We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location”
Review of Hotel Slavija

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Slavija
Ranked #10 of 55 Hotels in Split
Certificate of Excellence
Masterton, Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
33 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Great location”
Reviewed 14 June 2012

We stayed here for 4 nights recently. The location is excellent within the walls of the Palace. Spend time exploring the town, it has an amazing history. We had trouble finding the hotel as because it's a heritage site they can not put up large signs so make sure you know where you are going before entering the walls. The same applies to the fact there is no lift because if its heritage rating. The staff were wonderful - welcoming, helpful with ideas of places to go to and spoke great English. Our room was a little small but had wonderful views of the town. The breakfast room is rather small but plans are under way to rectify that. Overall a top place to stay for location and service.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank Rob C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

345 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    196
    103
    31
    9
    6
See reviews for
75
119
36
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 May 2012

Unfortunatley i only stayed here one night but from begining to end it was great. Mariana greeted us on arrival pleasent and very friendly. As i found out the rooms have just recently been renovated and a great job was done. Shower amazing......bed good and comfy room a little noisy but remember you are staying in the middle of the old city so you get that anywhere...close the windows and put aircon on. It's an awesome location. The girls at reception went out of their way to be helpful and should be commended on their service...right to my drop off at the airport...when i come back i'll be staying here for sure!

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank Fran75_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anchorage, Alaska
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 April 2012

One can not beat the location. It is fun to be in side the palace walls. Close to everything. Short walk to the promenade, sites,shopping and restaurants. The staff is friendly and very helpful. They helped with directions, day trips, restaurants and other hotel arrangements.
Our room was fair sized with comfortable beds. The breakfast was filling and more than just coffee and a roll. I enjoyed my stay and would stay there again.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank travelnut00750
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
winnipeg, manitoba
Level Contributor
30 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 November 2011

Arrived in Split by ferry. This hotel is a bit of a walk with luggage and hard to find initially. Once we arrived, early, we were given a room right away. It had a lovely terrace. We unfortunately were facing the street side which had music going till late in the night. We were warned this would happen and advised to turn on the air conditioner to help drown out the noise. I always wear ear plugs when I travel so for me it wasn't much of an issue. The beds where very nice and the shower/small tub was a challenge, but it was typical of most european bathrooms. The staff were very helpful and quickly arranged a cab for 4:00 am to take us to the airport. That was a large relief because of the early time the regular cab service did not operate yet. Being close to the promenade was nice in evening. We wondered around the the old town and had one of the best meals inside the old town. The hotel was a good location and the receptionists help greatly appreciated.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
12 Thank scotstwo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boulder, Colo.
Level Contributor
92 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 November 2011

The Hotel Slavija is a great place to stay in Split. You are in the palace walls and steps from everything worth seeing -- including just a few minutes away from sunset strolls on the promenade. The staff are so helpful, too. While the rooms aren't perfect, the location is top notch and makes it worthy.

Mirjana, one of the gals on staff, is an expert guide. She shared such great insight about what to see. She is very proud of Split and it helped to make our stay very lovely.

I had to get up one morning super early to do grad school homework and the gal opened the breakfast area super early to allow me to enjoy some coffee. Totally great staff.

Room Tip: If you don't mind more activity, ask for a room overlooking the bar down below.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
13 Thank DD-Colorado
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tervuren, Belgium
Level Contributor
322 reviews
126 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 173 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 October 2011

I arrived at the hotel and was welcomed in the most friendly way. I was given tips and answers to all my questions with a smile.
The breakfast was nothing special to be honest.
Since I wanted to stay a second night (Split is such a lovely city) and the hotel was fully booked, they helped me calling another hotel where I already had checked the rates. Thanks to hotel Slavija calling, I managed to get a discount in my next hotel.
When checking out from hotel Slavija, they helped me in securing a very good rate for a car rental, the prices they got were almost half of what I was told by other car rental agencies when asking prices myself....
Check out was another interesting experience, we got to talk about politics and was offered more interesting tourist information.
I would recommend this place to anyone going to Split, merely because of the excellent service, the ladies at the reception are just great!

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
15 Thank degtravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canada
Level Contributor
292 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 September 2011

It's a little tricky to find at first, but once you learn the local landmarks it's pretty easy. Built right inside the lively hive of activity which Diocletian's Palace has evolved into, this sweet place fit our needs perfectly. The room was small and basic, but the bed comfy, and the air conditioning worked perfectly on those sweltering 38 degree days. The (included) breakfast had fair variety and fresh offerings - not fancy but quite acceptable. The front staff helped us with virtually every question and gave great advice about visiting the city. When we came back after our week-long cruise, they invited us to store luggage for the afternoon until our train departed, and let us use the wifi in the lobby again - even though we no longer were staying there. In front of the Palace there was a huge late night outdoor music concert while we were there, but I heard nothing when my earplugs were inserted. I learned this lesson a long time ago: don't leave home without them!

Room Tip: Select a lower floor if you have problems with mobility. There is no elevator, and even the main fl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank ccvvbb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Split hotels
0.4 mi away
Divota Apartment Hotel
0.2 mi away
Hotel Luxe
Hotel Luxe
#7 of 55 in Split
4.5 of 5 bubbles 635 reviews
0.2 mi away
Cornaro Hotel
Cornaro Hotel
#4 of 55 in Split
4.5 of 5 bubbles 328 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Hotel Vestibul Palace
Hotel Vestibul Palace
#11 of 55 in Split
4.5 of 5 bubbles 401 reviews
0.1 mi away
Antique Split Luxury Rooms
0.6 mi away
Split Apartments - Peric Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Slavija? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Slavija

Property: Hotel Slavija
Address: Buvinina 2 | Andrije Buvine 2, Split 21000, Croatia
Region: Croatia > Dalmatia > Split-Dalmatia County > Split
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Split
#8 Business Hotel in Split
#12 Romantic Hotel in Split
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Slavija 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Slavija is type of a heritage hotel due to its location, history and protection by Ministry of Culture of the Republic of Croatia and UNESCO. The Diocletian's Palace was built in the middle of the 3rd century AD, while the Hotel Slavija was built inside its walls, above the Emperor's western baths. Therefore, it can be concluded that the building of the hotel influenced the protection of the Baths from the devastation. With time the building of the hotel expanded, and from the Baroque palace it became today's Hotel Slavija. Hotel Slavija is under the protection of the Ministry of Culture of the Republic of Croatia, and in part is protected by the UNESCO. The location in the very center of the town makes Hotel Slavija an ideal choice for a stay in Split, surrounded by all relevant historical buildings of the city of Split, including the Temple of Jupiter, the St. Duje Cathedral, the Milesi palace... It is ideal place for both business and pleasure travelers because of its location. Hotel is situated in the very center of the city and is but a few minutes walk from all the major attractions as well as from the main bus terminal, airport shuttle terminal, railway station and ferry. The hotel has 25 rooms and each room is air conditioned, with private bath, hair dryer, satellite TV, Internet connection and direct dial telephone. Some of the rooms are with terraces and Hotel is especially proud to present them because, terraces are rarity in the old part of Split. In the lobby of the hotel is Internet Hot spot, which is free for hotel guests. We also provide faxing, copying, printing and scanning, as well as laundry service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, LoveHolidays, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HRS so you can book your Hotel Slavija reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Slavija Hotel Split

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing