We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, great staff, loved it”
Review of Hotel Slavija

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Slavija
Ranked #21 of 58 Hotels in Split
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 19 July 2013

You can not beat the location of this hotel inside the old palace/city. Arrived early and rooms were ready. Front desk arrange for a tour of the old palace, our guide who also worked at the hotel could not have been nicer. Only stayed two nights bit would have loved to stay longer...would highly recommend to anyone looking to stay in Split.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Bike2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (381)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

217 - 223 of 381 reviews

Reviewed 15 July 2013

I stayed about 1 week at the hotel and it was excellent! The location is the best possible in Split, right in center of the palace, 2 minutes away from Riga, the cathedral and the main spots, 5 minutes from the bus to the beach, or 10 from the port to the islands. The people at the hotel are incredibly nice, probably the best I ever saw in a hotel. All advice they gave was right on spot.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
11  Thank Miguel2013jul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2013

We were met at the airport by a driver who took us directly to the hotel. When checked in, the lady at the reception gave us much options and info. She wrote the time table for ferries, buses, where the beach is, and what time do museums open... Where can we go and what can we do. She gave us the book with descriptions of places near Split and explained which bus to take...
First day just relaxing and walking around. But for the next 5 days we have been to Trilj, Sinj, Trogir, Imotski, Makarska... all small places really near Split... all with bus... the book was all about buses.
I can really say we sow true Croatia, not just the tourist places but real people in their real life...
This hotel is true representative of their country not just Split... They really do care and treat you like a human bean... Hotel is in a terrific location, rooms are clean and really nice. Breakfast room is small but they offer everything you may need. I sow one of the comments regarding staff smiling to their colleagues and guests.
I hope that the owner/manager will read this review... The staff of this hotel really makes difference. I have been traveling all my life but never, ever have felt this welcomed, and treated like a person in any of the hotels I have ever stayed.
Thank you all for helping us have an amazing week in a beautiful town and reviling a spectacular country in a different way.

Room Tip: Where ever You stay, You will feel welcomend and treated really nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank sara s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2013

This hotel has a fantastic location in the heart of the old town. The staff are very friendly and helpful. We were staying on the third floor and due to the age of the hotel there is no lift but one of w staff helped us with our bags. The room we were in had a terrace overlooking the rooftops which was a relaxing place to sit. Be aware that this hotel is above a very popular bar and you will need to keep your windows closed if you want to get a y sleep. Bathrooms are small and could do with some updating.

Room Tip: Choose a room with a terrace for a great view over the city.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank GayleL420
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2013

This hotel is in an excellent position and near to all the main sights. We booked Room 405 on the top floor which had a patio. It cost a bit more but was well worth it as not only was it a very large, comfortable room, but the patio was on the roof so we had great views of the city. The hotel receptionists are outstanding - they spoke excellent English, were very friendly, and were passionate and extremely knowledgeable about their city - nothing was too much trouble for them. On our first day we had a 2 hour tour of the palace and town with receptionist Mirjana, with just one other couple, which was excellent. Mirjana gave us so much detail - much better than going with one of the large tour groups.

Room Tip: If you can get one of the rooms on the 4th floor that have a rooftop patio it is well worth the smal...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank judycalling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2013

A fantastic combination of staff service, location and history make this hotel stand out from many others in my experience. We wandered through the old town to find the hotel which is right in the historic city a few minutes walk from either the marina side or the gardens on the other side of the old town.

The staff were cheerful and helpful at all times arranging a transfer to the airport for us, after telling us the different options that were available and offering us the chance to take part in an evening walking tour, but not pushing us to make a rapid decision. We decided to take the walking tour and really enjoyed hearing the history of the city and spending time in the company of a member of staff who clearly loves her city and country. The tour was fun and informative at the same time - well worth it if you are on a short stay and want to maximise your understanding of the city and region.

The rooms are modern and very comfortable, even though you are in a very ancient location. My room had a small terrace where I could look over the roof tops and down into some of the squares which was a nice bonus.

When you walk out of the hotel you are right in the heart of the city with cafe/bars on the steps and restaurants in the squares that you find yourself in. Shopping is fun with many more shops in the small area then I expected - it is worth exploring all the little lanes. There are numerous ice cream and pizza shops too if you don't want to take time to sit down and eat.

The hotel is currently undergoing some work in the basement/lower section to refit the restaurant following excavation work on the ancient baths located beneath the building. This work is expected to complete in 2014 at the moment the only food in the hotel is breakfast, but with so many options nearby this was not an issue.

Our bags were carried up the stairs very rapidly by a member of staff - he carried 2 large bags and ran up to the 4th floor leaving us in his wake.

A lovely hotel which I can highly recommend and will hopefully revisit and get the chance to see the results of the current underground work.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
11  Thank LothiansJack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2013 via mobile

This hotel was awesome. The blonde lady with glasses on the front desk was so welcoming, helpful and did everything to make our stay awesome. She helped sort us out with an extension to our check out time and a coach to the airport so we didn't need to get a taxi. I would come back here in a heartbeat. Our room was lovely with good air conditioning. It was convenient to be able to leave our bags after check out to go exploring. We were on a tour and this hotel put all the others we had stayed at in the shade.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank Minty_Danni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Split hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Luxe
Hotel Luxe
#9 of 58 in Split
710 reviews
0.4 mi away
Divota Apartment Hotel
0.9 mi away
Dioklecijan Hotel & Residence
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Radisson Blu Resort Split
0 mi away
Hotel Vestibul Palace
Hotel Vestibul Palace
#16 of 58 in Split
436 reviews
0.1 mi away
Heritage Hotel Antique Split
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Slavija? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Slavija

Address: Buvinina 2 | Andrije Buvine 2, Split 21000, Croatia
Region: Croatia > Dalmatia > Split-Dalmatia County > Split
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Split
#8 Business Hotel in Split
#12 Romantic Hotel in Split
Price Range: £45 - £199 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Slavija 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Slavija is type of a heritage hotel due to its location, history and protection by Ministry of Culture of the Republic of Croatia and UNESCO. The Diocletian's Palace was built in the middle of the 3rd century AD, while the Hotel Slavija was built inside its walls, above the Emperor's western baths. Therefore, it can be concluded that the building of the hotel influenced the protection of the Baths from the devastation. With time the building of the hotel expanded, and from the Baroque palace it became today's Hotel Slavija. Hotel Slavija is under the protection of the Ministry of Culture of the Republic of Croatia, and in part is protected by the UNESCO. The location in the very center of the town makes Hotel Slavija an ideal choice for a stay in Split, surrounded by all relevant historical buildings of the city of Split, including the Temple of Jupiter, the St. Duje Cathedral, the Milesi palace... It is ideal place for both business and pleasure travelers because of its location. Hotel is situated in the very center of the city and is but a few minutes walk from all the major attractions as well as from the main bus terminal, airport shuttle terminal, railway station and ferry. The hotel has 25 rooms and each room is air conditioned, with private bath, hair dryer, satellite TV, Internet connection and direct dial telephone. Some of the rooms are with terraces and Hotel is especially proud to present them because, terraces are rarity in the old part of Split. In the lobby of the hotel is Internet Hot spot, which is free for hotel guests. We also provide faxing, copying, printing and scanning, as well as laundry service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Slavija reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Slavija Hotel Split

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing