We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Poor value”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Palace Judita Heritage Hotel
Ranked #2 of 57 Hotels in Split
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 16 August 2012

We stayed for 2 nights in August as part of our trip to Split. Good things: Location, very central on busy central square, close to port and riva where most people arrive by boat/taxi. I would echo other comments about high stairs being an issue if you had mobility problems. Luckily, the staff were very helpful getting our suitcases up to reception from the courtyard. Good sized room with very comfortable bed & pillows, and bathroom with good shower. (However, the sleep quality was let down by the air-con, see below). Friendly and charming reception staff, also helpful by email before we arrived. But the place was let down by the following points: It was hard to keep the room cool without having to endure a very strong cold draught whilst in bed because the noisy air-con was right over the bed. The room was big, so it was a pity the air-con could not to located elswhere. The safe was ridiculously tiny: barely big enough to hold a few papers and too small to hold a net-book or ipad. This made it farly useless. Very limited toiletries for a 4 star: some shower gel and shampoo in worn-out looking holder, no soap, tissues, cotton-buds, shower-caps and so on. There was inadequate storage space: a wardrobe and table but no drawers. So it would be difficult to unpack for long stays. The lighting was not great and there was a very bright green emergency light over the door which made it hard to sleep. Eventually we managed to block some of the light by placing some dark and elasticated men's underwear over it. The breakfast was poor, all show, e.g. a big fruit display which was all unripe. There was bread but no pastries. It is a very small hotel 4 star but the service at breakfast was terrible. For example, it took ages to get a coffee and was hard to get a refill. This could be easily rectified by employing someone efficient to serve the breakfast. Overall at 195 Euros per night it was poor value. Also, beware of long cancellation period if booking via the hotel booking websites. Usually the cancellation period is up to 24 or 48 hours, but in this case it was 7 days. Note, I only rate the service average because the shambolic situation at breakfast. In fact the rest of the staff were great.

Room Tip: Beware the long cancellation period.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank bedandtable
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (650)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

518 - 524 of 650 reviews

Reviewed 18 July 2012

The B & B is in the public square which is a great location for all the old town sites (which we so enjoyed- it was like being transported through time to the days of the ancient Romans). The hosts and staff were great! Room 4 has the only balcony. We enjoyed the cleaniliness of the HUGE room and attention the hosts gave to us. There are stairs up to the main area of the hotel and rooms (FYI- if you have difficulty walking stairs.) Also, our bathroom shower was very tight. However, the historical setting and beautifully re modeled room made up for it!

Room Tip: Room 4 has a balcony!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank York476
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2012

Because of the timing of our flight home we needed to stay in Split after travelling back from Hvar. We decided to stay 2 nights so we could explore Split too. The Palace Judita is a perfect location if you want to do the same. It is only 5 mins walk from the catamaran, and in a central location. Because you will be hot after dragging your luggage off the boat I suggest you cross the road, have a drink in one of the many bars on the seafront and then ask the staff for directions to the square. The rooms are renovated to a very high standard and the staff very helpful. With the windows shut there is no noise from the square, but in the morning it was nice to open the window and see the city wake up for the day. In fact in the end we did little sightseeing because it was just too hot in early July. The beach is about 20mins walk so we spent the day there and wandered the town in the evenings. Would we stay here again if we were spending a night in Split, YES!

Room Tip: If you can get the room with the balcony it would be a bonus.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ljm250
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2012

loved staying at palace - came back for a second night. Andrija and Marija were great hosts. lovely rooms and nicely fitted out bathrooms. relaxed breakfast in courtyard setting. Great location for old town and wharf for ferries to islands. Double glazing so rooms had ability to be quiet or you could open up windows to opera playing in courtyard. they organized laundry, early breakfasts and great recommendations for dinner.

Room Tip: Sorry no fitness room or swimming pool - couldn't delete
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jacky9b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2012

I loved the Palace Judita in Split, Croatia. It is a beautiful boutique hotel located steps from Diocletian's Palace gate. The location is not only excellent, the rooms were beautiful and spacious, the breakfast was delicious but most importantly the owners and Andrea (whom I wanted to take with me, was the funniest and nicest person we met on our trip. I threatened to smuggle him in my suitcase :)). They went above and beyond to help with any of our needs, including dragging our suitcases through old town Split and arranging for our ferry tickets.
I give them a 10 out of 10 and would highly recommend this hotel if you can get reservations.
It might not be the best choice for those who have trouble walking and climbing stairs.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jackie F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2012

We stayed at the Palace Judita rooms on a week travel around Croatia. The Judita rooms are in a fabulous setting right outside the Diocletian Place walls in the People's Square. The location is perfect for exploring the city or for getting to the ferry for any one of the islands.

The rooms themselves are nicely decorated in a modern but classic style and are impeccably kept. Marija and her assistant were accommodating and on hand to help with any queries.

Breakfast was included and served in the outside terrace. There was plenty of choice or continental, omelettes and fresh fruits.

Parking is provided about ten minute walk away and was easy to find with Sav nav. Marija had offered directions and help with luggage however we found the hotel ourselves relatively easily after acquiring a map.

Can not recommend this hotel enough.

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TanTanTravelling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2012

What a wonderful place. We only got to stay one night as we didn't plan to stay long in Split, but this small boutique hotel was perfect. The rooms were recently and tastefully renovated, the property is small and in an old Palace building right on one of the main squares so the views were fantastic. The proprietors were extremely helpful and accommodating. Fantastic spot.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jon P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Split hotels
0.1 mi away
Heritage Hotel Antique Split
0 mi away
Piazza Heritage Hotel
0 mi away
Villa Split Heritage Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Radisson Blu Resort Split
0.1 mi away
Cornaro Hotel
Cornaro Hotel
#5 of 57 in Split
505 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Luxe
Hotel Luxe
#8 of 57 in Split
710 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Palace Judita Heritage Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palace Judita Heritage Hotel

Address: Narodni Trg 4, Split 21000, Croatia
Region: Croatia > Dalmatia > Split-Dalmatia County > Split
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 57 Hotels in Split
Price Range: £133 - £377 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Palace Judita Heritage Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Palace Judita Heritage Hotel, a hotel for lovers of culture, is located in the renaissance palace on the main square of Split, next to Diocletian's Palace. It offers luxurious rooms and free parking nearby. These elegant rooms feature exposed stone walls, elegant furniture, parquet flooring, and luxurious bathrooms including bathrobes and slippers. All rooms are air-conditioned and free Wi-Fi is available in the entire hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Palace Judita Heritage Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing