We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Appartment doesnt make me feel safe”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Diocletian Palace Experience
Ranked #11 of 463 Speciality Lodging in Split
Certificate of Excellence
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
36 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Appartment doesnt make me feel safe”
Reviewed 22 April 2013 via mobile

Im a single female travelling alone & the apartment (which is a few mins walk frm hostel) makes me feel like well i will struggle to stay safe at night walking back to it.

The apartment smells musty & toilet downstairs with bed up spiral stair case.

I am actually considering leaving a day early because 8 dont feel safe. If i wanted this type of experience i would have chosen airBnB but i booked via booking.com thinking it would be fine..... ummm not so much

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LusciousLemur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

158 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    73
    30
    28
    9
    18
See reviews for
13
55
25
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Berlin, Germany
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 April 2013

located within the palace walls, newly opened, the staff is very helpful ... Split a very interesting city .Diocletian's Palace is amazing, the main square Peristyle looks like you're back in Roman times

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank smo55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 October 2012

I planned to stay here for just one or two night then move on, but it was so unbelievably good I stayed for my entire 5 night trip in Split. Staff were helpful and friendly, rooms and bathrooms were clean, every one was thoroughly lovely. The food in the resteraunt was outstanding and the buidlding itself is fabuous. Special thanks to Nicolas one of the hostel staff for being so knowledgable on the town and giving us a tour, we had just a fantastic time here and I cannot wait to return. I highly recommend this hostel to anyone travelling to Split, I actually think they are missing a trick and could charge far more than they currently do!

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Beks30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 October 2012

We didn't stay in the hostel, but went there for the free walking tour and then went back for lunch. Maria took us and about 10 others on a walking tour of Split. She was fabulous. She provided all the history you'd expect, but was also willing to share some stories about her own family experiences. It lasts about 90 minutes. Please on't regard this as a free tour. If you can afford to tip Maria, the other tours charge 11 to 15 Euros. This seemed a much smaller and less stuffy tour group than the others we saw.

There was no expectation that we return to the hostel to eat. In fact the tour didn't end there. We did go back though and had a great lunch, local beer and free wifi.

The tourist info office has a map that shows how to get there.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank beachlovernow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 September 2012

A new pretty swish hostel in a beautiful city. We booked a double room and were surprised to find that meant a private apartment, great! The agency staff really looked after us, booking bikes and advice on Island hopping after we left Split. Except for the thumping Euro house played in the cafe I'd highly recommend.

Room Tip: Ask for an apartment - same price and lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank matt b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
86 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 September 2012 via mobile

My friend and I booked two separate nights here at either end of our trip to Croatia. I was initially confused as I emailed an agency regarding private apartments and the reply came from the Diocletian Palace Hostel. I asked them to confirm that we were definitely staying in private apartments and not a hostel, which they did. On our first night we had a fab apartment with sofa, stereo, tv, kitchenette and double bed. We were told we would have the same apartment on our second stay, however, we're instead given private use of a 4 bed hostel type studio with bunk beds. I was quite disappointed as this is not what we had been promised. 

The agency arranged for us to be collected /returned to the airport for 250k each way which was hassle free. We hired bikes for 4 hours for 50k each and the bikes were in good condition. 

I would stay at the apartments again only if I were guaranteed the private apartment and not the bunk bed room. 

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LauraJane83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Australia
Level Contributor
39 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 September 2012

My group of friend's and I stayed here for one night before beginning a sailing trip. It is located within the walls and admittedly the check in lobby and stair way looked very impressive because of it. The room was roomy enough. The sheets were dirty upon arrival, there was no breeze from the window and it was incredibly hot. The shared shower was terrible, one of the showers had no light, the other was over the top of the toilet with no space for clothing/towel to be kept dry whilst showering. At night the bar downstairs was really popular but we did not eat or drink there as we opted for an early night before sailing off.

Overall - average. Nothing special but certainly not the worst place I have ever stayed. It did the job.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ilovefeta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Split hotels
0.4 mi away
Divota Apartment Hotel
0.0 mi away
Antique Split Luxury Rooms
0.2 mi away
Hotel Luxe
Hotel Luxe
#7 of 55 in Split
652 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Slavija
Hotel Slavija
#12 of 55 in Split
352 reviews
0.2 mi away
Cornaro Hotel
Cornaro Hotel
#5 of 55 in Split
372 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Vestibul Palace
Hotel Vestibul Palace
#14 of 55 in Split
410 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Diocletian Palace Experience? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Diocletian Palace Experience

Property: Diocletian Palace Experience
Address: Nepotova 4 | in the heart of the Diocletian palace, Split 21000, Croatia (Formerly Diocletian Palace Hostel)
Region: Croatia > Dalmatia > Split-Dalmatia County > Split
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 463 Speciality Lodging in Split
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Diocletian Palace Experience 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Diocletian Palace Experience.. place located in the center of the Diocletian Palace, 1700 years old, on the east wall of it. The unique experience and memory making place, just few minutes walking distance from the bus, train and ferry terminal. In walking distance there is a majority of the main historical and cultural attractions to see and to visit. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Diocletian Palace Experience reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing