We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Small and beautifully formed...”
Review of Hotel Luxe

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Luxe
Ranked #7 of 55 Hotels in Split
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level 6 Contributor
151 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 199 helpful votes
“Small and beautifully formed...”
Reviewed 10 October 2011

The Hotel Luxe in Split is a year old boutique hotel only a couple of minutes walk from the main promenade, shopping area and central market. All the local bars and restaurants are with 10 minutes walk and there are a huge variety of them to choose from.
The hotel is situated on a main road and has a small reception area with a smoking room just off the lobby. Decor is definitely leading edge, mostly white and spotlessly clean. The rooms are small........but perfectly formed, certainly not luxurious but if you're after a base in Split......this is your hotel.

The breakfast is generous with a wide variation of fruit, cheeses and meat. The usual eggs, sausages, bacon etc are regularly topped up.

An excellent hotel as long as you're not looking for a big room.........but it ticks all the other boxes.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank radw51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

670 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    389
    225
    43
    10
    3
See reviews for
110
341
46
21
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (138)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Arizona, USA
Level 6 Contributor
148 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 October 2011

I chose those hotel because of the reviews on Trip Advisor that made it #1. So glad I did. It did not disappoint. While we were not thrilled with the city of Split itself, this hotel made the stop worth it. Great location less than five minute walk to the Palace, Riva, water, grocery. It was super clean (and I'm a clean freak!), fun, funky and the staff were all excellent! Warm, helpful, friendly. Breakfast was good. We were in room 406 which had a nice view of the harbor and the balcony along with free wifi was fantastic. I can't say anything bad about this hotel and would happily stay here again. The purple theme was fun! Oh, and there were like 20 English speaking TV channels.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank outdoorz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norway
Level 6 Contributor
127 reviews
79 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 September 2011

We stayed in this hotel 3 nights during a seminar. It was a small hotel with cosy athmosphere. Most of the rooms had small balconys with view towards the habour. It was nice to sit her during sunset and watch the habour traffic. It is placed in a back- street area where you can watch the streetlife from your balcony. The hotel is very special due to its modern colourful decoration and polyester funiture. This made an exciting impression. Luxe hotel is in walking distance from the beach and the old city area as well as the marked. Very good choice for couples on short or longer trip to Split. The hotel was quite new when we visited in October 2010.

Room Tip: Balcony towards the habour.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lalina_Norway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level 6 Contributor
201 reviews
92 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 September 2011

Within a short walk to both the old town and to the ferry, bus and train. Modern boutique hotel. Room was nice, plain. Didn't feel like giving it an excellent grade. Service was excellent however. Have a free spa except for massage.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Semelg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 26 September 2011

We've just checked into the Hotel Luxe having booked a non-smoking room only to find it stinking of smoke. The staff say the hotel is full so can't move us & suggested opening the window (onto a building site). We expected better consider the reviews on here. I hope the hotel yet comes up with something to make our stay more comfortable.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank radd100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LuxeSplit, General Manager at Hotel Luxe, responded to this review, 27 September 2011
Dear guest,
Thank you for your review and comment. Unfortunately there was nothing we could do on your first day as hotel was fully booked, but we managed to find another room for you a day after and I hope you’ve enjoyed it.
There is little to explain about smoke in your room that is clearly marked as non-smoking. Sadly there are guests who don’t respect signs and notification and unfortunately there is no possibility to detect it.
I hope you’ll have exciting stay with us and bring back only good memories from Split.

With kind regards,

Josip Culic
Hotel manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
153 reviews
99 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 216 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 September 2011

This hotel is approximately 12 months old with a modern and trendy theme, ideally located within a few hundred metres of Docletians Palace, waterfront restaurants / bars and also Split’s ferry, train and bus services.

From the moment we entered the hotel until our departure, we encountered wonderful efficient service from all staff. Our standard double room was a good size by European standards, very nicely furnished with an amazingly comfortable bed (including great pillows) and an extremely large bathroom, which included a bath. The room was extremely clean, air-conditioned and included a mini-bar and safe, whilst the free wi-fi (in both the room and foyer) worked efficiently. Being new, the hotel has the added facility of a lift to all floors. Free car parking is also available which is located within approximately 50 metres of the hotel, although it should be noted there is no staff assistance available with the transportation of luggage.

The hotel also has a gym and wellness centre and whilst it does not have a restaurant, this is not a problem in view of the close proximity to the old town’s eateries.

The buffet breakfast could not be faulted with a very good range of both hot and cold dishes.

Overall, we thoroughly enjoyed our stay at this lovely modern, service orientated hotel which exceeded all our expectations and have absolutely no hesitation in strongly recommending.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bowoodforest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LuxeSplit, General Manager at Hotel Luxe, responded to this review, 27 September 2011
Dear guest,
It is my outmost pleasure to read your review. We are all very happy to be at your service and to make your stay unforgettable.
With kind regards,

Josip Culic
Hotel manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
438 reviews
90 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 421 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 September 2011

This must be one of the best hotels I have ever stayed at, anywhere in the world, and I do not give praise lightly.

To begin with, its location is perfect. Just a few minutes walk from the bus station, ferry terminal, train station, old town, promenade, scores of restaurants and cafes, and beach, but our room was so well soundproofed we didn't hear a thing at night.

The check-in experience was good: a friendly, polite and efficient receptionist dealt with us in no time. Our room had the 'wow' factor (as did the whole hotel): very stylish indeed, a bathroom to die for and, because we had booked a room with a sea view and were on the 3rd floor, a fascinating view of the ferries coming in and out of the harbour. The only very minor glitches with the room were that the carpet needed a thorough clean and the drawer space was minimal.

One infallible sign of a good hotel is their reaction to a problem. I couldn't get the room safe to lock and so phoned reception. Within - literally - 2 minutes the hotel manager knocked on our door, full of apologies, and re-set the safe, having a pleasant chat with us as well. You can't ask for better than that!

Breakfast was perfectly OK: over 6 mornings we never had to wait for a table, and the wide choice of cold food and the hot food were always replenished very quickly. Everything was self-service, so you never had to wait to be served. Despite others' comments, we found the coffee perfectly OK.

The price was quite reasonable for the facilities and location, and much better value for money than a hotel we'd stayed at in Dubrovnik immediately beforehand. Check-out was fast and polite. This is a fantastic hotel!

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cltc43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LuxeSplit, General Manager at Hotel Luxe, responded to this review, 27 September 2011
Dear guest,
It was a pleasure having you stay with us and all Luxe team is proud to make your visit in Croatia a everlasting memory.
With kind regards,

Josip Culic
Hotel manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Split hotels
1.4 mi away
Radisson Blu Resort Split
0.3 mi away
Cornaro Hotel
Cornaro Hotel
#6 of 55 in Split
423 reviews
0.6 mi away
Divota Apartment Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Dioklecijan Hotel & Residence
0.2 mi away
Heritage Hotel Antique Split
0.2 mi away
Hotel Slavija
Hotel Slavija
#12 of 55 in Split
365 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Luxe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Luxe

Property: Hotel Luxe
Address: Kralja Zvonimira 6, Split 21000, Croatia
Region: Croatia > Dalmatia > Split-Dalmatia County > Split
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 55 Hotels in Split
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Luxe 4*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
It's hard to imagine that in the same place where a factory was built almost 100 years ago today stands Dalmatia's most exciting and fashionable boutique hotel. Within steps of the ancient city of Split you can now enjoy old world charm and state of the art luxury. Hotel Luxe features comfortable and modern rooms, a cozy wellness area, dining room and lobby bar with a view of the city life of Split. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Expedia, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Luxe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing