We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very cool”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Luxe

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Luxe
Ranked #7 of 57 Hotels in Split
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Very cool”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 September 2013

I spent 2 nights in this hotel mid August with my boyfriend before we travelled on to some of the islands. It was a pleasant experience - cool, calm and clean. At 450 EUR for both nights it's pretty pricey compared to other possible options but it was worth it for a good couple of nights kip. The room was a decent size with an unusual perspex bathroom wall which meant that the bathroom effectively opened up into the bedroom - voyeuristic indeed! Staff were helpful enough. I booked in for a massage too which was relaxing.

Pros

Great spa in basement
Air con (although would be nice if it could go even cooler!)
Great continental breakfast (although suggest the fruit platter is refilled more frequently during busiest time)
Excellent location
Free WIFI
Towels, robes, slippers provided - as you'd expect at this price.

Cons

Spa is lovely but there is no swimming pool. Gym is immaculate although only a couple of bits of equipment.
We had an awful view from our room (102)! Suggest others ask for higher floors as our balcony was blocked by another building, dead in front.
The water bottle provided in the room isn't free - it's expensive. Go to Tommys supermarket round the back.

Room Tip: Ask for highest floor possible with a decent view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Akkertroll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

622 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    363
    211
    36
    10
    2
See reviews for
103
314
41
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (130)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Braintree, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
90 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 September 2013

I will start with the not quite. Hotel Luxe was the only hotel out of the 5 we stayed at that made no effort to address my wife's gluten-free needs despite having been told 2 months in advance about it. In fact the receptionist was very unhelpful. Every other hotel went out of their way to ensure they had bread that was gluten-free without having to even be asked for it. If they could all provide it then why not Hotel Luxe. This was VERY disappointing. Luckily my wife had her own bread as we stayed there at the beginning of our holiday and it was still fresh. The hotel really should do better.

Now the perfect bits. The Hotel Luxe is in a ideal location for visiting the main part of Split. If you get the chance then book the Suite with Seaview on the 5th floor. As soon as you enter the room you are hit by the view through the large windows facing you of the rooftops, train station, port, Adriatic Sea and the islands. Simply stunning. You could sit there all day watching the world go by and not get bored. And the sunsets are amazing.

The room is great. Spacious, clean and everything in order. No coatings there and good air conditioning.

Breakfast was fine and the staff were helpful. Parking is a big bonus and not nearly as bad as other reviews say. Recommend visiting the town, walking right round to the marina for cocktails on the sea front and visiting Brac and Hvar.

If they addressed the gluten-free issue we would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bezzer1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LuxeSplit, General Manager at Hotel Luxe, responded to this review, 4 September 2013
Dear Mr. Bezzer1,

above all I want to apologize for our staff ignorance; it is absolutely inappropriate.
I've looked at all communication and I'm very disappointed on how my colleague responded to your mail and request. She is new on board and didn't follow clear instructions and procedures.
We had several non-gluten requests and many other special requests that we've always fulfilled and that's why it's even more disappointing that no action was taken.

I'll make sure to provide her with additional training and education; I can assure you it won't happen again.
Please take my sincere apology and thank you to address this matter through your review. It will help us be better and pay more attention to our guests requests and needs.

On the other notes, I'm glad you've enjoyed views and comfort of our best DeLuxe suite and that all other staff was helpful.

Most cordially,

Josip Culic
hotel manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 August 2013

Great Location between Beach and Center
Very Unique designed hotel that has funky & modern furniture theme
The staff is profession, friendly and extremely helpful .
Definitely book in it if we visit Split again

Room Tip: We had most basic room and it was lovely
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nadim N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Switzerland
Level Contributor
307 reviews
90 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 188 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 August 2013

We spent one night in this hotel in the context of an 18-days trip (15 hotels) through the western Balkans. Ideally located near the Diocletian Palace with private parking, this boutique hotel is very tastefully styled (as we learned, the owner’s wife supervised the whole design) and the rooms are comfortable and very well equipped. However offering a room with “sea view”, when the view occurs through a tiny window (see picture) is impertinent. And I don’t blame so much the hotel (if you once decided that you want a decent place with some comfort and sea view in Croatia, you will have to pay the crazy prices the Croatians ask for) as the architect and designer, who decided to provide this tiny hole for a window, when he had a whole wall in his disposal… One light in the bathroom and one fluorescent lamp above the window were burnt; the twin beds were quite narrow. The breakfast buffet was excellent and varied; the breakfast room (an extension of the lobby) can be crowded at peak hours. Charming and very helpful receptionists.

Room Tip: Make sure that if you pay for sea view, you also get it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Konstantin F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LuxeSplit, General Manager at Hotel Luxe, responded to this review, 4 September 2013
Dear KonstantinF,

thank you for taking a time to write a review. We are taking very seriously all guests comments and always trying to adopt suggestions that are reasonable and that others will benefit from.

I agree that view from your room is not ideal sea view. We had similar comments from few other guests about few other rooms and we've decided to take action about it.

We're preparing revised room categorization (room types and descriptions) and pricing so that it better matches "real" view and expectations.
We plan to have it all ready and live before end of year and I hope it'll help all our future guests to better decide about what they want and what to expect from particular room.

Ones again thank you for your feedback and please let me know if you decide to visit us again, so I can allocate you best sea view room available!

With kind regards,

Josip Culic
hotel manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, England
Level Contributor
43 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 August 2013 via mobile

Loved the breakfast. Best on our trip. Loved the room. Great area. Wellness spa was lovely. Enjoyed the area and lobby too. Gym is poor though and lacking as only has one machine and some weights. I would expect cross trainer and treadmill as a minimum.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BertieWertie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Level Contributor
56 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 August 2013

We spent two nights at the hotel. Very convenient location just a five minute walk to the old town. Rooms are bright and clean, excelente breakfast and a very friendly staff. Would definitely return. Strongly recommended.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank edurath67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beirut
Level Contributor
82 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2013

I stayed in this hotel for only one night.
The location of the hotel is excellent, just few minutes walk from the old down town and port.The furniture in this hotel is very modern, trendy and stylish but not really my style.
Some details can even be bothering as the bathroom with a big glass overlooking the room itself and a curtain inside the room, controllable from the room not from inside the bathroom. So it is not the ideal scenario for some intimacy, privacy in the bathroom.
When you access you room the sign at the entrance of your room get red lighted... Does this remind you something?
The bed are comfortable but rooms very small. It is a real "Boutique" Ho

Room Tip: It seems that some rooms have a balcony but ours didn't
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NOUR F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Split hotels
0.6 mi away
Divota Apartment Hotel
1.4 mi away
Radisson Blu Resort Split
0.3 mi away
Cornaro Hotel
Cornaro Hotel
#4 of 57 in Split
4.5 of 5 bubbles 312 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Palace Judita Heritage Hotel
0.2 mi away
Antique Split Luxury Rooms
0.7 mi away
Dioklecijan Hotel & Residence
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Luxe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Luxe

Property: Hotel Luxe
Address: Kralja Zvonimira 6, Split 21000, Croatia
Region: Croatia > Dalmatia > Split-Dalmatia County > Split
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 57 Hotels in Split
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Luxe 4*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
It's hard to imagine that in the same place where a factory was built almost 100 years ago today stands Dalmatia's most exciting and fashionable boutique hotel. Within steps of the ancient city of Split you can now enjoy old world charm and state of the art luxury. Hotel Luxe features comfortable and modern rooms, a cozy wellness area, dining room and lobby bar with a view of the city life of Split. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Expedia, TripOnline SA, TravelUp, LoveHolidays, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Luxe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing