We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant Boutique Hotel”
Review of Hotel Luxe

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Luxe
Ranked #9 of 58 Hotels in Split
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 11 July 2012

Very modern, nicely designed hotel. Rooms are somewhat small, but cheery. Service was excellent and the price was reasonable. Location is not bad for Split, but it is still a hearty walk to the port or the town. The manager was around for breakfast and really seemed to care about providing quality service and having happy guests.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marjorie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (710)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

439 - 445 of 710 reviews

Reviewed 10 July 2012

The hotel is a 10 min stroll with bags to ferry piers, bus or train station. We arrived by ferry and departed by bus.And it is even closer to the main tourist location - the Riva - a promenade along the waterfront and Diocletian's palace.

This is a well managed hotel with helpful staff. One example, is the travel materials that they provided upon check in. This was the only 4 star hotel that we stayed in during our stay in Croatia and it was worth it. The rooms are nice and those with sea views are very quiet. Our luggage appreciated the elevator.

Some people have commented on the glass wall of the bathroom facing the bedroom. We lived in Asia for many years and this is quite common in Asian resort hotels.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BabiBagus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2012

We got off the Anacona-Split Ferry and the hotel was incredibly close to the dock. We drove past the hotel, not thinking we were so close. Joe parked on the sidewalk, like everyone else and I went to check in and find out where the parking was for the hotel. The check in was seamless, everyone speaks English and is very helpful. The parking was around behind the hotel and we found that easily. After several days in the old cities we are realizing that the availability of having a dedicated place to park is really important if you are driving through Europe. There are never enough parking spaces and it is a battle to find a spot.

We dragged our suitcases to the check in and were quickly checked in. It is a lovely, modern hotel with all the amenities. We had a tiny deck, a very comfortable bed, nice linens. Breakfast, which was included, was delicious - lots of choices- we especially liked the cured salmon with cucumber. One morning there were crepes on the buffet, always lovely cured ham, fruit, croissants. There was a chaffing dish with eggs, bacon, etc. nothing that interested me, but my partner enjoyed it.

We each had a great massage one afternoon. I had the hot stone massage and was very impressed by the training of the masseuse. It was a very good value.

The hotel is located close to Diocletion's palace and lots of local restaurants. The ruins are overrun with open air stalls selling junk, but it is fun to wander around.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kay W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2012

The Hotel Luxe in Split is a very trendy looking modern boutique hotel. The photos on its website look a bit garish, but the interior style actually works well (though it may not be to everyone's taste). All areas of the hotel are beautifully decorated and fitted out. Our standard sea-view double room was excellent (though really only 'sea glimpses'). It was a good size and nicely furnished. The bathroom was large and well fitted out. The full-size glass window between the bath/shower and the bedroom was unusual (but fortunately fitted with a curtain to provide privacy). The breakfast room was very nice and the breakfast buffet was very good. The hotel's location is excellent - close to the bus station (arriving from Dubrovnik, day trip to Trogir, departing to Zadar) and ferry terminals (day trip to Hvar Island) and to Diocletians Palace and the harbour esplanade. Reception and breakfast room staff were lovely and very helpful. The hotel was relatively expensive for Croatia (though a 5% discount for a 3 night stay helped), but still represented reasonable value. Overall, an excellent hotel in a very good location in Split, where there didn't seem to be many other good accommodation options.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AussieTraveller56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2012

We arrived in 30 degree heat and walking into the hotel was like going from an oven into an ice palace. The interior was far less garish looking than the images on the internet, it was cool and looked very fresh with the whites, silver and sparking gems artfully arranged in strings across the ceiling with touches of lilac.

The welcome in comparison couldn't of been warmer, we were checked into our room which was ready immediately even though we'd arrived before check in time. The staff were excellent, a credit to the hotel. Our room, 405 had a good view of the port and we were mesmerized watching the boats coming and going.

The hotel itself is perfectly situated for all travel links, rail and ferries within a 5 minute walk. The Diocletian palace with a plethora of bars, restaurants, shops and markets is also within a 5-10 minute stroll.

It was a good sized room and the bed was one of the most comfortable I'v experienced in any hotel room. As is the norm in Europe there were no tea making facilites but if you bring your own kettle there's a fridge in the room to keep milk fresh. The only slight critism I would have is the size of the dining room which was surprisingly small for the size of the hotel and the selection of food although good quality was quite basic. Don't let this put you off though, it's a minor irritation and whenever we revisit Split this will be our 1st choice of hotel.

Room Tip: Get as high as possible at the back for a good view of the port
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank diytours
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2012

Stayed for 4 nights in June, could not fault this hotel.
Staff friendly and helpful
Great trendy rooms(i had a room on the 5th floor and the views were magnificent over the harbor)
great location to get to ferries, Diocletian Palace and Bacvice beach.
I also took advantage of the wellness centre which was great and the massage was well worth it after a long flight.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank paul h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2012

A really nice hotel (excellent staff with terrific mulit-lingual skills) in a city that has few good options, in my opinion. The drawback is that there is no pool but lovely beaches are only a 10 minute walk away or one can use the excellent beach facilities at the Radisson BLU. This is the perfect place to stay if you are sailing from the Port of Split to the islands of south and central Dalmatia as the Port is less than 200 metres away. Overall, very pleased with this property.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TDinLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Split hotels
1.4 mi away
Radisson Blu Resort Split
0.3 mi away
Cornaro Hotel
Cornaro Hotel
#7 of 58 in Split
503 reviews
0.2 mi away
Heritage Hotel Antique Split
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Divota Apartment Hotel
0.7 mi away
Dioklecijan Hotel & Residence
0.4 mi away
Hotel Marul
Hotel Marul
#4 of 58 in Split
253 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Luxe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Luxe

Address: Kralja Zvonimira 6, Split 21000, Croatia
Region: Croatia > Dalmatia > Split-Dalmatia County > Split
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 58 Hotels in Split
Price Range: £64 - £267 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Luxe 4*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
It's hard to imagine that in the same place where a factory was built almost 100 years ago today stands Dalmatia's most exciting and fashionable boutique hotel. Within steps of the ancient city of Split you can now enjoy old world charm and state of the art luxury. Hotel Luxe features comfortable and modern rooms, a cozy wellness area, dining room and lobby bar with a view of the city life of Split. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Hotels.com, LoveHolidays, Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Luxe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing