We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Clean and refreshing” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Villa Olea

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Villa Olea
Ranked #45 of 164 Split B&B and Inns
Detroit, Michigan
Level Contributor
80 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“Clean and refreshing”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 August 2012 via mobile

Our last minute reservation was no problem. We stayed in the "fig" room. The room had nice new furniture and a small but nice bathroom. I think they ought to update to duvets but that's just me. Bed was comfortable. The room was basic, but in a classy way and the AC was amazing. Good location on a quiet street. Good for a short stay of a few days.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Heather Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

40 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    17
    13
    7
    2
    1
See reviews for
1
13
8
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2012

This small hotel is nicely situated in the centre of Split, a walking distance from all you need on vacation - museums, restaurants & bars, entertainment, and beach (20 mins walk). But excellent mark is well deserved by the personnel - helpful, smart, attentive, respectful, with great command of English - everything you would expect from a luxury service, although this hotel is only 3 stars one. The only missing thing is a view from windows that just doesn't exist due to ground floor location. Otherwise it is an excellent choice for all kinds of travelers. Thank you Villa Olea and thank you Anita:)

Stayed August 2012, travelled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank Natalia K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Split
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 August 2012

just few meters from the old city of Split, ideal to enjoy some time there and to discover the historical part of Split.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank laura a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
30 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 July 2012

The location is perfect, steps to the palace. The rooms are very clean and the lady who runs it is very nice and helpful, her staff were equally friendly and helpful. The room had a full king bed and the AC worked very well.

There are a few negatives. The shower was not great. Room 114 had a problem with drainage. The staff was very accommodating and moved us to a new room. However, the shower head in that room was cracked. Not a big deal but it made showering a bit difficult.

Another negative is that there is no person at the hotel 24 hours. For example our flight was late and we got in at midnight. No one was there. We called the number on the door and they sent someone to let us in. It was a bit stressful arriving in a foreign country but it all worked out in the end.

It was also a little pricey given that no food was offered and no staff around at night.

That said the rooms were very nice and the location was great. Would reccomend it.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JeremyFromCanada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
29 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 July 2012

Great location, great rooms with comfy beds but showers don't drain well because of the old piping in the building, there's no 24 hour concierge so if you arrive late you have to ask in advance them to wait for you which they will. The staff is super nice and friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jennifer W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 September 2011

Just a few short minutes and a block and a half from the main entrance to Diocletian's Palace, the Villa Olea appears unassuming from the outside, but inside it is surprisingly comfortable. The staff is very friendly and helpful. We were fearful that it would be noisy, but our fears proved to be unfounded. If you travel with bicycles, it has a safe and private alleyway in the rear that is perfect for storage. There are no refrigerators in the room, but the staff was most agreeable to keeping some wine for us in the proprietors's refrigerator and were at the ready to retrieve it when we asked. (There is a smallish grocery store next door that has a supply of wine as well as other of life's necessities.) A downside, but a criticism not unique to this establishment, is the lack of on-site parking. There is a public parking lot about a block and a half away that charges 120 kuna per day, but if you're both patient and lucky, you may find some free street parking nearby.

Room Tip: Ask for a room down the hallway from the main entrance. With pele coming and going through the fron...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Markalong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pinner
Level Contributor
36 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 August 2011

The Villa rooms are just 100m outside the Old City of split on a quiet road so the location cannot be beat. The room was nice if basic and quite expensive though

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JonKalisch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Split hotels
0.2 mi away
Apartments Gajeta
Apartments Gajeta
#19 of 57 in Split
4.5 of 5 bubbles 202 reviews
0.0 mi away
Villa Olea 1
Villa Olea 1
#24 of 164 in Split
5.0 of 5 bubbles 23 reviews
0.0 mi away
Sleep Split
Sleep Split
#1 of 164 in Split
5.0 of 5 bubbles 204 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Apartments Centrum Split
Apartments Centrum Split
#50 of 439 in Split
5.0 of 5 bubbles 21 reviews
0.1 mi away
Bastion Luxury Rooms
Bastion Luxury Rooms
#71 of 164 in Split
4.0 of 5 bubbles 20 reviews
0.1 mi away
Starlight Luxury Rooms
Starlight Luxury Rooms
#26 of 164 in Split
4.5 of 5 bubbles 65 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Olea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Olea

Property: Villa Olea
Address: Sinjska 5, Split 21000, Croatia
Region: Croatia > Dalmatia > Split-Dalmatia County > Split
Amenities:
Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #45 of 164 B&Bs / Inns in Split
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Villa Olea 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Villa Olea is a newly opened luxurious residence which has been built in such a way that the original stone walls and the supporting beams have been integrated in the rustically furnished interior, in order to evoke the spirit of this 1700-year-old imperial city. The residence consists of 8 luxurious rooms, furnished with the exceptional hand-made solid wooden furniture, which is perfectly incorporated with the original stone walls from the 15th century. Despite our wish to bring to life the spirit of the past centuries, we haven't forgotten the needs of modern living. Each room has been provided with the air conditioner, LCD TV, Wi-Fi and other modern technologies. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK) and Agoda so you can book your Villa Olea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing