We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“AMAZING CUSTOMER SERVICE”
Review of Hotel Slavija

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Slavija
Ranked #12 of 55 Hotels in Split
Certificate of Excellence
Frisco, Texas
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“AMAZING CUSTOMER SERVICE”
Reviewed 3 August 2014

We stayed here for 2 night this past July. I had lost my luggage and the staff bended over backwards to help with the language barrier in getting my luggage found.
Awesome location and very comfortable. Newly remodeled, clean rooms and large shower/bathrooms.
Can't say enough about the two girls who run the front. They call themselves the 2 "M's" because both of their names begin with the letter M. They are very knowledgeable about the area and can share some nice hidden spots to see in the City Centre.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank L B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

352 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    200
    105
    31
    10
    6
See reviews for
76
121
38
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Moscow, Russia
Level Contributor
112 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2014

I had an outstanding experience at this hotel! I stayed one night in July and would have stayed more!

Pros:
Staff are all very nice and accommodating (especially Milena), even before I got there. It is a bit difficult to find so Milena sent me a map from the bus station which was very helpful.
I had made a mistake in my booking and Milena helped me get it all taken care of without a single problem! She "upgraded" me to a room with a balcony for which I was extremely grateful for! It was clean, spacious, and had an amazing view!

The breakfast spread was good and the location is perfect.

Cons:
They were performing some construction on the hotel but only during the day when I wasn't even around. I stayed in room 403 and the elevator was out so one of the staff carried my suitcase up the stairs.

The only other downside (which didn't bother me because I was tired out from all the site seeing that I slept like a rock) is the bar below/next to the hotel. I could hear the music and people talking. Again, no big deal as I am from the city and am very used to it. The hotel is centrally located as well so it's expected.

Bottom line: I would stay here again and recommend it to all!

Room Tip: I was in room 403 which has a gorgeous balcony but was noisy due to the bar below.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank BKloandC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2014

We stayed for three nights in June. The location is spot on, right in the middle of the old town.
Rooms were clean and comfortable, though lacking in any character which was a little disappointing given the location and exterior of the building. The double glazing kept the room quiet at night. Breakfast was basic and served in a rather compromised space.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sue12344321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2014

We stayed in this hotel for the last two nights of our tour of Croatia.

It is in a great location in the city centre, and only a very short walk to a lot of different bars and restuarants. Having been newly decorated, the rooms were clean, tidy and comfortable. The bathrooms were large and the shower was very powerful!

All the rooms are double glazed and have air con which is a good thing; a) because temperatures were reaching 33c and b) there is a bar just by the hotel so it can be a little noisey. However with the windows closed very little noise was heard.

The reception staff are fantastic. I don't think I have ever stayed in a place where the staff are that helpful and informative. They were friendly and no question or request was too much. They arranged for a small group of us to do a 4 hour tour of a few key sights just outside of Split which was great and really worth asking about.

The breakfast room is very small and there is a limited choice, but it was adequate for us so no real drama there.

This is a more expensive hotel than many, however it is newly decorated and is extremely comfortable and in a great position. I would definitely stay here again without question.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Rach_Colley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Gatos, California
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 July 2014

This hotel is located directly within Diocletian's palace, which makes for a great experience in Split. The old city is full of ancient cobblestone streets, cafes, shops, landmarks, etc…all just steps away from this hotel. Rooms are all a little different, european, and very clean (though hotel was undergoing some minor renovations while we were there). The concierges were extremely helpful in setting up activities and making spot-on restaurant recommendations (Mazgoon our favorite!). Also, right outside the hotel is a cafe/bar with seating that streams up some old cobblestone steps, which turned out to be a great spot to hang out, day or night!

Room Tip: A few rooms have terraces with great views overlooking old city streets and rooftops.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Amyidlewild
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
28 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2014

This is a lovely little hotel, very comfortable and in a great location (although it is a little tricky to find, it's in a warren of smaller alleyways off to the side of the old city of Split). The staff are extremely helpful and friendly, and made my stay a real pleasure. Heartily recommended.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank JGPH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stavanger Municipality, Norway
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2014

Great hotel in the middle of the old town of Split. We stayed here for 2 nights in June 2014 in a period when the hotel was going through a renovation. Out room was new and clean but unfortunately placed just above a diner \ coffee shop which were a bit noisy during the evening. Very friendly and helpful staff. Poor breakfast.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TT-Quick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Split hotels
0.4 mi away
Divota Apartment Hotel
0.2 mi away
Hotel Luxe
Hotel Luxe
#7 of 55 in Split
652 reviews
0.2 mi away
Cornaro Hotel
Cornaro Hotel
#5 of 55 in Split
372 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Radisson Blu Resort Split
0.1 mi away
Antique Split Luxury Rooms
0.1 mi away
Marmont Hotel Heritage
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Slavija? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Slavija

Property: Hotel Slavija
Address: Buvinina 2 | Andrije Buvine 2, Split 21000, Croatia
Region: Croatia > Dalmatia > Split-Dalmatia County > Split
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Split
#8 Business Hotel in Split
#12 Romantic Hotel in Split
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Slavija 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Slavija is type of a heritage hotel due to its location, history and protection by Ministry of Culture of the Republic of Croatia and UNESCO. The Diocletian's Palace was built in the middle of the 3rd century AD, while the Hotel Slavija was built inside its walls, above the Emperor's western baths. Therefore, it can be concluded that the building of the hotel influenced the protection of the Baths from the devastation. With time the building of the hotel expanded, and from the Baroque palace it became today's Hotel Slavija. Hotel Slavija is under the protection of the Ministry of Culture of the Republic of Croatia, and in part is protected by the UNESCO. The location in the very center of the town makes Hotel Slavija an ideal choice for a stay in Split, surrounded by all relevant historical buildings of the city of Split, including the Temple of Jupiter, the St. Duje Cathedral, the Milesi palace... It is ideal place for both business and pleasure travelers because of its location. Hotel is situated in the very center of the city and is but a few minutes walk from all the major attractions as well as from the main bus terminal, airport shuttle terminal, railway station and ferry. The hotel has 25 rooms and each room is air conditioned, with private bath, hair dryer, satellite TV, Internet connection and direct dial telephone. Some of the rooms are with terraces and Hotel is especially proud to present them because, terraces are rarity in the old part of Split. In the lobby of the hotel is Internet Hot spot, which is free for hotel guests. We also provide faxing, copying, printing and scanning, as well as laundry service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HRS and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Slavija reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Slavija Hotel Split

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing