We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good stay here!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hostel Split Backpackers
Ranked #17 of 493 Speciality Lodging in Split
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Good stay here!”
Reviewed 7 August 2014

Great hostel, full of young backpackers so very easy to meet people!
Rooms were nice and clean with a shared bathroom and kitchen so we could cook for ourselves some nights (although the stove wasn't working so we had to cook our pasta in the microwave!)

Perfect location only 10 minutes walk away from the main centre, train station and ferry port. 15 minutes walk away from the beach.

The only negative was that we were told we had to be quiet by half 10 at night! so we had to cut the pre drinks short and go to a bar for a bit as we were kicked out by 11. Wouldn't expect this in a young persons hostel!

Apart from that, nice stay here- would recommend!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank L0z01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

119 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    69
    36
    10
    2
    2
See reviews for
5
23
29
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2014

Hostel was in ideal location: 5 min walk from main bus and train station, and less than 5 min walk from city center! Hostel was clean and came with free towels, linens, and wifi! Also the staff was extremely friendly and went above and beyond what they needed to do to help us! Overall, I had a great experience!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hillary C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bishops Stortford, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2014

This was the 3rd or 4th hostel I stayed at in Croatia. The previous ones had been excellent, with great facilities and staff who went above and beyond. This place fell a bit short of that. The location is brilliant, very close to the bus station/ferries as well as the old town and a nice beach. Sadly, the dorm rooms and bathrooms were shabby at best. There are two showers between all the dorms, one of which was blocked when I stayed - its never a good sign if theres a plunger left next to it. They were generally dirty where the plugs blocked up and whoever used it hadn't bothered to clean up after themselves. The beds weren't great, you don't get much in terms of bedding for your money which was a bit of an issue when they come around at night and crank up the air-con. The lockers provided were large and gave plenty of space for baggage, but really that seemed to be a standard thing in other places I stayed. The kitchen area is pretty small and the only place to meet other people - and the less said about the pc the better!
More expensive than other hostels offering far more. If I'd had access to the internet between visits I would have changed my booking to somewhere else.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 10bobrev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oslo, Norway
Level 6 Contributor
134 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 July 2014

Had a private room. Soft beds, quiet A/C, very central location, good prices, free WiFi, helpful staff and a focus on sleeping, not partying, make this a good choice if you're transiting in Split for a few days. I found the hostel to be clean and enjoyable, and I'd stay again. They have a guest kitchen that can be used too, and several grocery stores and bakeries in the close vicinity.

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Gardai123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for one night in a double room.

When we arrived, we soon discovered that our room was actually a further 10 minutes up the road from the hostel. At first I was extremely unimpressed, as it felt like false advertising with the location. However, once we saw the quality & cleanliness of our room, I was very happy with the price we had paid & would stay again.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Glaze21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 6 June 2014 via mobile

Arrived by boat, very easy to find from the harbour. Really well sign posted and close to the palace and markets (even a 24 hour bakery next door) room was clean with lockers, bathroom and even a computer. Kitchen can be used by everyone too. Great welcoming reception too. Will recommend to friends.

Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank SarahSpud90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
249 reviews
74 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 127 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2014 via mobile

The staff and location of this hostel were great. It was also very clean. However the lay out of the hostel means that all rooms are incredibly noisy and the hardwood floor everywhere means sound travels without any muffling! If you are going to party and stay up late with traveller friends this is probably perfect for the price but we were looking for somewhere peaceful and quiet and we did not get that! I'm sure this is great for some people but as a slightly older traveller I was not that person!

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank danigross88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Split hotels
1.3 mi away
Radisson Blu Resort Split
0.0 mi away
Hotel Luxe
Hotel Luxe
#7 of 55 in Split
669 reviews
0.4 mi away
Cornaro Hotel
Cornaro Hotel
#6 of 55 in Split
422 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Divota Apartment Hotel
0.8 mi away
Split Apartments - Peric Hotel
0.5 mi away
Tchaikovsky Hostel Split
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostel Split Backpackers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostel Split Backpackers

Property: Hostel Split Backpackers
Address: Kralja Zvonimira 17 | Kralja Zvonimira 17, Split 21000, Croatia
Region: Croatia > Dalmatia > Split-Dalmatia County > Split
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 493 Speciality Lodging in Split
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:1 star — Hostel Split Backpackers 1*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Opened in April 2011 Hostel Split Backpackers is one of the best hostels in Split. Our location really is in Backpackers paradise! You won’t need any sort of public transportation; either you come to Split by Boat, Bus or Train you will check in more or less in five minutes. Also; shuttle bus will drop you off practically in the same street & we are the best place to stop before you go island hoping.We are less than 5 min on foot to all cultural& natural must see sites in Split. Staying with us makes everything easier.Our hostel boasts spacious Dorms for eight and for two; also colourful Private rooms for two (with bathroom, TV and free towels) all designed to accommodate you as best as possible. This Family hostel in Split is a place you will feel comfortable, safe, relaxed and happy. Run by young locals who try to keep this place fun &friendly. Born in this city we love it, know it well and would like to share are love and knowledge with you. Hostel is just the right size so you will find it easy to make new friends & swap stories and tips with other travellers, especially if you are a solo backpacker. Do Split in Backpackers style! We Love You! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Ebookers so you can book your Hostel Split Backpackers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing