We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It's ALL good”
Review of Uje oil bar

Uje oil bar
Ranked #45 of 401 Restaurants in Split
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$12 - US$24
Cuisines: Mediterranean, Croatian, Wine Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Reservations
Description: Uje oil bar is the first croatian olive oil bar dedicated totaly to the mediteranian food based on the olive oil. This is the place where you can taste more than 50 varieties of the best croatian olive oils, and most of them are also on sale in our shop wich is incorporated in the oil bar. Apart from the olive oil you can tase many diferent croatian delicaties and enyoj in the traditional ingredients and flavours. Some of those ingrediants you can also buy in our shop.On our menu you will find many small local dishes, that are traditionaly eaten in Split, and we give them to you presented in a original way.We have a daily menu wich is rather short but fresh. We write a new daily menu every day and it is based only on the igredients we have bought fresh that day. Our signiture dish is our bread made with olive oil. We are baking it every day and it is one of the most important reasons to visit our place.
Reviewed 9 June 2014 via mobile

Mediterranean tapas/ olive oil bar is the theme. I suggest a progressive meal as it is hard to know how much to order. You should def try the bruschetta rich, awesome. The grilled octopus was perfect. R6 was a great bottle of red. The medium cheese board of 3 cheeses was delicious. Service was good and the place is clean as a pin! Seating in and out but not so many tables outside. Really enjoyed it. Hard to find in the maze of city center but the competition was helpful getting us there.

2  Thank BMorrell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denis O, Guest Relations Manager at Uje oil bar, responded to this reviewResponded 3 May 2017

Dear, thank you for your kind review. Hope to see you again :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (780)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

516 - 520 of 781 reviews

Reviewed 7 June 2014 via mobile

The title says it all really! You expect something a little special when you come here but get fobbed off.

We came here as my partner really likes olive oil and when we walked passed on previous occasions it seemed busy and fun. But our experience was a big let down. The waiter instantly offered us free samples, which were just bog standard oils that we had seen elsewhere in Croatia and forgot to bring the olives we ordered. We complained and he brought us the olives and an extra olive oil to try. The waiter made us feel stupid by telling us this was cheaper than the other ones after we said we preferred it.

Then the real slap in the face. I had ordered shell fish stew off the daily menu. I thought this would be fresh and tasty but what arrived was a cereal bowl of mussels cooked in butter. The portion was half what I expected and no stew element in site. I was flabbergasted and complained without eating and left the restaurant paying for our wine only. The server was not friendly or helpful and overall the experience was very poor. A shame as advertised as first olive oil bar of its kind. Disappointed.

2  Thank Brainfood13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denis O, Guest Relations Manager at Uje oil bar, responded to this reviewResponded 3 May 2017

Dear, thank you for your review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2014 via mobile

We'd booked and asked to sit outside but they'd put us inside. Service was appalling- we were ignored for about the first 15 minutes and had to virtually serve our sleeves all the way through if we wanted anything. Menu was confusing and rather pretentious. Hake and chickpea dish was all chickpea and little fish. Could have done with something else added to it, eg potatoes or veg. They didn't have any of the sweets we chose!

Thank HighPeakBee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denis O, Guest Relations Manager at Uje oil bar, responded to this reviewResponded 3 May 2017

Dear, thank you for your review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2014

This is a great restaurant tucked behind the main square. Perusing the menu we couldn't decide what to have, here's polenta and fish cutlets, so many olive oils, olive oil bread, ice creams and fig cake, tuna, beef steaks etc all drenched in oil. The atmosphere was great right after the lunchtime rush, sadly for diner you need to book in advance or come early as over a three night period we couldn't get a table. So Im looking forward to diner on my next visit.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank Dayo1970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denis O, Guest Relations Manager at Uje oil bar, responded to this reviewResponded 3 May 2017

Dear, thank you for your kind review. Hope to see you again :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2014

This is a charming little store/wine bar/olive bar/tapas bar/restaurant.
We started with tapas of some assorted olives and 3 kinds of cheeses which came with the best bread ever (I think it is made with olive oil) and some fig jam accompanied by a bottle of wine suggested by our server- yum!
Halfway through the bottle we ordered a light dinner- from their daily menu. The menu is short- everything is fresh as could be. I had the grilled octopus- when I ordered it, the server said it was the last serving- he had overheard me talking about ordering it and had saved it for me!- I had octopus half a dozen times in Croatia- and this was the best.
We had stumbled upon this restaurant as we were walking during the day- and we were glad we did- one of the best meals of our trip.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank Wendy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denis O, Guest Relations Manager at Uje oil bar, responded to this reviewResponded 3 May 2017

Dear, thank you for your kind review. Hope to see you again :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Uje oil bar also viewed

Split, Split-Dalmatia County
Split, Split-Dalmatia County
 
Split, Split-Dalmatia County
Split, Split-Dalmatia County
 

Been to Uje oil bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing