We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A gem in Diocletian's palace” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Slavija

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Slavija
Ranked #11 of 57 Hotels in Split
Certificate of Excellence
Montreal
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“A gem in Diocletian's palace”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2013

I was very happy with this hotel. Its a gem in the Diocletian Palace area of Split.
The reception by Mirjana Svaguša was fantastic. She was helpful, engaging and made my one night stay fantastic. She provided a tour in the evening and was very knowledgeable on her city. An unfortunate incident midway through the tour forced her to leave with other people on the tour for the hospital. Someone fell and injured herself, and Mirjana was fantastic in how she dealt with the situation. Take the tour the hotel offers, its worth it.

The hotel is a bit hard to find, but ask directions to the local merchants, they all know how to get to it. A wonderful little café on the street outside offers affordable coffees, and other fare. The hotel's breakfast was efficient, and complete, satisfying everyone's palates in our group.

Room was great, with an out door terrace. The AC was working fine, considering it was 40 C outside, the washroom was large, and everything spotlessly clean. Water Pressure was good.

One side note, the hotel does not have an elevator, its in a protected building and probably cannot have one installed, if you are on the last floor, you are in for a bit of a climb. Split is not a wheelchair friendly destination, in general, lots of old stairs, so make sure you are in shape before coming :)

I will come back to Split, probably with my parents, and will stay here again, mainly because of how I was received by Mirjana.

Room Tip: Pay for the room with a terrace, its worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank StevenLazaroff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

333 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    190
    99
    31
    7
    6
See reviews for
73
114
34
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
45 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2013

I stayed here as a single traveler for one night as my group split (no pun, honest!) to go our separate ways. I have never stayed anywhere overseas on my own before and was a bit nervous. I got to the hotel early but my room was ready and I was made to feel very welcome. Someone carried my bag up to my room while the receptionist checked me in and organised a cab for me to get back to the airport in the morning. There is a bar just further round from the hotel called the Ghetto Bar, great place for cocktails!

The room was neat and modern. I loved the touch above the bed which showed which area of the palace I was sleeping in and how it used to be laid out. The bed was comfy and the aircon was very welcome.

I woke up the next morning and discovered ants in my room and around the bottom of my bed! I didn't have any food in the room so not sure what attracted them. Breakfast was very basic and not worth the & euro.

The taxi driver picked me up on time and carried my bag to the car and whisked me off to the airport.

I would stay here again, its right inside the palace, the staff were very friendly and gave me some good recommendations of where to eat and where to get tickets from to do the tourist things that I wanted to do.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Michellehill22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2013 via mobile

This hotel was excellent the location in the Diocletian palace is amazing.The staff are exceptional especially Mirjana who helped organize a very complex transfer at a great price with a great driver.The hotel has a wonderful bar/restaurant located at the steps to the entrance great for breakfast and delicious cocktails.I would definitely recommend staying there .

Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
6 Thank Susan P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
connecticut
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 July 2013

You can not beat the location of this hotel inside the old palace/city. Arrived early and rooms were ready. Front desk arrange for a tour of the old palace, our guide who also worked at the hotel could not have been nicer. Only stayed two nights bit would have loved to stay longer...would highly recommend to anyone looking to stay in Split.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Bike2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisbon, Portugal
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2013

I stayed about 1 week at the hotel and it was excellent! The location is the best possible in Split, right in center of the palace, 2 minutes away from Riga, the cathedral and the main spots, 5 minutes from the bus to the beach, or 10 from the port to the islands. The people at the hotel are incredibly nice, probably the best I ever saw in a hotel. All advice they gave was right on spot.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
11 Thank Miguel2013jul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alabama, New York
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2013

We were met at the airport by a driver who took us directly to the hotel. When checked in, the lady at the reception gave us much options and info. She wrote the time table for ferries, buses, where the beach is, and what time do museums open... Where can we go and what can we do. She gave us the book with descriptions of places near Split and explained which bus to take...
First day just relaxing and walking around. But for the next 5 days we have been to Trilj, Sinj, Trogir, Imotski, Makarska... all small places really near Split... all with bus... the book was all about buses.
I can really say we sow true Croatia, not just the tourist places but real people in their real life...
This hotel is true representative of their country not just Split... They really do care and treat you like a human bean... Hotel is in a terrific location, rooms are clean and really nice. Breakfast room is small but they offer everything you may need. I sow one of the comments regarding staff smiling to their colleagues and guests.
I hope that the owner/manager will read this review... The staff of this hotel really makes difference. I have been traveling all my life but never, ever have felt this welcomed, and treated like a person in any of the hotels I have ever stayed.
Thank you all for helping us have an amazing week in a beautiful town and reviling a spectacular country in a different way.

Room Tip: Where ever You stay, You will feel welcomend and treated really nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
9 Thank sara s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 July 2013

This hotel has a fantastic location in the heart of the old town. The staff are very friendly and helpful. We were staying on the third floor and due to the age of the hotel there is no lift but one of w staff helped us with our bags. The room we were in had a terrace overlooking the rooftops which was a relaxing place to sit. Be aware that this hotel is above a very popular bar and you will need to keep your windows closed if you want to get a y sleep. Bathrooms are small and could do with some updating.

Room Tip: Choose a room with a terrace for a great view over the city.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank GayleL420
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Split hotels
0.4 mi away
Divota Apartment Hotel
0.3 mi away
Hotel Luxe
Hotel Luxe
#7 of 57 in Split
4.5 of 5 bubbles 611 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Vestibul Palace
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Palace Judita Heritage Hotel
0.2 mi away
Cornaro Hotel
Cornaro Hotel
#4 of 57 in Split
4.5 of 5 bubbles 305 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Marul
Hotel Marul
#5 of 57 in Split
4.5 of 5 bubbles 190 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Slavija? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Slavija

Property: Hotel Slavija
Address: Buvinina 2 | Andrije Buvine 2, Split 21000, Croatia
Region: Croatia > Dalmatia > Split-Dalmatia County > Split
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Split
#8 Business Hotel in Split
#12 Romantic Hotel in Split
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Slavija 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Slavija is type of a heritage hotel due to its location, history and protection by Ministry of Culture of the Republic of Croatia and UNESCO. The Diocletian's Palace was built in the middle of the 3rd century AD, while the Hotel Slavija was built inside its walls, above the Emperor's western baths. Therefore, it can be concluded that the building of the hotel influenced the protection of the Baths from the devastation. With time the building of the hotel expanded, and from the Baroque palace it became today's Hotel Slavija. Hotel Slavija is under the protection of the Ministry of Culture of the Republic of Croatia, and in part is protected by the UNESCO. The location in the very center of the town makes Hotel Slavija an ideal choice for a stay in Split, surrounded by all relevant historical buildings of the city of Split, including the Temple of Jupiter, the St. Duje Cathedral, the Milesi palace... It is ideal place for both business and pleasure travelers because of its location. Hotel is situated in the very center of the city and is but a few minutes walk from all the major attractions as well as from the main bus terminal, airport shuttle terminal, railway station and ferry. The hotel has 25 rooms and each room is air conditioned, with private bath, hair dryer, satellite TV, Internet connection and direct dial telephone. Some of the rooms are with terraces and Hotel is especially proud to present them because, terraces are rarity in the old part of Split. In the lobby of the hotel is Internet Hot spot, which is free for hotel guests. We also provide faxing, copying, printing and scanning, as well as laundry service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Slavija reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Slavija Hotel Split

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing