We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just avoid”
Review of Element - CLOSED

Element
Cuisines: Contemporary
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Just avoid”
Reviewed 29 June 2013

Whilst the waiters were very professional, it just could not detract from the fact that it took over 40minutes to get our starter. The food was very average for the price we paid.
There are some pluses - waiters were understanding and the setting was beautiful. however,
I would not come back or recommend it unfortunately.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Michelle_Bakhos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

56 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    20
    15
    4
    9
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Went for coffee only. Expensive and useless.”
Reviewed 26 June 2013 via mobile

Stopped in to have a coffee while exploring, it was distinctly average and, at 25 kuna, the most expensive one I've had in split. Didn't try the food so can't comment as to that.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Oreillch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blackpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
90 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“the restuarant is about to change its name to, "Allegria",”
Reviewed 25 June 2013

however this has not changed the 5 star status. we had a most fantastic meal in such a romantic setting in the shadow of the Old Town walls. every table was full, with people waiting to be seated, that alone speaks volumes.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Marco1804
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Nice ambience, but extremely disappointed by the food”
Reviewed 22 June 2013

The setting was extremely nice under the stone gate and live guitar music, but the food was a big let down. The mussels were too salty and lacked flavour. The house red was the worst wine I've had in Croatia in over a week. The best dish for us turned out to be the caprese salad. The young waited was friendly and helpful. While reviewing the menu before deciding to sit down I did get the sense that the place was more about the ambience than the food. Unfortunately, that turned out to be the case.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Kunal473
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mississauga, Ontario
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Beware of the bill scam”
Reviewed 14 May 2013

I must say that I have never been treated so rudely anywhere in the world like in this restaurant and I've seen quite a bit of the blue planet. First of all the food is way overpriced for what you get and can get similar meals 50% cheaper in other Split restaurants. The establishment added an extra charge "couver" that we were not aware of and ARGUED(!) that this was common in other world class restaurants. Obviously they haven't been anywhere else in the world and this is giving Croatian tourism a bad name.Also they "mistakenly" charged us for some items that we did not eat. Just horrible experience. The filled peppers we had tasted generic and beyond salty.Never again and please be aware or avoid this place, as you can tell by other tripadvisor reviewers experiences, that it is common to scam you on the bill.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Alchemisto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Element also viewed

Split, Split-Dalmatia County
 
Split, Split-Dalmatia County
Split, Split-Dalmatia County
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing