We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good hotel for a base in Split”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel President

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel President
Ranked #42 of 57 Hotels in Split
Sydney
Level Contributor
91 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Good hotel for a base in Split”
Reviewed 9 July 2013

This is a very classy hotel with great amenities. It has several pools and a gym. The indoor pool was particularly good. There was a room safe, fridge and an exotic bathroom with a spa. Our room was extremely spacious and comfortable with plenty of cupboard space and good lighting. The staff were very helpful and the breakfast was excellent.
The hotel is a 20 minute drive from the centre of Split but it has free WiFi which is excellent.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank juneabout
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

265 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    25
    64
    104
    49
    23
See reviews for
29
112
20
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Wenatchee, Washington
Level Contributor
339 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2013

We stayed at the hotel 3 nights in May. We were fortunate to get a large room the was clean and comfortable. Some of our friends were not so lucky and they didn't like this hotel as a result. I would give our hotel room that we got on the 4th floor a 3.5 rating. The food at the hotel was average or lower. Nothing to distinguish it and for us a major draw back. The hotel is very convenient to the promenade along the water front and the Diocletian palace which are the main attractions in Split.

Room Tip: Ask for a street side corner room on an upper floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank iluvta2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
swindon
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2013

We visited this hotel with Saga, Jewels of Croatia. The hotel was set by a river in a pretty area just outside of Split. There were enough places to visit in the surrounding area making for a very enjoyable to stay.
The hotel rooms were excellent with free wifi, very comfortable and spacious. We requested to change rooms as we prefer a double to a twin and this was actioned immediately. The food was very good,(buffet) with plenty of choice. It was a shame the ornate swimming pool wasn't open as it was very pretty and more suitable for a quick dip to cool off rather than the large pool.
Over all, recommend this hotel for a short stay.

Room Tip: rooms are quieter at the back as the bells of the church are quite loud
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tonye252
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mossel Bay
Level Contributor
57 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 June 2013

We arrived rather late at the President. The receptionist were friendly - the room very average.
The breakfast not to rave about. This hotel need some renovation to get up to standard. We only stayed one night - but that was enough.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AirDelMar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roanoke, Virginia
Level Contributor
45 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2013

I stayed in a single room as part of a small tour group staying only one night. I've read below about the beds that were too soft. Mine was like sleeping on an ironing board, but I was so tired that I slept well anyway. The air conditioning had a thermostat and worked well. I loved the shower - a hand-held shower head, many jets that it was a little bit hard to make work, but somehow they came on, and also steam which was so efficient I had to open the shower door to get my breath. I really enjoyed that! I don't remember the breakfast, so it couldn't have been bad. My room was small but OK for me as the bed was a double. Had no view except rooftops, but I enjoyed it anyway. An old hotel now and then is part of the charm of traveling, I think. It was all wood-paneled. I had no interface with the staff so I can't comment on them. I liked it for a change from all the shiny-modern, sleek hotels we stayed in elsewhere.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Nibiru888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charleston, South Carolina
Level Contributor
22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 June 2013

Spent 2 nights in May 2013 as part of a tour group. The room was in the old part of the hotel (using front elevator). The lobby was small but nice. Our room initially seemed nice, but then we found the safe did not work due to lack of batteries; the TV was non functional, the shower had many different shower nozzles that didn't work, the bathroom waste can was broken, and the only light for shaving the right side of the face was burnt out and wasn't replaced. Despite promises from the front desk none of the correctible problems was repaired. The hair dryer was not plugged in; it was connected as per photo. Safety hazard?

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travelrangerSC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zagreb, Grad Zagreb, Croatia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 May 2013

The best this hotel has to offer is a proximity to downtown and a place to park (however you have to pay for the parking)
The room are spacious and clean although there is a certain smell in the room and the corridors (moisture)

Breakfast buffet is not up to standard of a 4 star hotel, so there is not a lot to choose from.

Wifi is available.

Room Tip: Ask for the room on the 2 floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NiksaGopcevic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Split
3.1 mi away
Hotel President Solin
0.2 mi away
Hotel Globo
Hotel Globo
#24 of 57 in Split
210 reviews
0.5 mi away
Art Hotel
Art Hotel
#33 of 57 in Split
182 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Bellevue Split
Hotel Bellevue Split
#49 of 57 in Split
161 reviews
0.6 mi away
Atrium Hotel
Atrium Hotel
#22 of 57 in Split
489 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel Jadran
Hotel Jadran
#43 of 57 in Split
88 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel President? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel President

Property: Hotel President
Address: Starcheviceva 1, Split 21000, Croatia
Region: Croatia > Dalmatia > Split-Dalmatia County > Split
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#24 Luxury Hotel in Split
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel President 4*
Number of rooms: 73
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Priceline, Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Evoline ltd, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK) and Agoda so you can book your Hotel President reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
President Hotel Split

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing