We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Everything bad that has been said so far! Doubled.”
Review of Zirka

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Zirka
Ranked #75 of 81 Hotels in Odessa
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Level Contributor
56 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Everything bad that has been said so far! Doubled.”
Reviewed 8 September 2011

Do NOT stay at this hotel. I decided there were a couple of good things mixed with the bad among the reviews so thought I would give it a try. BIG MISTAKE. If I ever write a murder mystery about sleazy antics in a shady shabby hotel, I now have a model. The room is about 8 by 8, filled by a double bed with a second-hand sofa bed feeling mattress. I checked in late and was too tired to go elsewhere so didn't realize the odd shower container-thing bounces up and down when you move at all while showering, the window doesn't open and there's no AC. The girl on duty when I asked to see another room in the morning was a sullen rude ..... person. On the good side, it was not really dirty. And it was inexpensive...but considering it would have been overpriced at free...I find that hard to appreciate. I've moved to a lovely hotel still in Odessa but more about that later. DO NOT GO NEAR THIS PLACE unless the choice is the alley.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Roresand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

120 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    14
    17
    23
    29
    37
See reviews for
14
34
23
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
121 reviews
78 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 August 2011

We booked a double room DELUXE in advance over Wikipedia.
On Arrival: "Sorry, we have no DELUXE room available". They did not give us back the money spent more for the DELUXE room. Instead they gave us a small, ugly and dirty room.
The room was so small that 80% of the entire room was a small and over-used bed. Further 15% was the bathroom, which was so small that is was difficult to sit on the bathroom. The rest 5% of space we had to use for our luggage on the ground. Nothing in there. The curtains fell down, no windows. A very, very ugly and inconvinient hotel with bad service and not well educated personnel. Do yourself a favour and do not book this hotel.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank SwissTraveller1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Odessa hotels

Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Minsk
Level Contributor
159 reviews
78 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2011

It's a hotel by Title, but its a hostel by the soul.

Pros:
Cheap price. Interenet on reception. Air Condition, bathroom in each room,fridge, TV even with free adult program:) A food shop 24h near
Good place for cheap accommodation in general.
Cons:
The falling bathroom door is there feature. I've stayed there two times and two times there was such a problem. Small rooms, bed+fridge and no free space left after that, no window (the cheapest room have no window, so you should pay for that). No kitchen or face inside. Walls made from "paper" you could hear everything from nearest rooms or corridor.Sometimes unclean, sometimes polite person but it depends...
You should not wait too much from this place, but it is a good variant if you're looking hoStel with no kitchen. Good connection with the sea side btw.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Vanoleo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
87 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2011

All personal belongings (3 bags in total) were stolen from the closed room. The key was at the reception. The hotel management declined all responsibility, refused to confirm the theft. When asked politely why they do not want to make a document confirming the theft (requested by insurance), the manager told that she would prefer to arrange everything between client and management and NOT to call the police. As police was involved, the manager does not want to help the clients. The only thing she did: she provided police with the video camera records showing 2 thiefs coming to the hall of the hotel with 3 bags.
Moreover: this so called "hotel" is not a reliable accomodation because it is a kind of brothel (read the Russian text, proposing "the rooms for few hours" and makе a conclusion about true caracter of this establishment. Here is a URL: http://hotelodessa-ukraine.com/hotel-short.htm (in Russian) with a garantie that you will not meet your wife there! The absence of windows an a large choice of erotic/porno channels make it even more convincing.
To conclude: if you are foreigner and you stay there, the management consider you a potential victim!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Bentammi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ZirkaAdmin, Manager at Zirka, responded to this review, 19 July 2011
We're sorry that such thing happened to you. Thefts, however, do happen in Odessa hotels. In the particular case you describe, police caught the thieves the next day based on the hotel's video surveillance data.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gdansk, Poland
Level Contributor
20 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 May 2011

Small place, doors from bathroom fell out from the frame, but generaly nice, fun and ok :) Comfortable bed and nice receptionists. RECOMMEND!

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Vexation
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chisinau, Moldova
Level Contributor
25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 February 2011

if you just need a bed and a shower this is the place, rooms are just large enough for the bed, the bathroom is slightly larger than a normal shower stall but has everything you need. no chairs or table in the rooms(not enough room) barely room to put a suitcase on the floor between the bed and the wall. the bed was comfortable but they could use some new blankets. location is ok, 15 min walk to the center of Odessa and it has a small grocery store across the street. it has wifi in the lobby,

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank MoldovaMike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kharkiv
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 September 2010

- extremely small rooms. 2.5x2.5 meters. it is not a room but a suit case !
- bathroom - 1.5x1.5 m. you can sit on toilet, brush your teeth and wash your hair at the same time. to leave the bathroom you need to step back as there is no place to turn there
- hotel itself is a popular bordello: 24x7 couples and men with "girls for one hour" were renting rooms hourly . you never know what std you bring for that hotel :S
- beds are the cheapest you can find. with dangerous mattresses.
- wi-fi only on the first floor at the reception. you need to sit in front of entrance door to use the Internet.
- parking is just the road in front of the hotel.

for 300 uah you can rent a good 1-room flat in the center. we will never make a mistake of staying in that hostel again.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
14 Thank _Angel_Anya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Odessa hotels
0.4 mi away
Tsentralnaya
Tsentralnaya
#68 of 81 in Odessa
72 reviews
3.3 mi away
Odessa Hotel Complex
Odessa Hotel Complex
#36 of 81 in Odessa
102 reviews
0.6 mi away
Black Sea Risheliyevskaya
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Arcadia Hotel
Arcadia Hotel
#44 of 81 in Odessa
82 reviews
4.0 mi away
Mirny Resort
Mirny Resort
#34 of 81 in Odessa
17 reviews
0.7 mi away
Klumba
Klumba
#52 of 81 in Odessa
15 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Zirka? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Zirka

Property: Zirka
Address: Uspenska vul. 70, Odessa 65045, Ukraine
Region: Ukraine > Odessa Oblast > Odessa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #75 of 81 Hotels in Odessa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Zirka 2.5*
Number of rooms: 217
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Modern hotel in Odessa city center. All rooms with bathroom, satellite TV, fridge, and air conditioner. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HostelWorld, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Zirka reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Zirka Star Hotel
Zirka Star Odessa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing