We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing Hostel, wonderful hospitality, great view! Highly recommended”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Backpackers Fairytale
Ranked #27 of 512 Speciality Lodging in Split
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 9 July 2013

Was only meant to stay two nights here but stayed an extra night because of the wonderful hospitality I encountered. Air conditioned communal area and rooms were a treat in the Heat of Split. The staff and the wonderful surroundings are what really stood out for me. Beautiful atmosphere with a lovely view of split. I'm surprised this place isn't included in my lonely planet guide. Great stay.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank conwedge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (79)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

63 - 69 of 79 reviews

Reviewed 7 July 2013 via mobile

I stayed in the 8 bed dorm for 2 nights. The room is nice, fairy spacious with a balcony and a fantastic view of the bell tower and the sea. It is a shame the balcony is not fully utilised with no seating therefore the space is under used. A wall mounted BBQ would also be great on the balcony. The rooms have modern air-con which is great because it gets hot in Croatia.

The hostel staff are helpful and try to get to know you on a first name basis which is nice. The wifi in the hostel is patchy with a weak signal in the eight bed dorm and the best signal in the living room area.

The location is ok a 15 minute walk from the beach and 10 minutes from Diocletian Palace. It's quite difficult to find at first being situated on the fifth floor of an apartment block (with no lift) but the views are good from the top. Security is pretty lacks in the hostel with the front door, hostel door and dorm door remaining unlocked for most of the day. Hostel staff are,
however present most of the day and are likely to notice something out of the ordinary.

The hostel has two bathrooms (one male, one female) the bathrooms are often busy and the hostel could do with more. The shower in the female bathroom isn't wall mounted.

Overall the hostel is a pleasant place to stay but I would not personally recommend it to friends.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Interailtraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2013

Backpacker's fairytale hostel was hands down the best hostel we stayed at in Croatia. Throughout my two weeks in Croatia, we spent a total of 5 nights at BFH (Split is a transit city so you'll find yourself there quite often if you're spending a while in Croatia). The rate is low, but definitely not reflected in the quality of the place. Clean beds, clean lockers, clean facilities, clean everything. The rest of the hostels in split are dungeons compared to this - BFH has the best view (no joke) in all of Split, from their ultra-pleasant balcony on the penthouse of an 8 floor building. Not even the mayor has a better view.

Finally, the staff knows how to host and make you feel instantly comfortable. This is not Hostel Part 3, this is Backpacker's Fairytale.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TravisER
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2013

I stayed in the mixed 8 person dorm. It seems like it is in a bit of a strange location at first because it is at the to floor of an apartment building (5th floor). When you go up the stairs it is a bit quiet and can get dark at night (have a torch ready). As soon as you step into the hostel however there is an inviting vibe and the people who work there are lovely. They are super helpful. The bedrooms are huge. There is a nice kitchen. Shower is spacious and hot water is good. Separate male and female bathrooms. There was a balcony in the living room as well as in the bedroom. The living area is like being at home or in someone's apartment. They have couches to lounge around in and usually i'm not comfortable in most hostels due to my unwillingness to be around loud drunken teens but this hostel had a comfy environment that was out of this world.

The place is also super super clean! I would've been happy walking around barefoot.. that is how clean it was.

Location is good.. Only a few minutes down a quiet street to get to the old town

Wi-fi didn't work in the bedroom but was ok in the living room

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Katie555k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2013

Nicely central for price and the rooms are new and clean, but generally exaggerated advertising. Hard to find. For drivers, sat nav goes to paid car park. Roads one way and busy. Parking free street side but hard to find. They do not have parking of their own.
Hostel at top of block, no lift. Doors all open, not secure. No sign on door to say it was a hostel so had to guess. Roof terrace is false advertisement. Has balconies.
Booked a 4 bed and were moved to 8 bed. Advertised a room that wasn't available - someone living in it.
No English spoken by lady on arrival, but the guy the following day was less scatty more helpful.
Wifi weak, but did have a computer.

Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
1  Thank D0Ttravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2012

backpackers fairytale was a great place to stay. it was always clean and very social. they also have a private room. the people that work there are so helpful and friendly as well. awesome stay!!! thanks antea!!!

Room Tip: if you want to be social, get a bed in the 8 dorm. but if you want your privacy there is also a priv...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jenise R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2012

Antea was awesome so friendly and Helpful with what to do and see in split!! Hostel was colourful, air coned, comfy beds and a great stay overall! Will definitely stay here again and highly recommend to anybody. Only downfall was the stairs to get to the hostel, no lift and it's on the top floor. Didn't bother us but wanted to note it to other travellers.

Room Tip: All the dorms looked spacious and comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bianca L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Split hotels
0.4 mi away
Hostel Split Backpackers
1.5 mi away
Radisson Blu Resort Split
0.3 mi away
Apartments Gajeta
Apartments Gajeta
#23 of 58 in Split
228 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Divota Apartment Hotel
0.3 mi away
Heritage Hotel Antique Split
0.4 mi away
Hotel Luxe
Hotel Luxe
#9 of 58 in Split
710 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Backpackers Fairytale? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Backpackers Fairytale

Address: Istarska 3, Split 21000, Croatia
Region: Croatia > Dalmatia > Split-Dalmatia County > Split
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 512 Speciality Lodging in Split
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A brand new hostel only 5mins walk from the Dalmatias Palace. Antea, the host is an amazing young woman and deserves all the assistance she can get to help her up and comming business. will stay with her again and reccommend her to friends in Croatia and abroad. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and HostelWorld so you can book your Backpackers Fairytale reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing