We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great staff but dark walk to apartment”

Silver Central Hostel
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Silver Central Hostel
Ranked #174 of 441 Speciality Lodging in Split
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Great staff but dark walk to apartment”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 November 2013

Lovely friendly staff greeted me late at night at the hostel as I had flown in on a late flight. The male staff member showed me to the apartment around 5 minutes walk away. I am a single femal traveller and I was pleased he was walking with me, as the small streets we walked down seemed to get darker the further we walked. The apartment is a room in a building shared with other apartments. I struggled to sleep due to the loud talking and drinking from next door and in the streets. Also, there was no electric jug you had to boil water in a pot on the stove.I left for a tour the next day, having booked to stay at the apartment again a week later. However, I cancelled the booking and told the staff I just didnt feel safe walking to the apartment at night. The staff were very nice. I think the apartment would be fine for a couple.It was clean and tidy.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kiwi T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

34 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    10
    14
    8
    2
    0
See reviews for
Families
0
4
11
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 October 2013

This hostel was in a good location, not far from the sea and right next to the old quarters. The rooms were basic but as good as any other hostel we stayed in. The bathrooms weren't very private however, the showers were just cubicles with a shower curtain in front so I felt a little exposed and it was difficult to get changed in privacy. Other than that it was a nice hostel with friendly staff so I wouldn't object to staying there again.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cassie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta GA
Level Contributor
38 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 September 2013

I stayed at this hostel for one night. It's a very small hostel. It only had ONE shower in the mens room. It was a little unorganized, but I felt bad for the woman working at the check in desk, she was trying to many things at once. All in all, It was an average hostel. My biggest complaints are the bathroom (one shower), no breakfast, and no working wifi. It was a good value though. I'd stay there again if I had to.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank steven B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 August 2013

We stayed in the private rooms of this hostel which was not where the actual hostel was. We arrived at the hostel (which is very easy to find, and a short walk from the ferry port) and the woman there was extremely helpful and friendly and showed us to our room which was a short walk from the hostel. We were just expecting a room and a bathroom but instead we had an apartment which had a kitchen, bathroom and large bedroom with a TV. It was much more than we expected, particularly since the price was so reasonable. It was such a nice apartment and a great location. Would definitely recommend it for couples and even friends as the apartment is quite big and so you could easily fit 3 or 4 people in it.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cecilia C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
57 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 August 2013

Overall, we enjoyed our stay at Silver Central. The staff were extremely helpful, welcoming and friendly. The rooms were clean and nicely decorated, especially the spacious bathroom (although I only saw the ladies'!). A couple of negatives -
1) noise from the communal area carries into the dorms, so when people came back at 4am and sat in the common room chatting, everyone in my bedroom was woken up!
2) the kitchen is not very well equipped, it's not really practical to make food at all in the hostel, and you have to wash your dishes in the bathroom sink.
On the whole, though, as it was such good value and such an easy-to-find, central location, I would recommend Silver Central for travellers to Split.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank agent_nora
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne
Level Contributor
20 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 August 2013

Direction hostel give you are easy and spot on!

Friendly reception staff all more than willing to help.

Clean hostel, great beds. Excellent wifi

Highly recommend staying here over any other hostel.

Easy to walk to sort where all sail boats leave from

Close to a supermarket and fridge available at hostel.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Becky-Lee8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Astoria oregon
Level Contributor
1,671 reviews
281 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 708 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 May 2013 via mobile

After staying at two other depressing dreary ghetto places
I moved into Silver Central and I am thrilled. It is the best place in Split for value and a good nights rest. I highly recommend it here. Meets every criteria for a good hostel.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Journeyman644
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Split hotels
0.2 mi away
Divota Apartment Hotel
0.1 mi away
Apartments Gajeta
Apartments Gajeta
#21 of 57 in Split
4.5 of 5 bubbles 202 reviews
0.1 mi away
Design Hostel Goli&Bosi
Design Hostel Goli&Bosi
#95 of 441 in Split
3.5 of 5 bubbles 161 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Tchaikovsky Hostel Split
0.0 mi away
Coral Luxury Rooms
Coral Luxury Rooms
#119 of 167 in Split
3.5 of 5 bubbles 13 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hostel Emanuel
Hostel Emanuel
#29 of 441 in Split
4.5 of 5 bubbles 41 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Silver Central Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Silver Central Hostel

Property: Silver Central Hostel
Address: Kralja Tomislava 1, Split, Croatia
Region: Croatia > Dalmatia > Split-Dalmatia County > Split
Hotel Style:
Ranked #174 of 441 Speciality Lodging in Split
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 27
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your Silver Central Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing