We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good choice”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Palace Judita Heritage Hotel
Ranked #2 of 56 Hotels in Split
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 22 October 2013

Stayed for one night only and we were really looking forward to the stay. Online pictures of rooms looked amazing, fantastic reviews and n. 1 hotel in Split on tripadvisor, what can go wrong?
Well, nothing did really, but feel like something was missing... Probably build up a very high expectation following reading of all the reviews. Hotel had all any good hotels should - clean well presented rooms, friendly and helpful staff, tasty breakfast - that is after all what we are paying for in any given hotel - and perhaps a bit more in small details like rooms being named by locals with their story attached to it and the electric car, but truly nothing exciting to rave about.
Bath in our room had seen better days and there were numerous water stains on the ceiling in both the room as well as the bathroom.
Breakfast was very tasty and there was a wide selection on offer considering the 8 rooms only hotel. City room tax was added on the top of the price per room agreed upon booking, very small amount, but does not look good from the point of principle.
Feel bad for scoring so low but truly did not find this place as special as anticipated.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank GinaA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (637)
There are newer reviews for Palace Judita Heritage Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

419 - 425 of 637 reviews

Reviewed 21 October 2013

We review this wonderful small hotel even though we should not, - we would like to have it for ourselves and undiscovered by dollar tourist! Outstanding staff and always with humor and engagement in efforts to meet the guests' wishes. Fine service and fun to be picked up in the golf car by the parking, - very presidential-like. The decor is so far from the Hilton and Marriott, as Split is from New York, personal style, but super delicious and ultra clean. Welcome wine in the room which we drank on our balcony overlooking the square and city life. We will definitely return. Thanks to Maria and Andrea.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 3480Charlotte
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 October 2013

We got a little (a lot) lost trying to find the hotel. When we finally got close (2 hours late), we called the hotel and Andrija came and rescued us. He showed us where to park and delivered us by golf-cart to the hotel. He was giving us valuable information along the way. We were blown away when we got to the charming hotel and amazing room. There was a bottle of wine waiting for us and a bowl of figs. Marija checked us in and gave us the name of a wonderful restaurant to have an authentic, Dalmation meal. The breakfast was superb. Eggs made to order and fresh fruits, veggies, breads and cheese. Andrija made sure we ate a balanced meal each morning before venturing out. He was above and beyond any host we have ever had. The day we were returning our rental car, he walked with us to our car, showed us where to fill it with gas, guided us back to the rental car place and stayed until we had things started with the Hertz representative. Everything about this hotel was top notch!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carol B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 October 2013

We stayed here on a 25th anniversary trip to Croatia. Such fun to be picked up in an electric cart and whisked through the narrow limestone streets to the front door -- no cars in the city center. Each and every member of the staff could not have been more helpful and personable. We loved our room looking out over a picturesque Renaissance era square that had a gate at one end you could stroll through into Diocletian's Palace. Our breakfasts were delicious -- be sure to ask for an omelette, they make them light and filled with ham and bits of fresh veggies.

Room Tip: I would definitely make sure to have a room facing the square -- but it just may be that all rooms d...
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Heather W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 October 2013

Booked this hotel very last minute because of an itinerary change. Very thankful that we did.

We booked it through booking.com and the next day we get email from hotel to welcome us and ask about our arrival time so they can pick us up from bus station. Andrija, who picked us up, gave us nothing but warm welcome and joy from beginning to last minute.

Room was spacious and elegant, service impeccable, breakfast delicious. The hotel itself makes us wanna stay longer :)

Great experience and will definitely stay again.

Room Tip: our room with terrace was really nice!
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Yuli_TW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2013

We stayed at Palace Judita for one night, before heading for Hvar. I personally think we would have been quite happy to stay here for 2 or 3 nights. Although the main event is the Diocletians Palace, there are people watching opportunities, day trips etc, that could easily make Split a nice place to relax for a few days.

Specifically, the Judita Palace is a tiny (8 rooms I think) but impeccably done property, that instantly feels very comfortable. The reception could not have been warmer, with a welcome drink, a scolding for handling our own luggage, and a clear invitation to ask for help with absolutely anything we required. There is a golf cart that is used to help people get where they need to go, and for us, that was to the catamaran the next morning.

The room was very comfortable, excellent bed, fast internet, very good size. Even a heated floor in the bathroom, that would probably have been welcome if it had been a little cooler. There was a nice book in the room, with an interesting history of the property, even with a history of previous occupants of that very space, from centuries past. Loved it. The breakfast, and the breakfast room, was lovely.

Andrea (manager?) is in my opinion a big reason for the success of this property. He is genuinely warm and helpful, and bends over backwards to make your stay pleasant. We were thrilled when we were checking out - a sincere compliment about the homemade jam at breakfast (delicious - made by Andrea!) resulted in a generous care package to send us on our way. Now, back at home, we remember Split, Andrea, and Judita Palace with every delicious bite.

The only thing I would recommend, especially if you are staying a few days, would be to try to get one of the rooms, as in the picture, that actually looks out on to an open space. Since the hotel is built into an ancient building, wedged between other ancient buildings, it is inevitable that at least some of the rooms have no view. If natural light is important to you, then I think that could be a little depressing after a few days.

Room Tip: Room with a view.
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank suec89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2013

Thank you Andrija and all you other guys at Palaca Judita, you are the best!!! You all made our stay at your beautiful hotel fun and a "home away frome home". The room was exquisite with a balcony facing the picturesque courtyard, and with a exellent weiw over the main "trg" of the old and lovely city of Split (which the hotel is located at). We will be back soon!!!

Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank E S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Split hotels
0.1 mi away
Heritage Hotel Antique Split
1.6 mi away
Radisson Blu Resort Split
0.1 mi away
Cornaro Hotel
Cornaro Hotel
#6 of 56 in Split
460 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Piazza Heritage Hotel
0.3 mi away
Divota Apartment Hotel
0.3 mi away
Hotel Luxe
Hotel Luxe
#7 of 56 in Split
687 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Palace Judita Heritage Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palace Judita Heritage Hotel

Address: Narodni Trg 4, Split 21000, Croatia
Phone Number:
Region: Croatia > Dalmatia > Split-Dalmatia County > Split
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 56 Hotels in Split
Price Range: £69 - £300 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Palace Judita Heritage Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Palace Judita Heritage Hotel, a hotel for lovers of culture, is located in the renaissance palace on the main square of Split, next to Diocletian's Palace. It offers luxurious rooms and free parking nearby. These elegant rooms feature exposed stone walls, elegant furniture, parquet flooring, and luxurious bathrooms including bathrobes and slippers. All rooms are air-conditioned and free Wi-Fi is available in the entire hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Palace Judita Heritage Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing