We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A handy location in Split”
Review of Villa Ana

Villa Ana
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Villa Ana
Ranked #47 of 446 Speciality Lodging in Split
Tulsa, OK
Level Contributor
23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“A handy location in Split”
Reviewed 21 September 2013

Read also the review by pcpanama. Because Villa Ana is set back so far from the main street
the GPS places you on a street behind the building with no access to the Villa. However, it was worth the trouble finding our way in. This is a simple, small, family run inn. It is clean and very quite and serves simple but adequate breakfast. Don't look for a big flat screen tv in the room.

Parking is tight but has room for one car per guest room.

The nice thing is the location. Easy walking to the promenade, market, Diocletian Palace and the harbor where you catch island and car ferries.

Room Tip: We stayed in the front room over the reception area. It has a balcony that give a feeling of additio...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tulsa_OKEztravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

68 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    21
    30
    13
    2
    2
See reviews for
4
42
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
charlotte
Level Contributor
33 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 September 2013

It says its at 16 Lucac but your GPS will have you turn into a strip shopping center and follow an alley which actually is Lucac which actually looks pretty seedy and you'll never find Villa Ana but you will get stuck in narrow alleys with no way to turn around, What you need to do is find Villa Diana on Zvonimira, Villa Ana is right next door a little further back from the street. The rooms are large, with small refrig, good size bathrooms. Short walk to old town and castle. Very friendly and helpful front desk staff who will apologize heartily for your getting lost.

Room Tip: only 1 room on ground floor ask for it if stairs are a problem, top floor rooms are two flights up.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pcpanama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Barbara, California
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 September 2013

Were to start..... We arrived after a 4 hour drive and were greeted by a locked front door with no attendant to let us in. After standing out front for over an hour ringing the doorbell we were let in by a guest who was unaware of the receptionist's whereabouts. At this point we were unable to access our room and were at near to being charged for an extra day with our rental car because we had no access to a phone to inform the agency the car was ready for pickup. After working with the other, incredibly helpful and concerned guests for a few more hours attempting to reach the concierge/owners we decided to check the hotel next door to see if they had a clue where the owner was. It turned out that the receptionist of our hotel (also the son of the owner) was at home napping and had left the key next door assuming that we would figure out to go to the completely unaffiliated hotel next door, and left no note. He also stated that he would be there within 15 minutes. We got our keys after three hours of waiting and then waited another hour and a half for the owner (who said he would be there in 15 minutes). When we expressed our frustration for the he simply stated that "well these things happen." Actually, these things should not ever happen in a service industry when we had clearly made reservations to check in that day. Apart from that horrible situation and the complete lack of remorse for having gone home to take a nap when we were supposed to check in, leaving us locked outside in 95 degrees heat, the rooms were generic, completely without character or charm, and the location was nothing to write home about. We prefer supporting local family owned businesses so we were excited for Villa Ana but ended up being so dissatisfied that we left a day early (after already paying). We loved all of the other hotels we stayed at on our honeymoon, but have never had such a bad hotel experience as this. Please do yourself a favor and stay somewhere else.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank michael F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 September 2013 via mobile

We loved our stay in Villa Ana. Our room was very spacious, we had a great shower room and all areas were spotlessly clean. The mini fridge and air conditioning were very useful for us. The location is excellent - just a 5-10 minute walk to the town, which meant it was very quiet at night yet close enough for all the attractions and close to the beach. It was great having breakfast included in the room rate, and there was enough variety on offer for us, including hot drinks, scrambled eggs, toast, ham and cheese and yoghurt. The hosts were friendly and welcoming and I would not hesitate to recommend this guesthouse.

Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank rabbiter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Fairfield Ct
2 reviews
Reviewed 7 September 2013

We recently visited for our honeymoon. We were glad that we had someone driving us since even they had a hard time finding the hotel. It was very conveniently located to the center of the old town but far enough off the beaten track to be quiet. The room was comfortable and larger than many other rooms we had stayed in. Breakfast was ok. We had a little trouble getting the lightbulb in our bathroom replaced as it burnt out shortly after we arrived and we had to ask several times before it got fixed the following day.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank winelvr123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Split, Croatia
Level Contributor
92 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 April 2013

It is a small family operated establishment.
The prices are a little bit higher than the similar in the area but it is worth! It is very well located, just a few meters from the Pazar (Green Market) and the Dioclesian Palace in the hearth of Split.
Great breakfast!

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Toninhosampaio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Missouri
Level Contributor
36 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 February 2013

I drove into Split which was a challenge and I did have some difficulty locating the Vila Ana. I am sure glad we decided to stay there. Daniel will help you get your auto parked even though he does have limited space. It was off the beaten path so it was quiet but it was less than 5 minutes from the city center. The Vila Diana just off the driveway of Vila Ana has a great restaurant for weary travelers arriving late to the Vila Ana. Excellent seafood. Daniel runs a top notch establishment and he is very accomodating. It was clean, centrally located, and a value for a city center location.

Room Tip: If you need to leave early on your departure day Daniel will accomodate an early breakfast.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TheCaptq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Split hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Peristil
Hotel Peristil
#14 of 55 in Split
4.5 of 5 bubbles 401 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Luxe
Hotel Luxe
#7 of 55 in Split
4.5 of 5 bubbles 635 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Villa Diana
Hotel Villa Diana
#17 of 55 in Split
4.5 of 5 bubbles 218 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Horizon Luxury Suites
Horizon Luxury Suites
#21 of 173 in Split
5.0 of 5 bubbles 32 reviews
0.1 mi away
Nirvana Rooms & Apartments
0.3 mi away
BASE Rooms
BASE Rooms
#41 of 173 in Split
4.5 of 5 bubbles 115 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Ana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Ana

Property: Villa Ana
Address: Vrh Luchac 16, Split 21000, Croatia
Region: Croatia > Dalmatia > Split-Dalmatia County > Split
Hotel Style:
Ranked #47 of 446 Speciality Lodging in Split
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Traveltool, S.L.U., Booking.com, Agoda, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Villa Ana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Ana Hotel Split

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing