We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Price was different than advertised”
Review of Beach Hostel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Beach Hostel
Ranked #51 of 515 Speciality Lodging in Split
Reviewed 6 November 2012

The hostel was clean, well located, and had everything we needed but we were not happy with the price. We had not booked it on Hostelworld ahead of time due to a loose schedule but when we arrived and requested the same type room as advertised on the site we were quoted a price that was much higher. LadyBird insisted that the price she quoted us was cheaper than Hostelworld but I had the website up when we discussed price. She was quite eccentric and seemed more concerned about her upcoming trip to her home in Norway than she was with her guests.

Room Tip: We only saw our room which was perfect for what we needed. The only advice I can give for anyone bo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Altoadventures
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (53)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

40 - 46 of 53 reviews

Reviewed 28 August 2012

Nice hostel, very well located, close to everywhere! You get walking in few minutes to the Old Town, Blacvice Beach, and the best Pubs and Clubs. The beds are perfect and the bathroom and lockers too. On the other hand the bedrooms are kind of tiny, not enough space for all the people inside. The owner of this place (Lady Bird) is amazing, she was like a mother for us!

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gus1986
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2011

This was the worst hostel on our 6 week Europe trip. We were assigned a double private room. When we got to the hostel we found out that we were in a different building all together. As we hadn't had time to get any cash, we were told to leave our bags, walk four blocks to the nearest ATM and bring back money before we could get our room (after a long day this was not a nice way to start). We then were escorted an entire block away to the other building.
Our private room consisted of a couch, covered with an old sheet. There were old worn sheets with holes on the couch as well- no blanket. The kitchen included in our suite was dirty (especially the sink) and the fan was loud (although the room appeared to have A/C there was not remote to access it). An old single mattress was propped up against the wall, and the bedroom walls, although colourful and cheerful, needed a good scrub to get all the dirt off.
On a whole we were not impressed at all. The location is good, and Ladybird was friendly, but the fact that we had to walk a block to pay, ask questions, check-in and use the wi-fi was ridiculous. To make matters worse, the amount that we paid for a one night stay was one of the priciest of our whole trip- I was thoroughly disappointed and would never stay again.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Freedomlover18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2011

the best hostels feel like home the moment you step in from the moment you leave. No question thats what Beach Hostel Split is like! the common area is smartly place to allow for the most guest interaction, which is personally my favorite part of a hostel. Everything else is kosher too with a nice outside patio, free internet, very comfy beds, very close to a nice beach and popular bars.

Also I have to say that I stayed in a few hostels in Split and most of them are a little too hectic being typically in a very high traffic tourist area. Beach Hostel Split is close but far away enough from the tourist hustle to get some peace. A lot of backpackers have weak common areas which makes it difficult to meet fellow travelers(which is the very spirit of backpacking!). Also its kept very clean compared to some of the hostels(which i wont mention out of courtesy). Its also worth mentioning that it is a rather small area and while it definitely works, the bathrooms and kitchen are pretty small, it would be hard to cook a big meal here.

Travelers that want to be pampered should just as well skip the hostels in Split and opt for a hotels.... travelers that wont a more authentic backpacking experience should get to Beach Hostel Split ASAP!

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank ShaneSalvage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2011

Beach Hostel is in a great location, just up the road from the beach and restaurants. Ladybird is very helpful and extremely welcoming and for this reason the hostel has a lovely atmosphere. There isn't really any decent cooking facilities though, so expect to eat out. On the up side Split has some inexpensive fantastic food.

Room Tip: book early
See more room tips
Stayed: May 2011, travelled with friends
2  Thank tripping84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2011

This was the best hostel ! I felt like if I was at home. Ladybird (the host) is soooo nice and she makes you feel comfortable! The hostel is well located, 2 minutes walk to the beach and good restaurants! I highly recommend this place! I was supposed to stay just for a night and decided to stay for 4 nights. Good price too !

  • Stayed: May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank JulieCoates
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2010

Lots of rave reviews on booking.com, but we didn't agree! The bathrooms were small (even by European standards), unclean and smelly. In one of the two bathrooms you have to half climb over the washing machine to get into the bath. The dorm room (with 5 beds) was so hot at night, despite being quite large, the widow open and the fan on, that none of us could sleep! Staff were almost bordering on rude and were largely unhelpful. No kitchen facililties but a fridge for food storage. Fast and free internet access on one computer for all guests to share. Good location if you want to be close to the beach (5mins walk) but about 15mins walk from the old town. As two female travelers, we didn't feel that safe walking to/from the old town at night and tried to aviod this; it may be better in a group. Overall not a pleasent stay at all.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank emahamilton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Split hotels
1 mi away
Radisson Blu Resort Split
3.1 mi away
Rooms Margarita
Rooms Margarita
#1 of 8 in Stobrec
49 reviews
0.8 mi away
Apartments Gajeta
Apartments Gajeta
#24 of 57 in Split
228 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1 mi away
Divota Apartment Hotel
6.3 mi away
Hajduk Bed & Breakfast
0.4 mi away
Hotel Luxe
Hotel Luxe
#8 of 57 in Split
710 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Beach Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beach Hostel

Address: Viska 9, Split 21000, Croatia
Region: Croatia > Dalmatia > Split-Dalmatia County > Split
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #51 of 515 Speciality Lodging in Split
Price Range: £16 - £73 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Beach Hostel! Enjoy chilling at the beach all day. Try your hand at Picigin. Watch the locals play. It's more than just keeping the ball up while diving around in the water. It's pretty amazing and lots of fun. Bacvice is the ONLY beach in Split awarded the 'Blue Flag' for clean swimming water & safety. * We are only a few steps from the Beach! * We are in the city Center, only a 7 minute walk to the train, bus, ferry and airport drop off point. Diocletian's Palace, Old Town & all tourist sites, yep 7 min walk. (NO need for buses). We are Your home away from Home! How to start the day; Dress up with swimming suit and slippers; perhaps enjoy the Free Cafe and Tea on our cool artistic balcony, "created by previous guests". Grab your towel, walk for a few steps (We are not on the water, but Less than a minute walk from the beautiful Adriatic Sea. Afternoon; Chill, chill, chill perhaps play a few tunes on the guitar while enjoying your bear or perhaps a glass of vine on the balcony with your new friends or fellow travelers. Evening; Get ready for a night out! Bacvice has the MOST popular nightlife in Split with over 20 bars, restaurants, cafes & discos, right ON the water. Open until 5:00 in the morning and let`s not forget the big after party: Night swimming in the Adriatic sea. Bacvice is the MOST popular beach in Split. It's the ONLY beach locals & tourists go to swim and party. We have a Friendly English and Scandinavian speaking staff We offer advice on Split & all of Croatia. We have a Common Room with TV, DVDs and Book exchange. Ladybird's cool art decor is covering the walls. We have a lot of fun but discourage groups of irresponsible drinkers. If you need quiet night at home, the party leaves the house at 23:00 o'clock All new linen this year! We got the best steamer from Norway so we are steam cleaning the hostel. We also wash our sheets beyond 60 degrees Celsius. So we believe to be the cleanest hostel in the city ;o) We offer; * New fully equipped kitchen for you to use * Free Wi-Fi and guest computer * Free use of our Skype headset * Free lockers where You can fit Your whole backpack * Lights and plugins above every bed * New windows with mosquito net * Free luggage storage * Free street parking * Free towel hire * Free all new linens * Free maps * Laundry service & more. * Clean, safe and fun! * 24-hour check-in * Flexible check - out time * No curfew Make sure to check out our pictures on Facebook (Beach Hostel) If you need to contact us before booking you'll find all the contact info you need there ;o) * Please include an approximate arrival time. * 1 euro per person per day tax is additional & not included in the price. * Cancellations at least 24 hours before arrival, otherwise first night is charged. Check-out: 11:00 Check-in: 14:00 (2:00 PM). ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Beach Hotel Split

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing