We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Phenomenal Croatian experience”

Wine & Cheese Bar Paradox
Ranked #3 of 354 Restaurants in Split
Price range: US$10 - US$20
Cuisines: Wine Bar, European, Croatian, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Local cuisine, Bar Scene, Special Occasion Dining, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Drinks, Dinner, Breakfast, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: Paradox, Dalmatia's finest wine bar, is set in the heart of old town of Split. Paradox offers a comprehensive wine list featuring some of the best wines from Dalmatia & Croatia as well as unique selection of cheeses, charcuterie and delicatessen. The wine list features more than 100 labels of which at least 50 are available by the glass. Set in the historical surrounding of Split, Paradox, is a contemporary bar showcasing both the traditional and modern. Elm and oak furniture are set against exposed old stone and brick walls, highlighted with subtle lighting. The cozy and intimate atmosphere in the bar is contrasted by a modern cafe style terrace on the bustling square, only a stone's throw away from Diocletian's Palace.
Brisbane
Level Contributor
37 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Phenomenal Croatian experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 June 2014

We were tempted here by the trip advisor reviews, the recommendation from the divine Paula Babic who manages the apartment that we rented here and the suggestion of the waiter from Apetit where we had a great lunch,

We are bare boating for a week and needed to provision our boat. We were also very ignorant about Croatian wine and cheese , eager to learn and perennially thirsty! So we went we tasted and we were more than happy to buy.

The staff were fabulous, knowledgeable helpful and engaging. We tasted several cheeses and many wines. Albeit we bought a fair quantity for which they offer a significant discount but we tasted many more than we bought. The lovely Josip ( whose family make the most excellent goats cheese which we tasted and bought) helped us back to our apartment with a trolley.

Quite apart from the wine buying this is an excellent experience.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank RoxanneBrisbane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mila H, Sales & Marketing Manager at Wine & Cheese Bar Paradox, responded to this review, 16 June 2014
Dear Roxanne,

Thank you for taking your time to write a review about Paradox Wine & Cheese Bar here on TA which was a pleasure to read. I am glass you enjoyed or wine and cheese selections and glad that Josip was able to bring you safely home ;)

I hope you enjoyed your sailing in Croatia and time in Split. We look forward to welcoming you back here again.

Best regards,
Mila
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

919 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    685
    192
    31
    8
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
62 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Overrated”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 June 2014

Number one place in Split, and the excpectations were very high. The server tried to be helpful, but did not give any good advice on which wines to pick, nor did he ask if we were experienced wine drinkers or not. As a result we ended up with one sweet white wine, and one oak white, the taste only tasted oak and did not have any particular character. Had only the coratian cheeses been excited in flavour this could have been a descent night out. Unfortunately the cheeses were bland and mediocur, and so the experience did not meet our expectations. Hopefully this place will get a more deserved rating, and will work more with the staff, so that they can be undersanding and curious as to what type of customer who visits.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
11 Thank Fredrik B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zoran P, Owner at Wine & Cheese Bar Paradox, responded to this review, 9 June 2014
Dear Fredrik,

Thank you for coming to Wine & Cheese Bar Paradox and taking time to share your review with the fellow travelers. I am sorry to hear that you have not enjoyed yourself at Paradox and that we did not live up to your expectations. I am also sorry that you have not voiced any concerns during your time at Paradox as we would have reacted immediately and served you with different wines and cheeses as our ultimate goal is to have every single guest leaving our premises happy. I take every guest comment very seriously and especially those that are far from satisfactory as your rating of "poor" indicates.

Being number one on TA in Split for nearly 20 months and having over 200 very good and excellent reviews from guests from all over the world serves as proof that we are doing something right. We also accept that we can't live to everybody's expectations and that our way might not be to your liking. I strongly believe in the way we operate at Paradox Wine & Cheese Bar. We work very hard and put a lot of time and energy into sourcing best Dalmatian and Croatian wines and cheeses. I assure you that this is as good as it gets when it comes to our wines and cheeses. Again, if it was below your expectations I am really sorry and only hope that you will give us another chance to do better.

If you have any questions please do not hesitate to contact me. My contact details are listed below.

Sincerely,

Zoran Pejović
zoran@paradox.hr
+385998170711
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helsinki
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Wow this is something:)”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 June 2014

I must recommend this if you like GOOD local wines, GOOD service and cheese then this is for you. Nice atmosphere and overall good place to spend some time with friends.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Mark T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mila H, Sales & Marketing Manager at Wine & Cheese Bar Paradox, responded to this review, 11 June 2014
Dear Mark,

Thank you for taking your time to write such a positive review on TA. We hope to welcome you back here again for an evening with friends, wine and cheese.

Best regards,
Mila
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
boston
Level Contributor
206 reviews
102 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 148 helpful votes
“A fun experience, lovely staff”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 June 2014

A completely charming little place right in back of the theater in Split. We went to the ballet there and afterwards just wanted a little something; what we got were some delicious glasses of wine and a great plate of cheese and charcuterie from Croatia, thanks to the knowledgeable advice of the server, who definitely knew his stuff. Cute little high tables outside on the square. Perfect.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank 2travelersboston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mila H, Sales & Marketing Manager at Wine & Cheese Bar Paradox, responded to this review, 11 June 2014
Dear Guest,

I am happy to hear that you had a lovely evening in Paradox Wine & Cheese Bar after the ballet and thank you for taking your time to write such kind words here on TA.

I hope we can welcome you back here again soon to uncork and unwind.

Best regards,
Mila
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Yorkshire
Level Contributor
26 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 June 2014 via mobile

We saw this was number one on trip adviser and we both love cheese so we had to try it!! We weren't disappointed! The waiter was very knowledgable and told us all about the cheese and wine on the menu. We chose a white wine from Hvar which happened to be the cheapest on the menu...it was lovely! We had a cheese platter and some anchovies, all of which were great. The pickles/chutneys served with the cheeses were very nice and we were told to eat them with the specific cheeses as instructed or they wouldn't taste nice...they weren't wrong!! But when eaten as instructed it was all lovely!
I would definitely recommend this place. The scenery isn't much to shout about but the cheese and wine are great!

Helpful?
Thank aj_fawcett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mila H, Sales & Marketing Manager at Wine & Cheese Bar Paradox, responded to this review, 11 June 2014
Dead guest,

Thank you for taking your time to write about your experience at Paradox Wine & Cheese Bar. I am happy that you enjoyed our cheese and ham pairing and our local wine selection.

We hope to welcome you back here in the near future.

Kind regards,
Mila
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Wine & Cheese Bar Paradox also viewed

Split, Split-Dalmatia County
 
Split, Split-Dalmatia County
Split, Split-Dalmatia County
 

Been to Wine & Cheese Bar Paradox? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing