We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Ancient and historic” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Diocletian's Palace

Diocletian's Palace
Book In Advance
More Info
US$74.64*
and up
Viator Exclusive: 'Game of Thrones' Tour in Split
Ranked #1 of 152 things to do in Split
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The ruins of the Roman Emperor Diocletian's palace date back to the late 3rd to early 4th century A.D.
Kuching, Malaysia
Level Contributor
128 reviews
81 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
“Ancient and historic”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 December 2013

Indeed it's a very ancient and historical structure. Immense and awesome. To enter its underground section, we passed by many stalls along the way. There were crowds around, local and tourists. Certain parts of the floor of the underground were wet.
The whole structure was rectangular in shape with huge watchtowers now converted for commercial purposes.
We also had the pleasure of witnessing the wonderful performance of 4 Traditional Dalmatians. Fantastic voices and music! They also had CDs on sale for 15 euro each.
After that, we went to St. Duje Cathedral, which was part of Emperior Diocletian's mausoleum. It was a memorable visit.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Teresa967
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,764 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2,990
    1,391
    315
    48
    20
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Full of history!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 November 2013

We spent one full day in Split during our cruise in the Adriatic and spent most of our time looking around Diocletian's palace. We had the benefit of a walking guide to show us places of interest, of which there were many. it's a very interesting historical site and well worth visiting. Within the palace site there many cafe bars and shops and on the beautiful waterfront nearby is a marina. It's gorgeous, go visit!

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Keith H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
93 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Living History!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 November 2013

The palace is a very neat place to see. Both in terms of what is was like in the 4th century and now to see all the people living within its walls. Great shopping, dining, museums and people watching to do here as well. Take some time here to really enjoy the history and all this place has to offer - well worth it!

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Boris M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Worht a visit”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 November 2013

If you're in Croatia you should go there and spend some time. If you haven't been to Croatia yet, this place is one of the reasons to go there.
Very very interesting place!!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Beatriz G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“the most beautiful city in the world!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 November 2013

Split is a pretty big Mediterranean city with lot of of historical monuments. The most impressive for us was Diocletian Palace - massive stone construction built in the beginning of the 4th century by Romans that has been declared a World Heritage Monument by UNESCO.

The palace has so much to offer that it is hard to navigate in only one day. We could not actually believe that people are living and renting the appartments within the walls of the Diocletian palace.

The atmosphere was always amazing – local people were more than friendly.

We will surely return to Split again and again!!!!

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank MaryDunlop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Diocletian's Palace also viewed

Split, Split-Dalmatia County
Split, Split-Dalmatia County
 

Been to Diocletian's Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing