We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable rooms”
Review of Hotel President

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel President
Ranked #41 of 55 Hotels in Split
Utah
Level 6 Contributor
433 reviews
80 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 237 helpful votes
“Comfortable rooms”
Reviewed 23 May 2014 via mobile

The room was large. Specific instructions on using shower/bath included as these can be difficult. Lift/elevator as well as wifi. Breakfast acceptable. Our tour dinner was mediocre at best. Rather brusque service. Fitness room locked and inaccessible. Not as charming as in old city accommodation but perhaps quieter. Easy 10 minute walk to palace. Grocery and bakeries nearby.

Stayed May 2014
Helpful?
Thank mule54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

287 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    30
    67
    114
    53
    23
See reviews for
31
121
22
21
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Madrid, Spain
Level 6 Contributor
375 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 193 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 April 2014

I' ve never had a worse dinner in my whole life. Fixed dinner consisting of the following: Instant powdered soup. Raw cabbage salad in seed oil and a disgusting cold cut of disgusting pork. It looked like a joke. I guess even prison soup must be better. As for the room, the shower did not work, only the bath tub did. The fridge was broken and flooded forming a poodle of water, and cleanliness was scarce.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chamses
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Split hotels

Lisbon
Level 6 Contributor
214 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 April 2014

Just stayed here for one night. The hotel is located in the center of Split, a walkable distance to many points of interest. The rooms are confortable and the staff friendly. The restaurant is also good. It was a nice stay.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MVLVA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NJ
Level 6 Contributor
152 reviews
74 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 174 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 March 2014

I did a travel agent inspection of this property. 15 agents from all over the U.S. We all agreed this is the place to stay in Split. It's within walking distance (around the block) from the Diocletian Place. It has 61 double rooms & 5 suites. Free Wifi, Austrian decor with lovely lace curtains. The bathrooms are big with 2 sinks, jet jacuzzi tub, biget. Rooms have a mini bar, safe, parking is 100 kunas. The suites have waterbeds and are beautiful. No pool or gym.
The location is wonderful. It's old world elegance, yet very airy with modern ammenties. Not sure why this has such a low rating with TA. In fact, I'm shocked!
THIS IS THE PLACE TO STAY!!!!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank xxxtraveltoday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 6 March 2014

I do not know how anyone can complain about this great hotel. Just got back yesterday, I didn't want to leave. Friendly staff, great service, amazing rooms and outstanding location-just few steps from Diocletian palace. My friends all had fantastic rooms, but I had what I thought was a suite.

Room Tip: All friend of mine had deluxe rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank audrey-peat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 188 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 January 2014 via mobile

I stayed at this hotel for one night on business. The hotel is downtown in Split, with good adjacent parking. We were greeted from our car on the street by the receptionist, who carried our bags into the lobby. Good service.

Being low season, they must have had many empty room as I was given a huge room which I believe was the honeymoon suite. Just for me.

It was an odd room. It was huge. It had an exercise bike. It had sofas. It had a jacuzzi - in the bedroom. Must be for newly weds. There was a tiny separate room with a toilet and another sink, but the only shower was in the jacuzzi, in the bedroom. It was quite a slippery up and down into the "shower". One glass panel was missing so the beautiful wood floor got wet as I showered - in the bedroom. The drain was blocked too.

The mini bar only had one bottle of wine in it. And egg holders. The room had suspended ceiling tiles and strip lighting like any modern office. Not too cosy. The styling was old.

The hotel wifi was almost non existent throughout the hotel but on the 3rd floor I managed to find an external fast, open connection. A colleague on the 2nd floor only found wifi by sitting next to reception.

Breakfast was not self service, being low season. We were brought bread, yoghurt, ham, cheese etc at our table. It sort of worked.

Friendly staff, good location, but somehow the hotel just missed the mark as a four star hotel.

Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Nigelhu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northallerton, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
335 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 170 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 January 2014

We arrived from the UK & were promptly met at the airport by taxi and taken to the hotel. At reception the receptionist said you are booked in for five nights. Good we thought, but then she said the hotel is full we have done you a favour & got you into a local hotel. We viewed the local hotel it was new and clean but with no dining room or any other facilities it was basic and when you have just been told by the receptionist that you have two choices sleep on the street or go to the other hotel. The booking had been made months before so we were shocked. We said we would want compensation and would report to our tour rep.
Everything changed a room suddenly by magic became available. It was not wonderful but better than the street. The television could only get one English language programme beamed in from Russia and we could not get the fancy shower to work and the mini bar was empty. Breakfast was O.K. but the hotel was primarily occupied by coachloads of Americans who arrived late afternoon and left early morning.
Location is excellent and for that alone it was probably worth staying there though 5 nights was too long.
Our tour organiser organised a swift refund from the hotel who had written to apologise.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank td2traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Split
0.5 mi away
Art Hotel
Art Hotel
#32 of 55 in Split
195 reviews
0.6 mi away
Atrium Hotel
Atrium Hotel
#22 of 55 in Split
520 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Bellevue Split
Hotel Bellevue Split
#50 of 55 in Split
175 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Globo
Hotel Globo
#24 of 55 in Split
221 reviews
3.1 mi away
Hotel President Solin
0.3 mi away
Hotel Slavija
Hotel Slavija
#13 of 55 in Split
359 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel President? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel President

Property: Hotel President
Address: Starcheviceva 1, Split 21000, Croatia
Region: Croatia > Dalmatia > Split-Dalmatia County > Split
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#24 Luxury Hotel in Split
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel President 4*
Number of rooms: 73
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., LoveHolidays, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Priceline, Odigeo, Agoda, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel President reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
President Hotel Split

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing