We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Third time a charm,this my third location in Split and is absolutely astonishing in value and delivery.”

Silver Central Hostel
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Silver Central Hostel
Ranked #191 of 504 Speciality Lodging in Split
Reviewed 10 May 2013 via mobile

After staying at two other depressing dreary ghetto places
I moved into Silver Central and I am thrilled. It is the best place in Split for value and a good nights rest. I highly recommend it here. Meets every criteria for a good hostel.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Journeyman644
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (36)
There are newer reviews for Silver Central Hostel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

22 - 28 of 36 reviews

Reviewed 11 September 2012

Brilliant location in the centre of the everything. The staff were super friendly and the hostel had a nice communal area to meet others. I had one cold shower but the rest were warm and the bathroom facilities are good - bit weird to have people washing kitchen stuff next to you when you're brushing your teeth though! The dorms don't have ladders to the top bunks which is fun when you get back after enjoying the Split nightlife...but great place to meet people and as a base to explore.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kit022
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2012

This was a nice hostel in the old town with everything you need. It had air con, which makes a huge difference compared to some other hostels I stayed in. Everyone was very friendly there making it a great place for solo travellers.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Livvyrb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2012

Great, central hostel! We booked a private double and got our own 1 bedroom apartment with kitchenette and bathroom! It was wonderful! The staff was so so helpful and gave lots of great recommendations for dining and activities!

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kara J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2012

I booked this hostel well in advance of my trip based on reliable reviews but quite a while after I made the booking I got a message to say there was a mistake and the hostel was overbooked so I had to be 'upgraded' to an apartment on the other side of the palace near their sister hostel, silver gate. What I suspected (which turned out to be true) was that I had been bumped out to accommodate a later group booking which I think is a little dishonest. At first I wasn't that bothered, but the 3 bed dorm in the apartment isnt as nice, although it is spacious. My blanket smelled and needed washing. They didn't clean the room while I was there, just swapped the sheet for a new one. The floor was very dusty and the bathroom wasnt mopped either. The kitchen is ill equipped and the only way to make a cuppa was to boil water on the stove as there was no kettle or tea towels. You can go down and use the other hostel but this was full of the school group and you shouldn't have to walks down the road to make a cup of tea! Perhaps silver central hostel is very nice, just be sure you actually end up staying there. If you're arriving late the silver gate hostel is close to the bus station and a good location for exploring the palace (so is the apartment which is actually in the corner tower of the palace itself).

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lavenderhoney84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2011

A great budget accommodation. Why pay more? Clean, modern and very convenient.

  • Stayed: August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Blurtsr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 May 2011

I stayed in "the apartment." I was travelling on my own and the entrance and stairwell on the way to the apartment were not well-lit and a bit creepy at night by myself. That being said, I would recommend it otherwise- it was clean, not too far away, quiet, air-conditioned, and there was a kitchen. This would work well for a couple.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SuperPicnicWoman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Split hotels
0.1 mi away
Tchaikovsky Hostel Split
0.3 mi away
Backpackers Fairytale
Backpackers Fairytale
#23 of 504 in Split
74 reviews
0.5 mi away
Outlanders Tribe Hostel
Outlanders Tribe Hostel
#100 of 504 in Split
22 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Downtown Hostel
Downtown Hostel
#74 of 504 in Split
30 reviews
0.1 mi away
Split Garden Hostel
Split Garden Hostel
#236 of 504 in Split
21 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hostel Dvor
Hostel Dvor
#31 of 504 in Split
12 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Silver Central Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Silver Central Hostel

Address: Kralja Tomislava 1, Split, Croatia
Region: Croatia > Dalmatia > Split-Dalmatia County > Split
Hotel Style:
Ranked #191 of 504 Speciality Lodging in Split
Price Range: £16 - £33 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 27

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing