We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect place to feel the soul of Split Old Town”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Kaleta Apartments

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Kaleta Apartments
Ranked #13 of 165 Split B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfect place to feel the soul of Split Old Town”
Reviewed 30 January 2014

Out of words for this place, simply the best place to feel the vibe of the old part of city. After staying there I can def say that Diocletian was a smart guy. Also wanna mansion excellent service, friendly staff and freshness of the place. I could say that somebody is taking care of the apartments with love. I would recommend Kaleta apartments to everybody! No complains at all! Thumbs up!!!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bruno_Reljic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

206 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    160
    40
    3
    1
    2
See reviews for
13
134
5
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mariveles, Bataan, Philippines
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 23 November 2013

Excellent Service. The staff were friendly but professional, the service great. The room was exactly for what we wanted and expected. No criticism or suggestions. For the time spent and purpose of our stay it was perfect.

Room Tip: Check it out. No hesitation, Kaleta is the best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AdRian N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
La Conner, WA, USA
1 review
Reviewed 21 November 2013

This was a perfect fit for four adults travelling together. It is 2 side by side apartments in the center of the gorgeous remains of Diocletians's Palace in Old Town, Split. We could easily walk anywhere we wanted to go, with the seaside, shopping, great restaurants, night spots and beautiful antiquities everywhere we looked.The rooms themselves were beautifully decorated, with comfortable beds,TV, Wi-Fi, kitchenette, closets and a beautiful bathroom. The room sat above the patios of two cafes. The windows let in great breezes and when closed, muted any noise from below.And the person who met us with the keys was very helpful, even helping us with geneology.research.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CroatpPat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol
Level Contributor
23 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 October 2013

A superb place to stay within the old city walls of Diocletian's Palace, right in the heart of the Roman character of Split. Tucked away barely a minute from a popular square, we had two great night’s sleep in a lovely room with character (beams, exposed stone) and a great en-suite bathroom. If you stay here, eat out at Korta (recommended by the owner of the apartment), it’s in a lovely square away from the crowds - not that Split is anything like as touristy as Dubrovnik. Would definitely stay here again and thoroughly recommend it.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BenandLoulla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Falls Church, Virginia
Level Contributor
242 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 940 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 October 2013

We stayed in 2 Kaleta apartments as the only accommodation left at the time of booking was a room. They had an opening in the apartments when we arrived but we had to change rooms after one night. Although we enjoyed having an apartment, we didn’t like having to change since we were moving around so much.

Anyway, both apartments were excellent & the female owner was fantastic (her husband was away).

We had a very difficult time finding the apartment even with the directions they gave us. So here are what I hope are easier directions: note you go to the one apartment & she will walk you to the other.

Enter through the Golden gate- this is the side away from the water. It has the huge statue out front for reference.

Once you enter through the “gate” make the first right hand turn onto a “street”. I don’t remember the street name. The street will just twist & turn but keep following it going straight.

Look for Portas Pizza as a reference point on the left side under a beautiful gazebo (we ate there several times – good pizza & lasagna).

Keep going straight with the twists in the road.

Look for Teak café on the left- it’s where the locals go to drink coffee. This is where one of the apartments is.

Ask someone to point out the apartment & go ring the doorbell- it connects to their cell phone directly.

Apartment # 3
Pros
We liked this one best better than the other apartment since it’s quieter, larger, nicely decorated & the perfect size for 2 people. The bed was very comfortable & was a real double bed- not two single beds pushed together.

Cons:
Up 4 flights of stairs with no elevator!

Apartment above the restaurant: much noisier however, with the shutters & windows closed it completely blocked the noise. Smaller than apt 3. Café below apt very noisy. Up only one flight of stairs.

The owner was fantastic & was always waiting for us as she knew we didn’t have a cell phone that worked in Europe. She walked with us back to the car to make sure we were not in an illegal spot or that we would have to pay.

Her customer service was excellent.

We also liked the location (once we figured it out!) within the City walls.

Bottom line: highly recommend

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DianeER
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore
Level Contributor
22 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 September 2013

Stayed for 3 nights in September. Convenient location in the old town. The detailed directions to the meeting place was very useful, had no problem in finding the place. The apartment is beautifully decorated, well equiped with a kitchenette. The room is very clean. There is a supermarket and many bakery shops nearby. Extremely value for money, very reasonably priced compared to the hotels in the old town area. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank geraldchua
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Gatos, CA
Level Contributor
61 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 September 2013 via mobile

Yes, these apartments are hard to find by car as they are in a pedestrian zone, but Negri could not have been more helpful. She actually drove her car to a empty spot, texted us the address so we could enter it in our GPS, then gave us the (free) parking spot! Be sure to have her number ready when you arrive in town.
We stayed in apt. 1, which was not large but was charming, very clean and perfectly furnished - comfortable queen bed, kitchenette (which we used for breakfast), plenty of hot water for the shower, and new double-glazed windows. These eliminate 90% of the cafe noise coming from the courtyard below. Once you're settled in, you can walk all over Split from these apartments. I highly recommend them.

Stayed September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Calgirl3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Split hotels
0.2 mi away
Apartments Gajeta
Apartments Gajeta
#20 of 57 in Split
202 reviews
0.4 mi away
Divota Apartment Hotel
0.1 mi away
Antique Split Luxury Rooms
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Cornaro Hotel
Cornaro Hotel
#4 of 57 in Split
311 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Luxe
Hotel Luxe
#7 of 57 in Split
622 reviews
0.3 mi away
House Sandra
House Sandra
#9 of 165 in Split
179 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kaleta Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kaleta Apartments

Property: Kaleta Apartments
Address: Majstora Jurja 4, | Iza loze 4, Split 21000, Croatia
Region: Croatia > Dalmatia > Split-Dalmatia County > Split
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 165 B&Bs / Inns in Split
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kaleta Apartments is great value in Split historic center within the palace walls. This splendid accommodation was created by merging two houses which are a stone's throw apart. Every single room is well appointed with carefully preserved old world ambience, combined with wonderful bathrooms and bedrooms. The location is awesome - right in the heart of downtown. Other features include small touches that make a huge difference - use of a laptop, WiFi, satelite, LCD TV, kitchenette, electric kettle, AC in every room, design linen, four pillows, extra blankets, well-stocked bathrooms with hair dryer, local artwork, etc. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Kaleta Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kaleta Apartments Hotel Split

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing