We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Staying in the palace walls was dreamy”
Review of Hotel Slavija

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Slavija
Ranked #11 of 56 Hotels in Split
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 6 November 2011

The Hotel Slavija is a great place to stay in Split. You are in the palace walls and steps from everything worth seeing -- including just a few minutes away from sunset strolls on the promenade. The staff are so helpful, too. While the rooms aren't perfect, the location is top notch and makes it worthy.

Mirjana, one of the gals on staff, is an expert guide. She shared such great insight about what to see. She is very proud of Split and it helped to make our stay very lovely.

I had to get up one morning super early to do grad school homework and the gal opened the breakfast area super early to allow me to enjoy some coffee. Totally great staff.

Room Tip: If you don't mind more activity, ask for a room overlooking the bar down below.
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
13  Thank DD-Colorado
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (375)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Slavija
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

261 - 267 of 375 reviews

Reviewed 21 October 2011

I arrived at the hotel and was welcomed in the most friendly way. I was given tips and answers to all my questions with a smile.
The breakfast was nothing special to be honest.
Since I wanted to stay a second night (Split is such a lovely city) and the hotel was fully booked, they helped me calling another hotel where I already had checked the rates. Thanks to hotel Slavija calling, I managed to get a discount in my next hotel.
When checking out from hotel Slavija, they helped me in securing a very good rate for a car rental, the prices they got were almost half of what I was told by other car rental agencies when asking prices myself....
Check out was another interesting experience, we got to talk about politics and was offered more interesting tourist information.
I would recommend this place to anyone going to Split, merely because of the excellent service, the ladies at the reception are just great!

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
15  Thank degtravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2011

It's a little tricky to find at first, but once you learn the local landmarks it's pretty easy. Built right inside the lively hive of activity which Diocletian's Palace has evolved into, this sweet place fit our needs perfectly. The room was small and basic, but the bed comfy, and the air conditioning worked perfectly on those sweltering 38 degree days. The (included) breakfast had fair variety and fresh offerings - not fancy but quite acceptable. The front staff helped us with virtually every question and gave great advice about visiting the city. When we came back after our week-long cruise, they invited us to store luggage for the afternoon until our train departed, and let us use the wifi in the lobby again - even though we no longer were staying there. In front of the Palace there was a huge late night outdoor music concert while we were there, but I heard nothing when my earplugs were inserted. I learned this lesson a long time ago: don't leave home without them!

Room Tip: Select a lower floor if you have problems with mobility. There is no elevator, and even the main fl...
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank ccvvbb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2011

This hotel is in Old Town and there is a bar right in front of it. If you want to spoil the peaceful atmosphere of Split, you can join the crowd. In Croatia people sleep and wake up early.
Hotel is a nice one. Staff is great!
It was too expensive but the room was ok.
The girl at the front desk helped us much better than a Tourist Info. You might prefer this hotel when it not the high season.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
5  Thank Jardzy Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2011

This hotel is within the palace walls. While hardly a luxury property, it was clean and comfortable. Plus,our room had a large terrace which placed us cheek by jowl to other buildings and rooftops. The staff was lovely and gave us an excellent dinner suggestion off the beaten path.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank NewYorker300
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2011

Hard to find on foot when you first arrive. Friendly staff. Historic. Spoiled by a noisy bar outside and noisy air con inside. Both prevent anything resembling good sleep.

  • Stayed: August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank reviewer666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2011

This hotel is perfectly placed in the Old Palace area and very simple to walk to all locations. The staff in reception were fantastic and ensured we had a great stay. Room was of average size and included WIFI. Breakfast was included but was only basic. We thoroughly recommend this hotel for the location and very supportive staff.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Aussiecouple258
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Split hotels
1.6 mi away
Radisson Blu Resort Split
0.1 mi away
Cornaro Hotel
Cornaro Hotel
#6 of 56 in Split
463 reviews
0.4 mi away
Divota Apartment Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Luxe
Hotel Luxe
#7 of 56 in Split
689 reviews
0.9 mi away
Dioklecijan Hotel & Residence
0.1 mi away
Heritage Hotel Antique Split
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Slavija? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Slavija

Address: Buvinina 2 | Andrije Buvine 2, Split 21000, Croatia
Region: Croatia > Dalmatia > Split-Dalmatia County > Split
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Split
#8 Business Hotel in Split
#12 Romantic Hotel in Split
Price Range: £55 - £217 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Slavija 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Slavija is type of a heritage hotel due to its location, history and protection by Ministry of Culture of the Republic of Croatia and UNESCO. The Diocletian's Palace was built in the middle of the 3rd century AD, while the Hotel Slavija was built inside its walls, above the Emperor's western baths. Therefore, it can be concluded that the building of the hotel influenced the protection of the Baths from the devastation. With time the building of the hotel expanded, and from the Baroque palace it became today's Hotel Slavija. Hotel Slavija is under the protection of the Ministry of Culture of the Republic of Croatia, and in part is protected by the UNESCO. The location in the very center of the town makes Hotel Slavija an ideal choice for a stay in Split, surrounded by all relevant historical buildings of the city of Split, including the Temple of Jupiter, the St. Duje Cathedral, the Milesi palace... It is ideal place for both business and pleasure travelers because of its location. Hotel is situated in the very center of the city and is but a few minutes walk from all the major attractions as well as from the main bus terminal, airport shuttle terminal, railway station and ferry. The hotel has 25 rooms and each room is air conditioned, with private bath, hair dryer, satellite TV, Internet connection and direct dial telephone. Some of the rooms are with terraces and Hotel is especially proud to present them because, terraces are rarity in the old part of Split. In the lobby of the hotel is Internet Hot spot, which is free for hotel guests. We also provide faxing, copying, printing and scanning, as well as laundry service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Slavija reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Slavija Hotel Split

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing