We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic Hostel/Apartments”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Apinelo Hostel

Apinelo Hostel
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Apinelo Hostel
Ranked #38 of 441 Speciality Lodging in Split
Leeds, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Fantastic Hostel/Apartments”
Reviewed 24 April 2014 via mobile

Apinelo is just off the Main Street in split, less than 5 mins walk and you are at the ferry port and in the centre of town.
We booked one of the apartments, and it was much nicer than some hotels I have stayed in. Clean, modern and comfy. TV, computer and kitchen in the room...not forgetting the disco ball!!
Staff are extremely friendly and helpful.
Would recommend to all.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jacqui F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

58 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    38
    13
    4
    1
    2
See reviews for
2
21
8
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Blackheath, Australia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 November 2013

Would like to thank the team at Apinelo Hostel for a wonderful stay. Nice small and cosy rooms with comfy beds, hot showers, good kitchen and very friendly, welcoming and helpful staff.

Would definitely recommend staying here.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marty D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victoria, Canada
Level Contributor
147 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 October 2013

We had an AWESOME stay at Apinelo Hostel in Split. We were there for 2 nights and it ended up being the best place we stayed on our entire trip! We booked a deluxe double with private bath and what we ended up with felt like a hotel! It was very modern, very clean, with all amenities - and it even had a disco ball in the room! It was a first class hostel all the way. Great atmosphere and the front desk staff was amazing, she showed us all the Split highlights and was incredibly helpful the entire time we were there. I would absolutely recommend this place to anyone passing through Split, it's fantastic. Also - perfect location! All and all the best hostel in Croatia!

Room Tip: Get a private room with a disco ball!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lkelsey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 September 2013

I stayed in both a private room and a dorm - both were good, the private room even had a little disco ball but no private bathroom and it's right next to the Reception desk so not very quiet. Air con was good, lockers, beds and shared bathrooms were good but be aware they don't have any secure luggage storage if you plan to leave your bags with the staff when checking in early etc. I left my bag in the communal kitchen when i checked out early and it was fine, however there is a cheap luggage store around the corner by the port that is probably a better option! The communal area is quite small so thee is not much opportunity to socialise.

*****take note: The location is good although the street sign refers to a different version of the street name - it's called Petra starog instead of Petrova.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Renee J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salisbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 4 September 2013

A 10 minute walk from the port where the bus station from the airport is too. In a little back street which is quiet and right next to a supermarket. 5 minute walk from the beach and a popular club which was ideal.

The dorm room was very spacious with large lockers, very comfortable beds and a very effective air conditioning unit. The kitchen was on the small side, but there was never too many people for it to become hectic. With only one shower and toilet for girls, I thought there might be a queue at times, but this was never a problem.

The girls were very helpful, telling us everything we could possibly do in the whole of Split and a few ideas of day trips which were good too.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Almabai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2013

We booked the deluxe room which was a separate apartment downstairs. It was amazing! We had a little table, a double bed, and a TV which was also a computer!! and the bathroom was amazing too. Great location.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sarz323
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield
Level Contributor
78 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2013

What we liked -

Good location good - we followed the directions and found it easily, it took about 7 mins to get to from the port.

It is tucked away the Hostel takes you up a back street which you wouldn't probably go up other wise and on it we also found a nice restaurant and bar. It is within easy walking distance to the old town and it is also next to a supermarket so it is convenient for supplies.

The staff - the young women that greeted us and showed us to our room was really friendly and helpful with a big smile. They were also helpful in storing our bags as we arrived before check in time and on our last day.

The room - we staid in a private room with bathroom. The room was great, a good size and equipped with everything you might need for your stay, comfy bed, air con, Internet access via the TV, disco ball and lights!

This was the best of this 4 hostels we stopped in whilst on our trip and we would highly recommend.

For info as with many hostels in Croatia you need to pay for the room on arrival and they only accept cash.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Smiley-Caz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Split hotels
0.0 mi away
Hostel Split Backpackers
0.4 mi away
CroParadise Blue Hostel
CroParadise Blue Hostel
#58 of 441 in Split
54 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hostel Split
Hostel Split
#27 of 441 in Split
52 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Villa Simoni Apartments
Villa Simoni Apartments
#24 of 441 in Split
67 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hostel Emanuel
Hostel Emanuel
#30 of 441 in Split
41 reviews
0.4 mi away
Backpackers Fairytale
Backpackers Fairytale
#12 of 441 in Split
70 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Apinelo Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Apinelo Hostel

Property: Apinelo Hostel
Address: Petrova 42, Split 21000, Croatia
Region: Croatia > Dalmatia > Split-Dalmatia County > Split
Hotel Style:
Ranked #38 of 441 Speciality Lodging in Split
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, Booking.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Apinelo Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing