We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming with the warmest of welcomes”

Trattoria GregoLevante
Ranked #325 of 402 Restaurants in Split
Price range: US$12 - US$59
Cuisines: European, Mediterranean, Healthy, Croatian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: After-hours, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Reviewed 27 April 2014

We ate at this restaurant on the first night of our long weekend stay and it was the perfect start to what turned out to be a culinary delight of a weekend! The real joy of this place was the welcome we received from the head waiter (or maybe even the owner?). He was warm, funny and spoiled us rotten. The atmosphere is very relaxed, candle lit tables and the food was great. This is not fine dining but then it is not supposed to be. It is fresh, bistro type food - risottos, pasta, fresh fish, steaks.

Incredibly reasonably priced and at the end of dinner, 'your man' produced glasses of an ice cold grappa type drink which was knock out juice but smooth by all accounts.

Lots of fun and laughter had by all that night!

Thank 726Tania_B_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lara b, Manager at Trattoria GregoLevante, responded to this reviewResponded 1 May 2014

Thank you for you review. Your description is exactly what we wanted to achieve when we first opened the restaurant two years ago. ;-)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (210)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

99 - 103 of 210 reviews

Reviewed 15 April 2014

Authentic Dalmatian cuisine at its best in a friendly, cozy environment. Excellent atmosphere, good service, friendly staff, tasty dishes

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank Davor V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lara b, Manager at Trattoria GregoLevante, responded to this reviewResponded 1 May 2014

Thank you for your review and thank you for your kind words.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2014

We recently ate twice here and really enjoyed it. The food is excellent and carefully prepared with fresh ingredients. The service was also excellent. The decor is minimalist but warm. It has a nice vibe and the prices are reasonable. It is really all of that put together that makes it so nice - it is the kind of place that makes you feel like a special guest.

The food is Croatian with a creative twist. Our second night we intended to try a different restaurant but after checking out other places decided that if we really wanted another nice dinner we had better just go back to the Grego Levante.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Elsabae
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lara b, Manager at Trattoria GregoLevante, responded to this reviewResponded 4 April 2014

We remember you. Thank you for beeing our guests!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2014

We are couple from Dubrovnik and dined twice at Grego Levante.The food was just what we were looking for.The staff was excelent as well as a service.Location,interior,decor was exactly what we expected.Authentic Dalmatian trattoria with a special menu.If you except to find a huge menu you will not find there.They don't offer "industrial" menu with
minced meat called cevapcici,pizza etc......but you will have a chance to taste something special,different taste which was possible to find in Spain or Portugal,in small family run restaurants.
Anyway highly recommended restaurant in the hearth of Split with cosy atmosphere,excellent service,tasty food and good prices.
We will visit Grego Levatne again on our next visit to Split.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank dzmija
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lara b, Manager at Trattoria GregoLevante, responded to this reviewResponded 1 May 2014

Thank you. We hope to see you agan when you come to visit Split again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 October 2013

We dined twice at Grego Levante in October of 2013. Though the menu may be available in French and English, the restaurant is in the palace, and the decor is modern and minimalist, Grego Levante doesn't feel like a tourist place at all. It's cozy and warm, especially in the old stone interior, and the food feels like upscale homemade. For our first dinner we tried a brodet of cuttlefish with lentils and beans -- a huge bowl brimming with pieces of cuttlefish and black with ink. We also tried the homemade ravioli with blitva and anchovies in a light garlic sauce with fresh tomatoes and shrimp -- all local ingredients, but put together in a new way. It was perfect with their red wine from Istra.

For our second dinner we started with marinated and salted anchovies, which came beautifully arranged with onions, olives, and olive oil, accompanied by their homemade bread. Next we had a goulash of cuttlefish with polenta. Again succulent cuttlefish in a different, nicely spiced sauce. Finally we had a risotto of shrimp, mussels, and zucchini. It would be hard to find fault with any of these dishes. Very reasonably priced, too.

Best of all was the friendly service. The second time we arrived late (after 9) in the off season (late October), and we were the only ones there. But that didn't stop the host and chefs from taking care of us and making us feel right at home in the beautiful space.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank KevinMVT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lara b, Manager at Trattoria GregoLevante, responded to this reviewResponded 1 May 2014

Nice! Thank you!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Trattoria GregoLevante also viewed

Split, Split-Dalmatia County
Split, Split-Dalmatia County
 
Split, Split-Dalmatia County
Split, Split-Dalmatia County
 

Been to Trattoria GregoLevante? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing