We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Really great holiday right in the heart of the Palace”
Review of Hotel Slavija

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Slavija
Ranked #11 of 55 Hotels in Split
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Really great holiday right in the heart of the Palace”
Reviewed 19 August 2010

We were so happy with the service, room and location of this hotel. The staff were extremely helpful regarding where to start our sightseeing and very accommodating regarding our babies needs [milk etc needing refridgeration]. They gave us a quiet room on the 4th floor [no lifts, so if you don't like stairs, don't ask for a quiet room] and it had a lovely big balcony from which we could look out over the beautiful city. I imagine it would be noisy on lower floors due to the abundance of bars outside the hotel. Although I did over hear one other guest say that she didn't find it too noisy with the windows closed, so I suppose it depends on how sensitive you are to noise.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SueHammer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

345 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    196
    103
    31
    9
    6
See reviews for
75
119
36
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
near Hamilton
Level Contributor
36 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2010

The hotel is down some windy little streets inside what was the old Roman Diocletion Palace, so it is all very interesting. The hotel itself is modern and clean and the lady on the reception was very friendly and hospitable. Croatians really understand hospitality!

The hotel is well situated for seeing the sights of the old palace and also the sea front. At night, it all came alive with bands, big screens showing soccer and everybody out on the streets.

I think the only negative thing, was that there were no lifts in the hotel, but apparently they have to fit in with government regulations because they are inside such an historic area.

Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank WilsonsofPirongia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
278 reviews
89 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 204 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 July 2010

On the plus side: very central, great air conditioning, modern bathroom, triple glazing has sorted out noise problems, helpful staff. On the downside, rooms are pretty basic, with no creature comforts (no mini bar for example) and you are simply paying for the excellent location. I advise you to double check your booking in advance with the hotel. We had a confirmed booking which the hotel for some reason had thought was for the night before. We were lucky that they still had a room when we arrived (at 11 pm after a delayed flight).

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank London_Travellers_09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
160 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2010

Very satisfactory, low-mid range tourist hotel. Perfectly located in the old town (Diocletian's Palace), just a couple of blocks back from the Riva (waterfront promenade). Very helpful service too!

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TimSWellington
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Poland
Level Contributor
20 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 June 2010

Good place to stay in Split. Located in a very core of the town, surrounded by all of the goodies Split is offering. The only issue is connected with the bar located in the ground floor which appear to be a very popular place in the night. Noise originated by this becomes a significant experience of the night.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank m_oto_res
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ellicott City, Maryland
Level Contributor
469 reviews
80 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 209 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 June 2010

You stay at the Slavija for its excellent location and its great staff. Neither disappointed. We were in easy proximity of everything in Split when staying here, and I wouldn't have stayed elsewhere. We got great restaurant recommendations, sightseeing tips, and local color from the English-speaking staff. The room was fine but not great, with a shower that often sprayed everywhere in the bathroom. Some have complained about noise in the hotel, but the new windows seem to have eliminated that problem. We were there on a weekend and slept soundly despite nearby nightclubs. The breakfast, however, was in a tiny room and only mediocre; there is no elevator, which would seriously hamper handicapped guests, and parking is on the Riva at the very expensive city lot. Go for the location and staff and you'll be fine. If you want luxury, try someplace else. But you'll be happy here.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EC13091
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hartford,CT
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 May 2010

We just spent a lovely night at hotel slavija in split. Very helpful staff in a perfect location.

  • Stayed June 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mkdlovestotravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Split hotels
0.4 mi away
Divota Apartment Hotel
0.2 mi away
Hotel Luxe
Hotel Luxe
#7 of 55 in Split
4.5 of 5 bubbles 635 reviews
0.2 mi away
Cornaro Hotel
Cornaro Hotel
#4 of 55 in Split
4.5 of 5 bubbles 328 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Hotel Vestibul Palace
Hotel Vestibul Palace
#10 of 55 in Split
4.5 of 5 bubbles 401 reviews
0.1 mi away
Antique Split Luxury Rooms
0.6 mi away
Split Apartments - Peric Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Slavija? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Slavija

Property: Hotel Slavija
Address: Buvinina 2 | Andrije Buvine 2, Split 21000, Croatia
Region: Croatia > Dalmatia > Split-Dalmatia County > Split
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Split
#8 Business Hotel in Split
#12 Romantic Hotel in Split
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Slavija 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Slavija is type of a heritage hotel due to its location, history and protection by Ministry of Culture of the Republic of Croatia and UNESCO. The Diocletian's Palace was built in the middle of the 3rd century AD, while the Hotel Slavija was built inside its walls, above the Emperor's western baths. Therefore, it can be concluded that the building of the hotel influenced the protection of the Baths from the devastation. With time the building of the hotel expanded, and from the Baroque palace it became today's Hotel Slavija. Hotel Slavija is under the protection of the Ministry of Culture of the Republic of Croatia, and in part is protected by the UNESCO. The location in the very center of the town makes Hotel Slavija an ideal choice for a stay in Split, surrounded by all relevant historical buildings of the city of Split, including the Temple of Jupiter, the St. Duje Cathedral, the Milesi palace... It is ideal place for both business and pleasure travelers because of its location. Hotel is situated in the very center of the city and is but a few minutes walk from all the major attractions as well as from the main bus terminal, airport shuttle terminal, railway station and ferry. The hotel has 25 rooms and each room is air conditioned, with private bath, hair dryer, satellite TV, Internet connection and direct dial telephone. Some of the rooms are with terraces and Hotel is especially proud to present them because, terraces are rarity in the old part of Split. In the lobby of the hotel is Internet Hot spot, which is free for hotel guests. We also provide faxing, copying, printing and scanning, as well as laundry service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Jet2Holidays , Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, LoveHolidays, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HRS so you can book your Hotel Slavija reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Slavija Hotel Split

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing