We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The pits.”
Review of Zirka

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Zirka
Ranked #76 of 81 Hotels in Odessa
League City, Texas
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“The pits.”
Reviewed 3 September 2013

The check in desk clerk was unbelievably rude. The room was tiny. The shower had a flimsy curtain that didn't keep the shower water from leaking outside the shower. The hallways had burnt out light bulbs.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Kerry S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

122 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    14
    17
    24
    29
    38
See reviews for
14
34
23
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Kiev, Ukraine
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2013

Probably it was one of the worst hotels in my life. We didn't have window in the room, so it was very hard to stay there. The walls is so thin that you can hear your neighbors like you stay in the same room.

Bath room is soo small that if I wanted to brush my teeth I needed to sit on lavatory pan, because it wasn't possible to stay there.

I really hope that they finished reconstruction there.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Anton S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Odessa hotels

Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Diego, California
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 March 2012

To decide if you would like to stay at the Zirka Hotel, you must ask yourself a question. To get from the Odessa Airport to the City Center, would you rather pay 25 cents to ride a bus, or pay 25 dollars to the pushy and vulturous taxi drivers at the Airport? If you would rather pay 25 dollars for a taxi, then the Zirka is probably not for you. But if you would rather pay 25 cents for the bus, and spend the remaining $24.75 elsewhere, then the Zirka Hotel is definitely a place that you should consider.

This clearly "no frills" hotel is only about five years old; the modest room cost includes a double bed, private bathroom with a shower that has plenty of hot water; a small color TV with cable channels; an interesting and functional set of "wall hooks" rather than a dresser for storing and organizing your items; and a secure high speed wireless internet connection that is included in the price of admission.

Once again, if you are a "luxury" traveler who delights in a turndown service and a piece of chocolate placed on your pillow each night, then you should definitely look elsewhere. But if you are a "budget" traveler who needs to stretch every bit of money as far as you can, then you will be very satisfied with your room, with the 24 hour cafe on the 3rd floor, and with the 24 hour convenience store right across the street from the hotel.

And on my visit, the front desk staff and the cleaning staff were all very courteous, professional, helpful and friendly.

Room Tip: You would be hard pressed to find a "room with a view," but if you are a budget traveler...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
12 Thank Tom K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 December 2011

My friend stayed in Zirka in Odessa, I've chosen to stay in another place with my boyfriend. My friend suggested me to see her room and I wish I never entered that hotel! In the so called lobby a woman which doesn't know a word "hospitality" met us with a stone face . My friend stayed in a single room which was like a match box, maybe a little bigger. Thanks God my friend is fit otherwise she would have real hard time moving inside that room. Have you ever lived in a tiny room with no possibility to open a window at all?! Real torture! There was a window only it was design to be never opened)
Overall, do not stay in this hotel if you are planning to spend some enjoyable time in a beautiful city of Odessa. Choose a better one or if its summer, better sleep on the beach instead of staying in a such hotel!

Room Tip: Tiny rooms with closed windows
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank MyrziKate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 September 2011

Do NOT stay at this hotel. I decided there were a couple of good things mixed with the bad among the reviews so thought I would give it a try. BIG MISTAKE. If I ever write a murder mystery about sleazy antics in a shady shabby hotel, I now have a model. The room is about 8 by 8, filled by a double bed with a second-hand sofa bed feeling mattress. I checked in late and was too tired to go elsewhere so didn't realize the odd shower container-thing bounces up and down when you move at all while showering, the window doesn't open and there's no AC. The girl on duty when I asked to see another room in the morning was a sullen rude ..... person. On the good side, it was not really dirty. And it was inexpensive...but considering it would have been overpriced at free...I find that hard to appreciate. I've moved to a lovely hotel still in Odessa but more about that later. DO NOT GO NEAR THIS PLACE unless the choice is the alley.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Roresand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zurich, Switzerland
Level 6 Contributor
121 reviews
78 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 August 2011

We booked a double room DELUXE in advance over Wikipedia.
On Arrival: "Sorry, we have no DELUXE room available". They did not give us back the money spent more for the DELUXE room. Instead they gave us a small, ugly and dirty room.
The room was so small that 80% of the entire room was a small and over-used bed. Further 15% was the bathroom, which was so small that is was difficult to sit on the bathroom. The rest 5% of space we had to use for our luggage on the ground. Nothing in there. The curtains fell down, no windows. A very, very ugly and inconvinient hotel with bad service and not well educated personnel. Do yourself a favour and do not book this hotel.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank SwissTraveller1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Odessa hotels
0.4 mi away
Tsentralnaya
Tsentralnaya
#64 of 81 in Odessa
74 reviews
3.3 mi away
Odessa Hotel Complex
Odessa Hotel Complex
#35 of 81 in Odessa
104 reviews
0.6 mi away
Black Sea Risheliyevskaya
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 mi away
Mirny Resort
Mirny Resort
#32 of 81 in Odessa
18 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Deribas
Hotel Deribas
#23 of 81 in Odessa
68 reviews
3.0 mi away
Arcadia Hotel
Arcadia Hotel
#43 of 81 in Odessa
83 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Zirka? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Zirka

Property: Zirka
Address: Uspenska vul. 70, Odessa 65045, Ukraine
Region: Ukraine > Odessa Oblast > Odessa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #76 of 81 Hotels in Odessa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Zirka 2.5*
Number of rooms: 217
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Modern hotel in Odessa city center. All rooms with bathroom, satellite TV, fridge, and air conditioner. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HostelWorld, Priceline, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Zirka reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Zirka Star Hotel
Zirka Star Odessa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing