We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Pricy maybe, but extremely nice”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Luxe

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Luxe
Ranked #7 of 57 Hotels in Split
Certificate of Excellence
Moscow, Russia
Level Contributor
29 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Pricy maybe, but extremely nice”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 September 2012

We stayed one night at this hotel, which is above our preferred price range, but we did not feel that we were burned. The public area is compact but nicely laid out and decorated, and our room was spacious with a very usable balcony. Decor in the room was punchy and cheerful, pretty much as the pictures show. All the amenities were in place. The inclusive breakfast was quite good and varied.

We actually wished we could have stayed longer to enjoy the spa in the basement and the happy hour drinks on our balcony via room service. It is a pleasing enough place to recommend to others and for us to repeat if we are ever in Split again. The location is just about ideal for seeing the sights and enjoying the restaurants near the water. We were well located to walk to the ferries to the islands as well. The staff was very accommodating, and their recommendations were quite valuable.

But for the price, relatively high for us, this would merit five stars.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WilliamWescott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

622 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    363
    210
    36
    10
    3
See reviews for
104
314
40
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (130)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
48 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 September 2012

Really great hotel. The staff were friendly and helpful. The room was modern and quirky. Great location. I thought it may have been noisy being situated on what seemed to be a busy junction, but didn't notice any extra noise. Only thing that would have made it amazing would have been a pool! Would certainly recommend.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rookayj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lincoln
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 September 2012

We booked this hotel to celebrate our 20th wedding anniversary in May of this year, unfortunately my mother-in-law was taken very ill and my wife was unable to go.... I was going to cancel but at my wifes insistence, I went with a mate....
We arrived at the hotel to a warm welcome and great relief that they had got the e-mail changing our booked double room to a twin, we're not that good a mates....
The hotel is exactly as described, funky and fresh, just what you expect from a boutique hotel, and a lot of attention to detail, the room being ultra clean and very cool.
The breakfast was excellent for our tastes but I allways like to go for the continental breakfast when away, prompting my mate to say that it was the best breakfast he'd had in a hotel for a long time.
We used the spa, without any treatments, and the robes/ slippers were a nice touch, very relaxing after a long day strolling the streets of Split, drinking at the excellent and very friendly street bars and mandatory people watching......
I would love to go back with my wife, and so would my mate, to enjoy what we should have had, I know that both wives would love it, Split and the warmth of the Croatian people.
I highly recomend this hotel and it deserves it's reputation.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cuppodelmondo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Omsk, Russia
Level Contributor
99 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 157 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 September 2012

We stayed there for 4 days in August. It's really the best choice if you want to live in the center of the city not far from sightseeing attactions and a lot of places to eat. The hotel stands out by its design and service.

"+" location, design, wonderful staff (very friendly, ready to help), free wi-fi in rooms (they give you a password when you check-in), free parking (parking in Croatia is a nightmare and it could be pricy in the citycenter - around 1,3 euro per hour); good breakfast

"-" fungus in the corners around our bathtub (room 403) (it's disgusting for the hotel of this class and price); although we put a 'DO NOT Disturb' sign on the door before going out for a day (we didn't finish unpacking and there were our belongings all over the room) the hotel staff entered the room to check the mini-bar; a small window in the corner of the room (we had a stanard room with a sea view, but sea view was limited because of the elevator cabin); unpleasant smell of burned oil and fried fish coming from a nearby pizzeria (you won't have a chance to enjoy fresh sea breeze coming into you room at night).

But all the advantages of this hotel make over for some minor problems (except fungus, probably it was just in our room). We would definitely recommend it.

Room Tip: Sea view without balcony is limited, if possible book a sea view with a balcony room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Elena A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
109 reviews
108 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 262 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 August 2012

It was a pleasure to stay at Hotel Luxe. The location is excellent, a stone's throw from the port and the old town. Unlike accommodations within the pedestrian-only old town, the Luxe can be reached by taxi so you won't have to carry your luggage any distance. The hotel is in a renovated building but is contemporary "boutique hotel" in style. All the rooms and public spaces have a modern, gleaming white finish, accented here and there with a touch of purple. The rooms are small but functional and beautifully designed, with comfortable beds and well equipped bathrooms. Higher floors have better views over the port and parts of the city. There is free wi fi in the rooms. A good continental breakfast is included. A special feature of the hotel is the excellent service from the staff. At the reception desk, Ana is a marvel of courtesy and efficiency.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank IanWriter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helsinki, Finland
Level Contributor
51 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2012

Hotel Luxe is a bit pricy, but definetely worth of the value. I was a bit sceptical beforehand about Luxe, due to all praising reviews. Thankfully hotel apperared to be excellent.

We stayed in this hotel five nights in August 2012. We had a "Superiour room with a sea view" on the third floor.

We found the staff very helpful. Also the rooms were very modern. Our room had a balcony towards the harbour, and the view was stunning. Location was also perfect: hotel is nearby the Old town, harbour and train/bus-station. Thankfully it is not too close, so you wont hear the noise.

Altogether Luxe is still quite small. Once you walk out of the front door you´re in the middle of crowded street. Hotel is a perfect choice for a couples, but families with active children should probably consider another place.

Pros:
+ Location. Nearby all the action, but not too close.
+ Modern and clean.
+ Very helpful staff.
+ Silent, although the Old town is nearby.

Cons:
- Breakfast area is rather small and crowded.
- Our room had a shower window towards the bed and the windows of nearby private house were towards our balcony. More demanding and conservative guests may find these solutions annoying. This was´nt a problem to us.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mualimanmatkaajat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Larkspur, CA
Level Contributor
23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2012

Stayed 2 nights. Wonderful location; close to Diocletian's Palace and close to inner city beaches. Wonderful view of water at the port. Well laid out large room with modern colorful design elements and a decent balcony. Good bathroom with sparkly pebbly wall and good bath products. Flat screen TV; wonderful for watching the Olympics. Soft purple blankets; my son went nuts (they should sell these!) Best breakfast of our entire Hungarian/Croatian/Montenegrin tour. Wonderful croissants and crusty breads and rolls. Good cheeses and proscuitto and salami. Fruits and grilled veggies and anchovies. Great capuccino and hot chocolate machine. Very helpful reception staff especially Maja who recommended restaurants and planned our drive from Split to Korcula beautifully.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AlisonLarkspur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Split hotels
0.6 mi away
Divota Apartment Hotel
1.4 mi away
Radisson Blu Resort Split
0.3 mi away
Cornaro Hotel
Cornaro Hotel
#4 of 57 in Split
4.5 of 5 bubbles 312 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Palace Judita Heritage Hotel
0.2 mi away
Antique Split Luxury Rooms
0.7 mi away
Dioklecijan Hotel & Residence
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Luxe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Luxe

Property: Hotel Luxe
Address: Kralja Zvonimira 6, Split 21000, Croatia
Region: Croatia > Dalmatia > Split-Dalmatia County > Split
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 57 Hotels in Split
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Luxe 4*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
It's hard to imagine that in the same place where a factory was built almost 100 years ago today stands Dalmatia's most exciting and fashionable boutique hotel. Within steps of the ancient city of Split you can now enjoy old world charm and state of the art luxury. Hotel Luxe features comfortable and modern rooms, a cozy wellness area, dining room and lobby bar with a view of the city life of Split. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, Ebookers, Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotels.com, Odigeo, TravelUp, LoveHolidays, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Luxe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing