We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Need to improve”
Review of Hotel President

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel President
Ranked #45 of 58 Hotels in Split
Reviewed 14 October 2011

We stayed here while on a bus trip through Croatia. Our room was one of the small ones. You had to be very careful that you didn't hit your knee on the end of the bed as you squeezed between it and the wardrobe. Despite being a double room, only one glass in the bathroom and a half used tube of shampoo/shower gel.There is no air conditioning and if it were hot and you opened the window the noise from the busy street would be unbearable. The safe did not work and even if it did could be easily lifted out of the cupboard. Some of our party got stuck in the lift. Breakfast was average. The staff were pleasant and. tried their best. I feel sure that once they get used to large numbers things will improve. This hotel was within walking distance of the old town.

Room Tip: Try to get a room away from the main side street as they are bigger and quiter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RhondaMJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (309)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

158 - 164 of 309 reviews

Reviewed 9 October 2011

Considering the past reviews, I was concerned about staying here. I'm happy to say that it was a very pleasant surprise that the hotel was much better than expected. The room, service, breakfast, and facilities were all very good. It has a terrific location in the center of town with easy walking to all visitor attractions. Split is a fabulous visitor experience and this hotel is a very reasonable choice.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank philliegirl26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2011

I stayed at this hotel whilst accompanying my husband on a business trip. The bedroom was spacious with comfortable beds and a big bathroom with a jacuzzi. It's only a short walk into the centre of the old city so very convenient. Breakfast was a DIY affair - including hunt the knives and spoons, still being washed up after the departure of a tour party. A buffet lunch was OK, but spoiled by some dry chicken and lack of waiting staff to clear tables between courses. I also spotted an enormous spiders web in the corner of the dining room, complete with resident spider, at floor level - so it couldn't have been swept for some time!

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travelwearyLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2011

Very disorganised, no staff,hand rail missing on stairs, loose rail in the bathroom, bathroom floor flooded and made very slippery, breakfast was a poor selection, hot food was cold and fruit juice watered down,lift got stuck twice with us in it,jacuzzi didn`t work and no instructions,evening meal very mediocre.

Stayed: September 2011, travelled with friends
1  Thank pat h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2011

My friend was in charge of making reservations for hotels in our Balkan tour and after seeing reviews on this page I did not know what to expect about this hotel, but it turned out to be a great place to stay, enjoy yourself and spend some time chilling. The hotel is only 2 minutes from the Diocletian's Palace so you do not have to spend some extra money on cabs. Even more, all city amenities and beaches are on walking distance from the hotel.
Service was great, breakfast very good and even though we came for breakfast at 9:55, waiters were helpful waiting for to finish before taking everything away. Very recommendable!

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lukas S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2011

I stayed here for one night on a tour. The location is good---it's only a few blocks from the Riva and Diocletian's Palace. Upon checking in to my tiny single room, the television was missing. Other tour members had problems with air conditioning, towels, and luggage. All were resolved with the help of my tour guide....but the hotel really seemed unable to cope with a large group. The room, besides being small, was badly in need of refurbishing. The bathroom was tiny and basic, with a small stall shower that leaked. The free internet didn't work in my second floor room, and I had to go down to the unairconditioned lobby for a connection. The breakfast was basic. I would not stay here again.

Room Tip: Ask for a large room----all the rooms vary in size.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SoFLTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2011

As part of a tour of Croatia, we stayed at this hotel for one night.
It turned out to be quite unpleasant. There were 40 people in our
group and a good number of them had a variety of problems.
First, suitcases were delivered to wrong rooms. Second, a few
people were caught in the elevator which stopped working. Our
shower didn't work properly. The laptop computer for public use
did not work either. Worst of all, there was only ONE staff person
available when we and another group arrived. This staff person
was quite cordial but clearly overwhelmed. At this point, the
President Hotel is quite definitely not ready to accept tour groups.
In fact, I would avoid it under any circumstances.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GreenlandFan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Split hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Bellevue Split
Hotel Bellevue Split
#50 of 58 in Split
198 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Slavija
Hotel Slavija
#18 of 58 in Split
380 reviews
0.6 mi away
Atrium Hotel
Atrium Hotel
#21 of 58 in Split
572 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Hotel More
Hotel More
#35 of 58 in Split
47 reviews
0.5 mi away
Art Hotel
Art Hotel
#31 of 58 in Split
217 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Globo
Hotel Globo
#26 of 58 in Split
247 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel President? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel President

Address: Starcheviceva 1, Split 21000, Croatia
Region: Croatia > Dalmatia > Split-Dalmatia County > Split
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#26 Luxury Hotel in Split
Price Range: £67 - £162 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel President 4*
Number of rooms: 73
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, LoveHolidays, Expedia, Agoda, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel President reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
President Hotel Split

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing