We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Business Hotel”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Globo

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Globo
Ranked #24 of 57 Hotels in Split
Certificate of Excellence
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
120 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Business Hotel”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 October 2012

We stayed at the Hotel Globo Split for two nights as part of a Rick Steves tour. While it claims to be a 4 star hotel, it is more of a 3 star, as expected for the tour. The surrounding area is a business area that is currently experiencing some tough economic times. There are a lot of vacancies in the surrounding buildings, so it is a bit of a quiet "desert." Proved not to be scary, though. The old town and the harbor are about a 15 minute walk, so the sights and the action is close.

A downside was the reception staff that smoked incessantly (seems normal for Croatia, unfortunately), so the lobby was not a very pleasant place to spend any more time in than necessary.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Roger H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
zanagugic, General Manager at Hotel Globo, responded to this review, 25 October 2012
Dear Sir,

We are so sorry for this inconvenience and on this occasion we would like to apologize.
Also we appreciate that you pointed out this problem so that we can properly take care of that issue.
Smoking is not allowed in the hotel and the employee who was smoking at the reception will be adequately sanctioned.
Please accept our apologize.

Best regards,

Hotel Globo Split
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

210 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    58
    105
    38
    7
    2
See reviews for
35
81
13
13
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
london
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 June 2012

stayed one night at the end of may - had worried it was too far from port and sea front but was easily walkable. High standard and much better value than hotels in the bcentre of spli. Staff helpful

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sean9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Poznan, Poland
Level Contributor
164 reviews
164 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 135 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 February 2012

The hotel is characterized by a high standard. Check-in went very quickly. He immediately got the key to peace. Noteworthy is the quality of the materials from which made ​​finishing in the room. Bed very comfortable. The bathroom in addition to the standard equipment found another towel. We used the hotel restaurant and I am generally satisfied. The only downside may be that the food portions are very small. In addition, all very good. Note that the surrounding area is interesting and very pretty. Staff speak English. I recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank davidiacus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
21 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 January 2012

While the staff was really nice and the breakfast ok, I was otherwise unimpressed with the hotel. We were in a room on the top floor which felt a bit like we were living in someone's attic. The WiFi didn't really work well. It was a bit of a walk to the action and traffic isn't exactly pedestrian friendly. My friend who booked the room was apologizing for making us stay there - it wasn't that level of bad but I'm sure you could find something better. We were only on a stop before our ferry the next morning so it wasn't a big deal. But I wouldn't plan a week here.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank youngyaya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
zanagugic, General Manager at Hotel Globo, responded to this review, 2 July 2013
Dear Sir,
I'm very sorry You didn't like accommodation in Hotel Globo and that You were unhappy with our location.
Hotel Globo is located in the main city center in business area of Split City.
We are defined as a 4 star hotel by croatian ministry of tourism.
I'm also very sorry that we didn't get a chance to provide you new room since we didn't know that you are unhappy with a room we offered You.
Hopefully You'll give us opportunity in some close future to accommodate You and make Your stay in Hotel Globo happy!
Have a great day,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tel Aviv
Level Contributor
52 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 October 2011

located within walking distance from the old city, hotel globo is a nice choice.
the stuff very helpful, the rooms decore-superb, clean.
has free parking and free wifi.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ViviTelAviv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
whitefish
Level Contributor
175 reviews
80 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 146 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 October 2011

The hotel is located several blocks from the pedestrian area of the city. Watch for speeding cars when walking about. The somewhat small lobby contains two computer terminals for those needing an Internet fix. Superior reception staff. The decor is pleasant and the rooms clean and comfortable. The breakfast, included, is OK. There is an espresso machine hidden in the kitchen area...ask staff or a real cup of coffee.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sagecrest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
197 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2011

I stayed with my partner at Hotel Globo during a recent trip to Split in Croatia. We booked it based on the reviews in TA.

Firstly location. It is quite a bit away from all the action of split in a very “off the beaten track” part of the city. I would imagine that some people would not find the neighbourhood very nice after dark (as it appears to be more businesses than residents) but I guess we found it ok and safe. Its about a 10-15 min walk to the main action of Split. The hotels “car park” is a dirt lot off to the side that is open for all to walk through (so it not secure in any way). There is nothing actually stopping you from staying at a hotel closer in Split and then parking your car in this car park (from that we could tell)

The hotel itself is actually quite ugly from the outside but is far better when in side. While the rooms had REALLY high ceilings, the floor space was actually quite small. There was a very small TV with very few channels. The beds themselves were VERY hard and not at all comfortable. Bathroom was just OK.

We ate breakfast as part of the supplied breakfast with the room and again, it was just OK. Had the usual selection of cold meats and cheeses but nothing special

This hotel feels very much like it is catering to the business traveller and not really for a vacation. I think you could find a better hotel in the town for the money we paid but this would be an OK option if you could not find anything near the old town / water area.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Savitar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Split hotels
0.5 mi away
Atrium Hotel
Atrium Hotel
#22 of 57 in Split
4.0 of 5 bubbles 489 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Slavija
Hotel Slavija
#9 of 57 in Split
4.5 of 5 bubbles 336 reviews
0.5 mi away
Jupiter Heritage Hotel
Jupiter Heritage Hotel
#27 of 57 in Split
4.0 of 5 bubbles 288 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Divota Apartment Hotel
0.3 mi away
Hotel Marul
Hotel Marul
#5 of 57 in Split
4.5 of 5 bubbles 194 reviews
0.1 mi away
Split Apartments - Peric Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Globo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Globo

Property: Hotel Globo
Address: Lovretska 18, Split 21000, Croatia
Region: Croatia > Dalmatia > Split-Dalmatia County > Split
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Split
#15 Romantic Hotel in Split
#17 Luxury Hotel in Split
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Globo 4*
Number of rooms: 33
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, TravelUp, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Globo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Globo Hotel Split

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing