We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“My second home!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Backpackers Fairytale
Ranked #13 of 447 Speciality Lodging in Split
Split, Croatia
1 review
“My second home!!!”
Reviewed 23 May 2014

I stayed there for the whole months, because i was doing my Erasmus in Split, and every day i had feeling that i'm home. Common room is big and colorful and location of the hostel is perfect. I was enjoying every sunset on the balcony with amazing view. The hostel is clean so i didn't have feeling even for a second that bunch of other people are around. I've been in lots of hostels before this one, but any of them can't compere with Backpackers fairytale.

Room Tip: 8-bedroom have a nice balcony.. ;)
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ela E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

70 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    47
    16
    4
    1
    2
See reviews for
1
2
29
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
Reviewed 25 March 2014

I stayed in Fairytale Hostel while hitchhiking the Balkans, and this place welcomed with open arms and heart. Hostel is located in perfect location within walking distance to all of tourist attractions in Split. The rooms are quite spacious , clean and light. But what makes this hostel better than the rest is the service and the welcoming attitude from the staff. We were there in the offseason so we could hang out and have good conversations. Also the overall atmosphere of the hostel is really laid back and you really dont feel that you are in a hostel , but more like visiting a friend, and that is the greatest feeling when you are far away from home. This is the place if you want to have fun times and also to relax from travelling and just feel good and safe for a while. Highly recommend. Karlis from Latvia!

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Karlis B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Riga, Latvia
2 reviews
Reviewed 25 March 2014

This was a place where I had one of the most fantastic weekends of my long trip mostly thanks to the owner of the hostel and the wonderful people we met there than Split itself.
I've been to a lot of hostels, but this one will definetly stay in my memories as the best one so far. I'm very thankful to Antea and I can assure you that if you meet her closer, you will see what a wonderful person she is.
I had to hitchhike all Balkan countries to find such a fantastic place where you can feel yourself at home and I really hope to come back there soon!
Greetings from Latvia!
#whereisLatvia

Room Tip: Anteas room is the best one.. :D
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KarlisZemke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Almeria, Spain
Level Contributor
65 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 March 2014

I visited Split in the off-season. The hostel was almost empty, but I enjoyed meeting the other travelers. The receptionist was very welcoming. From the bus station, you can reach the hostel by walking towards the Palace and then through a large parking lot. Don't take the long way on the road. It's located on the top floor of a six or seven story building, and there's no elevator access so keep that in mind.

Room Tip: One of the 8- or 10-bed dorms has a brilliant view of Split from its balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rolltide7749
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Split, Croatia
1 review
Reviewed 25 February 2014

This hostel is just a few minute walk from the old town. Because of it's elevation it features a wonderful view over the city and the harbor from the south-west facing balcony.
The beds in the dorm rooms are the most comfortable I've had in the many hostels I've stayed in. Furthermore all the rest of the facilities are perfectly in order: nice and clean bathrooms, good internet connection, relaxed common room with computer and music, kitchen with all the necessities. Everything you'd expect from a good hostel.
The hostel owner grew up in the city and is therefore very familiar with both culture and nightlife in the area, she'll be keen to give you all the information you want.

Room Tip: All the rooms feature the same comfortable bunk beds. One of them has a balcony, one is a bit smalle...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jesper H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Split, Croatia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 February 2014

I was lucky enough to stumble across this hostel last Summer. My stay during that time was no less than amazing. I was passing through the area again some six months later and needed a break from being on the road so I dropped back in. Although it is the off season the hostel is still very welcoming and I have been able to spend time with the energetic and charismatic owner. The hostel is conveniently set a few minutes from the old town and the local market where I buy fresh fruits and vegetables daily (huge plus). The hostel sets the standard for cleanliness as well as providing a relaxed and entertaining atmosphere. If your considering hostels in Split I promise this is an Oasis in the Balkans that should not be overlooked.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ryan D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 15 January 2014

I initially booked a couple of nights at Backpackers Fairytale but ended up staying about 10 days. A really nice place, with everything you need, a little balcony and roof terrace. Always clean and tidy. Really central. Somehow the hostel only attracts really likeable, cool people and in the 10 days I was there I met a lot of great people. Staff are really friendly and helpful, especially Antea who was very welcoming and kind. Really enjoyed hanging out with her. This is the place to book!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Samuel C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Split hotels
0.4 mi away
Divota Apartment Hotel
0.4 mi away
Hotel Luxe
Hotel Luxe
#7 of 55 in Split
4.5 of 5 bubbles 635 reviews
0.2 mi away
Cornaro Hotel
Cornaro Hotel
#4 of 55 in Split
4.5 of 5 bubbles 328 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Antique Split Luxury Rooms
0.3 mi away
Tchaikovsky Hostel Split
0.4 mi away
Hostel Split Backpackers
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Backpackers Fairytale? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Backpackers Fairytale

Property: Backpackers Fairytale
Address: Istarska 3, Split 21000, Croatia
Region: Croatia > Dalmatia > Split-Dalmatia County > Split
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 447 Speciality Lodging in Split
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A brand new hostel only 5mins walk from the Dalmatias Palace. Antea, the host is an amazing young woman and deserves all the assistance she can get to help her up and comming business. will stay with her again and reccommend her to friends in Croatia and abroad. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, HostelWorld and Odigeo so you can book your Backpackers Fairytale reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing