We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A week in a studio apartment”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Diocletian Palace Experience
Ranked #16 of 512 Speciality Lodging in Split
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 17 June 2014

Very friendly staff, always there for you and really want to try and help. The studio was bigger than we expected and surprisingly clean, however one bed was broken (very uncomfortable to sleep in) and there were no windows at all. Good shower, nice kitchenette with fridge. Major downside is that a lot of small things were broken, e.g. electrical socket, shower handle, electric lock, bedside lamp. Location was perfect, just outside the old town in a quiet area where many locals live so it felt very safe to walk around at night.

Would recommend if you want a private room, good and clean place to sleep with nice location but dont want to spend too much money on accommodation. If you are looking for a more hotel-room experience, this is not for you.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Christian O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (175)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

93 - 99 of 175 reviews

Reviewed 14 June 2014

It's a nice hostel. Not very easy to find, because instructions given by the hostel were not clear. We tried to ask people, but nobody knew where it was! despite that, it's very good located - inside the palace. Staff is great. Rooms are very modern and comfortable - with air-conditioner and big lockers. Bathrooms are average, because it is co-ed and was always a little bit dirty.
it was great!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank Francine_Schiffler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2014

good points: Quite cheap, perfect location (close to the port, train, bus, and the old town). Also the bed are good...

bad points: they asked me a bit more than booked, and I had horrible people in my room almost having sex at 4am waking up everyone.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Antonio P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2014

stopped in one the hostels apartments which had a comfy double bed, the location couldnt have been better. the price was excellent in comparison with others in the area. the staff were v.friendly and helpful would definately stop there again

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank neil1962
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2013

This hostel was nice. Clean modern rooms, beds, and lockers. Great location inside the palace, near the train station and port. Staff not bad, but not great. Common area nice, good for meeting people.

The bathrooms are co-ed and not ensuite. You share the showers with everyone on your floor. The toilets are stalls, and the sinks are usually occupied by groups of girls getting ready for the day (or evening). Interesting experience, but not bad.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Zac934
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2013

This review is a little postponed, but we stayed in a studio apartment owned by the hostel back in May 2013. When you arrived you need to go to the hostel reception where you can check in. A member of the hostel staff then escorts you through the narrow historic streets to your allocated apartment which is slap bang in the centre of the old atmospheric palace walls. Our apartment was about a 5 minute walk from the hostel it's self. We booked a studio apartment, but when we were shown in, there was a kitchen/dining room area, which led off to a separate bedroom and separate bathroom. I don't know if this is typical of a Croatian studio, one were given a different apartment but we were expecting and all in one type room.
The apartment was down a quite alleyway with a cafe bar at the end of it. While quiet, we never felt unsafe in the area.
We were happy with the quality and cleanliness of the apartment for the money we paid for our 5 night stay, and for location we could not really have been better located. Please note though, if you stay in an apartment they are not cleaned for you during your stay, there are however all the tools you need to do a tidy up yourself.
We took advantage of the hostels free guided walking tour of old Split, which leaves from the hotel reception every morning. The guide spoke very good English ans was very informative. If you are on a budget this is well worth doing to give you an overview of the city's history.
The old streets of the palace can be covered in leisurely day of strolling, after that there is not much to keep you in Split itself, but it is a good base for doing day trips to near by Trogir and the Islands. Unfortunately the weather was not so good when we were there which really limited the hings we could go out and do. Unless the weather is guaranteed I would say 5 days is a bit too long to spend in Split without getting bored.
We found a great place to eat down by the harbour, which was recommended on Tripadvisor called FIFE BUFFET. The prices are super reasonable, the food lovely and the portions huge. They do the best calamari I have had anywhere and their beef stew is lovely also.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kassioppi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2013

Myself & another female friend stayed at Diocletians Palace Hotel a few nights ago and were thoroughly impressed with the hostel & our experience there overall.
The hostel itself is only a short stroll from the bus & ferry terminals, reasonably easy to find - but I would suggest using another maps system before arriving. The location is fantastic, close to the shops, supermarket, bars, restaurants & of course is set right within the palace.
As there was a problem with our booking we were placed in one of their nearby apartments for the 1st night, a slight pain with 20kg+ bags as we didn't really want to move them again but our assistance was appreciated by the staff.
The hostel room was clean & tidy with large secure under bed lockers, easily fit my 70litre bag and day pack.
Only downside was the bathroom facilities on the floor we stayed on. 1 shower had no lights, making it terribly dark, 1 was not working at all, and the 3rd had a horrible shower head which was more like an outdoor hose.
Otherwise, would highly recommend this hostel - make sure to ask about the pub crawls too!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hannah O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Split hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Luxe
Hotel Luxe
#9 of 58 in Split
707 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Slavija
Hotel Slavija
#19 of 58 in Split
380 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Marul
Hotel Marul
#5 of 58 in Split
252 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Heritage Hotel Antique Split
0.1 mi away
Palace Judita Heritage Hotel
0.8 mi away
Dioklecijan Hotel & Residence
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Diocletian Palace Experience? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Diocletian Palace Experience

Address: Nepotova 4 | in the heart of the Diocletian palace, Split 21000, Croatia (Formerly Diocletian Palace Hostel)
Region: Croatia > Dalmatia > Split-Dalmatia County > Split
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 512 Speciality Lodging in Split
Price Range: £82 - £184 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Diocletian Palace Experience 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Diocletian Palace Experience.. place located in the center of the Diocletian Palace, 1700 years old, on the east wall of it. The unique experience and memory making place, just few minutes walking distance from the bus, train and ferry terminal. In walking distance there is a majority of the main historical and cultural attractions to see and to visit. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA and Booking.com so you can book your Diocletian Palace Experience reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing