We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great central location”
Review of Hotel Peristil

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Peristil
Ranked #13 of 55 Hotels in Split
Certificate of Excellence
Bristol
Level Contributor
20 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Great central location”
Reviewed 30 August 2008

We stayed at the hotel peristil for 4 nights as part of our trip to croatia.

The hotel is inside the palace walls so the location is perfect for seeing the sights. There are great restaurants and bars within easy walking distance.

As the location is so central parking is tricky, the parking near the harbour is expensive so it is best to park on streets near to the hotel (about 30p an hour 7am - 7pm and all other times are free). Staff at the peristil are quite happy to go with you and show you where to park.

We were in Room 304 on the top floor (no lifts). Room was lovely and had lots of character.

Breakfast was included and was made fresh for you.

Air con in the room was good.

Due the central location you could here some live music at night but it wsn't a problem.

Check out Sperun Restaurant for some lovely food (meat, seafood & pasta dishes)

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — the lack of parking
  • Stayed August 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Catherine19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

402 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    269
    101
    24
    6
    2
See reviews for
63
203
28
22
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Johannesburg, South Africa
1 review
Reviewed 26 August 2008

We stayed at Hotel Peristil for two nights and were very sorry that it was so short. Everyone was friendly and helpful and tolerated and pleased with my newly learnt Croatian.The hotel's ambiance really suited the area which is a stone's throw from the Diocletian Palace. We will definitely be returning in 2010. We absolutely adored Croatia.

  • Liked — Location, cleanliness
  • Disliked — n/a
  • Stayed July 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DeniseSouthAfrica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington
Level Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed 16 August 2008

We really enjoyed our stay at this hotel. It is small and not overly fancy, but the location was perfect and the staff were very helpful and friendly. We only had one night in Split and the location on the outside wall of the castle made it so that we could explore the castle and shops with enough time prior to catching our ferry. The rooms were very comfortable. We loved staying within the walls and even had one of the rooms with the castle wall exposed! Room was not large by american standards but it was large enough for 3 of us for 1 night. We had a little sitting area too. I would definitely stay here again.
dac

Stayed June 2008
Helpful?
Thank Debbie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cleveland, Ohio
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2008

A wonderful experience and the staff couldn’t be nicer. Prior to staying at the hotel, I had several questions on transportation that were quickly answered via email. Upon arrival, the front desk night watchman lugged our suitcases up three flights of stairs, which was no easy feat. Dada was very helpful when trying to arrange our apartment in Hvar, our next stop. She called the owner for us to ensure that she was there upon our arrival in Hvar. Finally, the owner is always around in the afternoon and evening. He is very friendly, always asking if there is anything you need. Also, when my cell phone wasn’t working he allowed me to use the hotel’s private line to call the US free of charge. We left the hotel feeling this locally run hotel had the nicest staff we had come across in a very long time and the perfect location to match.

The hotel is located just inside the old town and shares the walls built in the 1700’s. The rooms were newly remodeled with a flat screen TV, air conditioning, and new bathroom fixtures. Ask for room 303 or 403, as they have views of the church tower.

Breakfast is included with your stay. You can choose from cereal, eggs, meant, and fruit. The hotel also has a restaurant that you must eat at one night. Jerry, our favorite waiter would bring us “surprise” deserts on the night we ate there or just came back for late night drinks.

The only thing I would caution against is families with young children staying here. At night, there is music in the spare a few yards away. It ends around midnight, but could be noisy for those who go to bed early.

  • Stayed August 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Anniebear7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
2 reviews
Reviewed 12 August 2008

Although not a 5 star establishment for those with richer tastes, dont be fooled by this hotel's 3 star rating as it was comfortable, cultural and cosy!

Situated right inside the east gate of the palace, the hotel was perfectly placed for the market stalls and in palace shops as well as being close to the seafront and but a 10 minute walk to the closest public beach.

The hotel was beautifully decorated giving the rooms a lovely homely feel, with good amenities and personalised service. The staff were the friendliest we encountered throughout Croatia and this was by far our favourite place to stay.

Breakfast was impressively pleasant and dont stay without trying out the hotel restaurant for dinner! We even recieved a suprise dessert on the house! :D

Lastly was the smell of lavender on the bedsheets, towels and throughout the hotel. Strange and unexpected but a pleasure when you lay your head down to rest after a long day of sight-seeing and shopping.

If we ever go back, this hotel will be our only choice of accomodation! Fantastic value for money!!

  • Liked — The decor in the rooms.
  • Disliked — No complaints.
  • Stayed July 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank ChinaWhite1995
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
croydon, surrey
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 August 2008

This hotel was a gem. It has its own website and it certainly lived up to its pictures. The staff were so welcoming,friendly, helpful, whilst keeping their own individuality and personality. A brilliant start to our holiday. we stayed for 3 nights before a week's sailing. My husband was able to recharge his iphone at reception - no problem.Lovely breakfast available until 11.00am as they appreciate people are on holiday. So convenient for everything and being part of Diocletian's palace! how more steeped in culture can you be? Lovely food too, we ate our first meal there, which compared in price and quality far more favourably than a lot of restaurants. Handy to know before you arrive, as lots of places are just cafe/bars for drinks/ice cream. Hotel can be a bit tricky to find, being a Unesco World Heritage site there are no huge signs announcing its whereabouts, but it is right by the Peristil, THE landmark in Split, right outside where they stage the outdoor operas. We saw Nebucco by Verdi as we were lucky to get spare tickets at face value from a Croatian who was let down at last minute. Would definitely stay here again and recommend it.

Stayed June 2008
Helpful?
Thank chilled85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
35 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2008

I loved this hotel. The location was fantastic.. The rooms were really nice and clean with proper air conditioning which was nice given we had just stayed at the Amfora in Hvar for 6 nights with rubbish air con.. The food was really nice; we had both breakfast and dinner in the restaurant and were pleasantly surprised at how nice it was. Lastly the staff were lovely.. i think it might be family run im not sure we only stayed there 1 night but they were all really friendly and helpful! Would definitely recommend this hotel.

Stayed July 2008
Helpful?
1 Thank Anonymous200
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Split hotels
0.4 mi away
Divota Apartment Hotel
0.2 mi away
Hotel Luxe
Hotel Luxe
#7 of 55 in Split
4.5 of 5 bubbles 635 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Vestibul Palace
Hotel Vestibul Palace
#11 of 55 in Split
4.5 of 5 bubbles 401 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Slavija
Hotel Slavija
#10 of 55 in Split
4.5 of 5 bubbles 344 reviews
0.0 mi away
Antique Split Luxury Rooms
0.2 mi away
Cornaro Hotel
Cornaro Hotel
#4 of 55 in Split
4.5 of 5 bubbles 328 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Peristil? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Peristil

Property: Hotel Peristil
Address: Polj.Kraljice Jelene 5, Split 21000, Croatia
Region: Croatia > Dalmatia > Split-Dalmatia County > Split
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Split
#5 Family Hotel in Split
#10 Romantic Hotel in Split
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Peristil 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Odigeo, Evoline ltd, Agoda, Cancelon and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Peristil reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Peristil Hotel Split

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing