels in 2 categories: Soviet style (relics from the 60s, 70s,80s), and new hotels of better quality, but not up to Wester European (or american) standards. With business and tourism increasing in Odessa maybe some chains might open properties here (in 2008, Raidssons SAS and Hyatt have opened hotels in Kiev).
This is to say that overall the London hotel is a good hotel, I stayed in May 2008 in suite 404: large clean bathroom, a living room with flat screen and satellite tv (100s of channels) and a bedroom overlooking a very quiet park at the back of the hotel. Furniture is new, but it's like an 80s nighmare with too many colors, and way too many fake flowers-plants-trees scattered everywhere in the hotel. They advertise wireless Internet in the room but it does not work; if you need to connect, ask to use the Pc in the conference room. Breakfast is quite good (it's an Eastern version of the gargantuan buffets Hilton style) served by young staff in scottish kilts. (Oh, forgot to say that there's also a Beefeater opening the hotel door in the lobby). The restaurant is supposed to be Italian-Ukranian and tries to look posh and ritzy, but fails on both decor and food quality (go for the cold plates; hot plates are reheated and not worth the money). Location is extremely quiet (all rooms face the internal court of the park at the rear), and it is a nice 10minutes walk to the main street (Deribasovskaya st.). Service is okaish, if you book expect 1 day before receiving the fax, and no, they do not confirm internet bookings nor reply to your emails asking if the reservation is confirmed.

  • Stayed: May 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank gianlucamanzo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2008

Every time when I travel to Odessa I stay in LONDON-Hotel.
Nice and friendly staff, excellent breakfast and the rooms are spacy and well furnished.
In comparison to Kiev and Moscow hotels here you will find 10 times more value for money.
Hombre

  • Stayed: January 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank Losik69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 February 2008

The staff at the London went out of there way for you at all times .
my stay there was the best in the Ukraine and I can not wait to go back .

  • Stayed: February 2008, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank jonno123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 October 2007

I stayed in this hotel in march 2007. It is a very good and pretty new hotel in the center of Odessa, a few blocks away from the main streets. It is made to look like a british hotel (therefore the name) with even a small "Big Ben" by the main door. The front of the hotel faces a relatively quiet street, in the rear there is a park. My room was a standard one. It was quite big, very clean and nicely decorated. There was a small balcony that faced the park behind the hotel. The (good) breakfast was included in the price (about 100 euros/night) and was served in the hotel restaurant. First evening I also had dinner in that restaurant and the food was really good although more expensive than in many restaurants outside the hotel. The personnel of the hotel was very nice and helpful and most of them spoke pretty good english.

  • Stayed: March 2007, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank reissaaja
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Mihail S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Odessa hotels
1.5 mi away
Resort & SPA Hotel NEMO with dolphins
0.2 mi away
Aleksandrovskiy
Aleksandrovskiy
#2 of 87 in Odessa
356 reviews
0.3 mi away
Premier Geneva Hotel
Premier Geneva Hotel
#1 of 87 in Odessa
215 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
La Gioconda Boutique Hotel
0.8 mi away
Londonskaya
Londonskaya
#14 of 87 in Odessa
340 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Ayvazovsky
Hotel Ayvazovsky
#5 of 87 in Odessa
211 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to London? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about London

Address: Uspenska vul. 95, Odessa 65045, Ukraine
Region: Ukraine > Odessa Oblast > Odessa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Odessa
#6 Luxury Hotel in Odessa
#7 Romantic Hotel in Odessa
Price Range: £40 - £85 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — London 4*
Number of rooms: 37
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
London hotel is located in the centre of Odessa near pictoresque park and within walking distance of popular tourist sites. The building of the hotel is made in an elegant classical style and by architecture resembles such royal palaces of Great Britain as Hampton Court palace and St. James. It combines luxury and grace of respected old English villa with present-day hotel's technologies and highest level of comfort and security. Hotel has 37 rooms of different categories equipped with all necessary facilities and toiletries for comfortable and convenient staying. Hotel has an elegant restaurant which serves excellent European, Ukrainian as well as Indian cuisine prepared by professional chefs. Restaurant menu is regularly updated and supplemented with consideration of the season, holidays and tastes of guests. We also have a bar for those who want to relax and sip some delicious cocktail drinks. Friendly, professional staff, individual approach to guests' needs, a high level of security and comfort, as well as a wide range of services and facilities create a unique atmosphere of hospitality, where every guest will feel like at home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your London reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
London Hotel Odessa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing