We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Restaurant To Avoid !”
Review of Element - CLOSED

Element
Cuisines: Mediterranean, European, Croatian, Italian, Cafe, Contemporary
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Toulouse, France
Level Contributor
29 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Restaurant To Avoid !”
Reviewed 14 July 2013

The name is no element but allegria now !
We came to this restaurant with my friends after we saw the menu and the atmosphere. The place was lovely but that's all.
We have to wait 50 Min for having our meal and they served us the wrong dishes.
The waiter was unpleasant and accused us to order the wrong dishes.
Concerning the dishes, the Pasta was overcooked and the Risotto was undercooked.

We wanted to pay the chech (which was very expensive for the food quality) separetely but the waiter does not agree and again UNPLEASANT !!!!!!

Please avoid this restaurant !

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Marinou26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

56 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    20
    15
    4
    9
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Ascoli Piceno, Italy
Level Contributor
52 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“A truly terrible meal”
Reviewed 13 July 2013

After looking over several restaurants located within Diocletian's Palace walls, we settled on Allegria--nice cosy location off the busy main squares. A rather sullen waiter approached us and remained long enough to take our order--a shrimp risotto and a shrimp and tomato soup (early, light dinner). The risotto arrived with what appeared to be tiny frozen shrimp combined with undercooked risotto--truly unremarkable and therefore very overpriced..

A real source of wonderment, however, was the shrimp and tomato soup that contained absolutely no shrimp. We called this to our waiter's attention, who indifferently informed us that it was in fact shrimp and tomato soup. We replied that it contained no shrimp which pretty much disqualified it as shrimp and tomato soup, and asked that he take it back to the kitchen. He returned a moment later and reported that the kitchen said it was shrimp and tomato soup. We countered that he needed to take it back to the kitchen again, which he reuctantly did, and returned a few minutes later with a few small frozen shrimp languishing in the tomato broth.

We have eaten very well in both Dubrovkik (Otto's) and in Split, so Allegria was the exception. This restaurant clearly has a lot of work to do; both with the wait staff and in the kitchen.

Christopher Wheeler

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank marie w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swindon, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent service at Allegria- range of traditional Croatian dishes!”
Reviewed 5 July 2013

This restaurant has now changed its name to 'Allegria'... and from what I can see from the photos and reviews previously.... has completely transformed itself. Whilst in Split backpacking, we dined at this place twice, loved the atmosphere and the extremely friendly owner.

On our first visit we had the steak risotto and the chicken steak - both of which were super yummy! We didn't order starters, but were however given complementary bread, salami and olive oil to munch on as we waited for our mains. We were super lucky to be some of the first to sample the restaurants new menu, consisting of a range of foods, from steaks, pastas, rice and fish!

Second time around, I ordered the sea bass and my partner had the steak - WOW!!! Best food we have ate whilst travelling Europe.

We thoroughly recommend this venue for a cosy and romantic meal. The owner is a pleasure to talk to, and will advise on which dishes are the best.... we also loved the cocktails.... another please!!

Thank you to all at Allegria for a wonderful experience of traditional Croatian dishes.

Laura and Ben x

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank laum0892
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Just avoid”
Reviewed 29 June 2013

Whilst the waiters were very professional, it just could not detract from the fact that it took over 40minutes to get our starter. The food was very average for the price we paid.
There are some pluses - waiters were understanding and the setting was beautiful. however,
I would not come back or recommend it unfortunately.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Michelle_Bakhos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Went for coffee only. Expensive and useless.”
Reviewed 26 June 2013 via mobile

Stopped in to have a coffee while exploring, it was distinctly average and, at 25 kuna, the most expensive one I've had in split. Didn't try the food so can't comment as to that.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Oreillch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Element also viewed

Split, Split-Dalmatia County
 
Split, Split-Dalmatia County
Split, Split-Dalmatia County
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing