We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful !!! ”

Buffet Zlatna Ribica
Ranked #42 of 395 Restaurants in Split
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Eastern European
Restaurant details
Estoril, Portugal
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Wonderful !!! ”
Reviewed 16 August 2014 via mobile

This very small restaurant only have 3 dishes .... Small Prawns, small squids and mixted small fish.
So I asked for all :)

All if them are fried and came in simple plates.

I can say for sure that those were the the best small fishes that I have for a long time.....

The shrimps are something from another world :)

The service is 7 stars and the lady were the most friendly that you can imagine.

I recommend this small place to any voyager that arrives in Split.

Helpful?
Thank Voliveira
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

172 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    98
    53
    14
    6
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Perth
Level 5 Contributor
79 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“AMAZING fried prawns.”
Reviewed 5 July 2014

Fried to perfection, heads and all. The entire thing melts in your mouth the second it touches your tongue - best I've ever had. The mixed fish and squid were also delicious. V simple but perfect food with a beer.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank NixxxyB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Antonio, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
190 reviews
128 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
“Hidden Gem!!!”
Reviewed 4 July 2014 via mobile

We stopped by the fishmarket as it was closing. We saw this small restaurant from the outside and being that it was so close to the market we thought it would not be a bad idea.

This was without a doubt one of the best- if not the best sea food restaurant I have been to in the world. Very well priced and the food is natural and simply delicious.

A good tip- get the plates that have several things you can try. The calamari is phenomenal!

Helpful?
Thank m v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Awesome authentic and yum!”
Reviewed 28 June 2014 via mobile

We went here on our first night of Split. The waitress was really great, wonderful service, good english. The atmosphere is nice, we were outside in the alleyway; It's very local and that gives it a great vibe. Food was really good value and super yummy!! Recommended if you're sick of the tourist pizza and want something fresh and real!

Helpful?
Thank Erin-Jane Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
el cerrito, california
Level 6 Contributor
124 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 163 helpful votes
“Excellent local place for lunch”
Reviewed 22 June 2014

We were here last year and we were happy to be there again recently. It may not be very easy to find the place, but if you stand in front of Diocletian’s Palace, go all the way to the left and then turn right at the corner of the castle. Walking along this side of the castle, in the mornings you will find, after a few hundred yards, the fish market on the right. But after lunchtime the fish market is gone. As you turn right into the fish market you'll find Zlatna Ribica on your left, just a few houses from the corner. Come for lunch, but don't come too late, because they too may be closed. They get their fish fresh from the market just in front of them.

The menu is limited; and so is the seating. Most people take the plate of small deep fried fish, a plate of calamari and/or battered shrimps with a plate of French fries. They will supply bread. And get some local pivo (beer) to wash things down. It is a small unpretentious place, and so is the food. It is a place where you mingle more with the locals instead of with tourists. But just because they speak Croatian, don’t assume they won’t understand your English. They do. As for the very friendly owner, she spoke better English than she did last year. And the prices are very reasonable, much less than what you will be paying in other sit-down places.

For more information on Split, see http://travelswithhok.com/The_Azure_Dalmatian_Coast/Entries/2013/4/12_IV__Split_and_Dubrovnik.html

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ploddinghappily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Buffet Zlatna Ribica also viewed

Split, Split-Dalmatia County
Split, Split-Dalmatia County
 
Split, Split-Dalmatia County
Split, Split-Dalmatia County
 
Split, Split-Dalmatia County
Split, Split-Dalmatia County
 

Been to Buffet Zlatna Ribica? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing