We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Faultless”
Review of Hotel Slavija

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Slavija
Ranked #11 of 55 Hotels in Split
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Faultless”
Reviewed 19 May 2013

I cannot recommend this hotel highly enough. Great location, clean large rooms, with very comfortable beds, and friendly and informative staff,for whom nothing was too much trouble. They even let us store our luggage there on our last day in Split, despite the fact we'd checked out 3 days earlier to go to the island of Hvar.

It meant our last day on holiday was spent on the beach and having a great time rather than sitting forlornly in one place surrounded by our luggage for 12 hours.

Cannot wait to go back very soon

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank EDGirl19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

345 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    196
    103
    31
    9
    6
See reviews for
75
119
36
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brussels, Belgium
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 May 2013

The only thing I can say is – go and stay in this place.
It is recommended as best hotel for business travelers in Split but I would say it is also really romantic, little haven in the center of the very busy town.
After a stressful day usually I just go to my room to rest and finish the day’s work.. But in this Hotel it is a pleasure to sit on the reception, do your work and just talk with receptionists. I even got a chance to visit the Roman baths in the basement of the Hotel. They have a window from the basements directly linked to the basements of the Palace… and also had a short history lesson of Split and Hotel Slavija.
I stayed there for 7 days and after a 3rd day was offered a free upgrade to a double room with terrace for the same money.... so I can enjoy in the sun and view overlooking the town ??? I have never had this kind of service before I am a frequent traveler.
People you see there will do everything to make your stay enjoyable and stress free.

Room Tip: They do not have smimming pool- so just ignore my rate for it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank Adam S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
46 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 May 2013

Great location, this hotel is right by the plaza, clean, friendly, lovely room with a large balcony, room 414 I think it was, very boutique feel - we went last weekend, it was a suprise birthday weekend, and this place was very special as it is part of the Emperor's palace.

Really friendly team who work there, always smiling and that goes with the rest of Split, friendly, smiling faces everywhere and very reasonably priced...

Breakfast was good, the breakfast room is small so there is the addition of being able to have breakfast in the room or in reception..

Would highly recommend, very close to everything!

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank LJRD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vienna, Austria
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 March 2013

Where to start!
Location,in-design,comfort,receptionist and all other employees were so frinedly and sooo helpful!
Once more I want to thanks them:)
I really felt so good all 5-days there,i"ve been to many places but never felt so "home" like.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
20 Thank Jurgen T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rome, Italy
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 February 2013

We had a problem with our car and this was the reason we stayed in Split. Searched a few hotels and phoned Slavija directly. Because it was direct booking with the hotel they gave us a great discount. When we explained the problem with the car they offered to call the mechanic and help with resolving the problem asap.
My colloquies and I had a meeting in Makarska next day and hotel staff called the mechanic and arranged a free car for us from Split to Makarska.
There is not enough woods to write how the staff of this hotel helped us. This is our first visit to Croatia but is couldn't be nicer. Car problems were forgotten really soon. We meant to stay in Makarska for 3 days but at the end we decided to stay in Hotel Slavija in Split and travel every day to Makarska.
Me and my colleagues can highly recommend this place to everyone not just if you travel for work.
Thank You all

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
20 Thank Joanna M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zagreb, Croatia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 February 2013

Went to Split in beginning of February for three days and stayed in Slavija. Hotel is located inside the Emperor's palace, so I had the opportunity to visit all the historic monuments within 5 min walk on my afternoon off. Clean and cozy rooms, slept like a baby. Friendly and helpfull staff, 24h reception, so you can come & go as you please. Good breakfast starting from 7AM (good for us who have to leave the hotel early for meetings). On my last day, I had to leave before breakfast time, so they prepared breakfast-to-go for me, which I ate in the airport. They even arranged a taxi for me to pick me up and drive to the airport. Good restaurants only a couple minutes walk from the hotel. Highly recommended, I love this place!

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
27 Thank Mark H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 January 2013

The hotel was in an old ruin, but with complete modern and spotless facilities inside. The staff was friendly and helpful and breakfast was free. The location was unbeatable, inside Diocletian's Palace in the heart of all the action, but at the same time we were never disturbed by any noise outside during the night.

Room Tip: We had a window and that was nice
See more room tips
Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
30 Thank 898Traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Split hotels
0.4 mi away
Divota Apartment Hotel
0.2 mi away
Hotel Luxe
Hotel Luxe
#7 of 55 in Split
4.5 of 5 bubbles 635 reviews
0.2 mi away
Cornaro Hotel
Cornaro Hotel
#4 of 55 in Split
4.5 of 5 bubbles 328 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Hotel Vestibul Palace
Hotel Vestibul Palace
#10 of 55 in Split
4.5 of 5 bubbles 401 reviews
0.1 mi away
Antique Split Luxury Rooms
0.6 mi away
Split Apartments - Peric Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Slavija? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Slavija

Property: Hotel Slavija
Address: Buvinina 2 | Andrije Buvine 2, Split 21000, Croatia
Region: Croatia > Dalmatia > Split-Dalmatia County > Split
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Split
#8 Business Hotel in Split
#12 Romantic Hotel in Split
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Slavija 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Slavija is type of a heritage hotel due to its location, history and protection by Ministry of Culture of the Republic of Croatia and UNESCO. The Diocletian's Palace was built in the middle of the 3rd century AD, while the Hotel Slavija was built inside its walls, above the Emperor's western baths. Therefore, it can be concluded that the building of the hotel influenced the protection of the Baths from the devastation. With time the building of the hotel expanded, and from the Baroque palace it became today's Hotel Slavija. Hotel Slavija is under the protection of the Ministry of Culture of the Republic of Croatia, and in part is protected by the UNESCO. The location in the very center of the town makes Hotel Slavija an ideal choice for a stay in Split, surrounded by all relevant historical buildings of the city of Split, including the Temple of Jupiter, the St. Duje Cathedral, the Milesi palace... It is ideal place for both business and pleasure travelers because of its location. Hotel is situated in the very center of the city and is but a few minutes walk from all the major attractions as well as from the main bus terminal, airport shuttle terminal, railway station and ferry. The hotel has 25 rooms and each room is air conditioned, with private bath, hair dryer, satellite TV, Internet connection and direct dial telephone. Some of the rooms are with terraces and Hotel is especially proud to present them because, terraces are rarity in the old part of Split. In the lobby of the hotel is Internet Hot spot, which is free for hotel guests. We also provide faxing, copying, printing and scanning, as well as laundry service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Jet2Holidays , Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, LoveHolidays, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HRS so you can book your Hotel Slavija reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Slavija Hotel Split

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing