We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Could be better, could be a lot worse”
Review of Hotel President

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel President
Ranked #42 of 56 Hotels in Split
Reviewed 29 May 2012

We stayed on the second floor of this hotel (third floor, for us Americans). Hallways smelled like cigarette smoke. Elevator made scary noises, but worked okay. The rooms were quite small, and the furniture was arranged so poorly that I managed to hit my knee on the sharp corner of the bed every time I went by. The bed was one of the more comfortable I've encountered, with generous-sized pillows.

Rooms were stifling when we arrived. We eventually learned that the AC had to be turned on by the front desk staff. Worked fine after that.

Bathroom was small. Shower had some of the more bizarre controls that we've seen. Soap was provided, but smelled (and felt) harsh.

Breakfast was average. "Orange juice" was not worthy of the name.

Staff were friendly and helpful. Our magnetized keys stopped working several times, but they were always fixed promptly and cheerfully.

Location is good, within easy walking distance of local attractions.

Room Tip: Avoid street side, it is a little noisy.
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank susioh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (302)
There are newer reviews for Hotel President
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

146 - 152 of 302 reviews

Reviewed 22 May 2012

In a slightly shabby area but located within easy reach of shops, the waterfront and the historical district. We stayed for two nights. Our room was rather "tired" with missing floor tiles and the bathroom, whilst adequately equipped, needed refurbishment. Despite the heat, the aircon was not working and was only turned on after several determined approaches to management. There was free WIFI. As we were part of a group, dinner was a fixed menu and was satisfactory as was the buffet breakfast. The few staff on duty were pleasant and helpful, especially the receptionist who bore the brunt of my complaints about the airconditioning.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cricketfan99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2012

- No problems with the staff, they were very helpful, especially when we asked them for directions to a nightclub recommended by a friend which we couldn't remember the name of. They googled it and consulted other staff and while they couldn't find it for us we really appreciated their efforts. We had a problem with our room key too but that was quickly fixed.

- Our room was very comfortable, clean and extremely spacious. They had free wi-fi, the signal strength in our room was very good. No problem with the heating/air-con in the room, but the heaters were cranking in the common areas.

- The lift was a bit iffy - we were on the top floor and used the lift only when we first arrived and when we departed to cart our luggage. The rest of the time we used the stairs.

- Parking available at additional cost. There was on-street parking but we found their garage convenient.

- Excellent location - very pleasant walk to the waterfront and the old town.

- Biggest letdown for this hotel was the breakfast. It was really disappointing - we recommend you eat out.

On the whole, if you have a car, this hotel is in a good location, easy to access with convenient parking and a close proximity to town on foot.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Biggie_E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 November 2011

I can highly recommend! The hotel is clean, safe, and located within a few minutes walk to the old city, shopping, and the waterfront!

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank bdsbjmin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 October 2011

We were on a month-long tour of The Adriatic, Albania and Macedonia with Adventures Abroad. We stayed here one night. Our room was large, unfortunately the street noise meant we had to keep the windows closed. The bathroom was an accident waiting to happen. There was a large spa tub/shower but the handle was loose so getting into the tub rather scary. My husband said that the only 4-star part of the hotel was the sign outside. The breakfast buffet was fine.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank angten
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 October 2011

Nice hotel good quality price ratio. Breakfast also very good. We had also the possibility to have a lunch, but it was not so good. Buffet was instead very good. Service was excellent, and facilities also adequate to a standard hotel of ****. I can reccommend it with no problem.
It is also close to the city Center and the Diocletian palace.

  • Stayed: October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Antonello S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 October 2011

We spent five nights and enjoyed the location, service and food. Although many of the guests are tour groups this guarantees a reasonable level of services at a reasonable price. Close to the old town gave a nice walk past shops and eateries. Has a good bar and a nice courtyard to relax and chill after a day of walking.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank travelfourfun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Split hotels
0.6 mi away
Atrium Hotel
Atrium Hotel
#17 of 56 in Split
550 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Bellevue Split
Hotel Bellevue Split
#50 of 56 in Split
188 reviews
0.5 mi away
Art Hotel
Art Hotel
#32 of 56 in Split
213 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Globo
Hotel Globo
#25 of 56 in Split
240 reviews
0.2 mi away
Cornaro Hotel
Cornaro Hotel
#6 of 56 in Split
463 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Slavija
Hotel Slavija
#11 of 56 in Split
375 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel President? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel President

Address: Starcheviceva 1, Split 21000, Croatia
Region: Croatia > Dalmatia > Split-Dalmatia County > Split
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#24 Luxury Hotel in Split
Price Range: £89 - £151 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel President 4*
Number of rooms: 73
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, LoveHolidays, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel President reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
President Hotel Split

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing