We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Good”
Review of Art Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Art Hotel
Ranked #32 of 56 Hotels in Split
Reviewed 16 February 2009

We stayed here for only one night. The front desk woman was very nice, friendly, and helpful. The room was sort of outdated, but fairly clean, normal size. The price was right. The lobby was quite social. This is probably a great hotel for single travelers. The best thing about the hotel was the breakfast. The location was a bit far from town, but walkable.

  • Stayed: September 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank DocTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (213)
There are newer reviews for Art Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

108 - 114 of 213 reviews

Reviewed 3 August 2008

For $197.73 with a so-so location, there isn't great value for the money spent. On the other hand, it has to be one of the best hotels in Split, and all the pluses from the other reviews are true: great breakfast, clean, large rooms, a/c that works.

If they could move it closer to the port, and lower the price by $50 my opinion would improve vastly.

  • Stayed: July 2008, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank rshive99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2008

We stayed in the Art Hotel for 2 nights. The rooms were spacious, clean and the bathrooms were a good size. The rooms were nicely fitted out. We found the reception staff, and all the other staff we encountered to be quite friendly. Another positive is that the hotel provides free internet access in the bar area.

The location of the hotel is in an area which seems a little seedy. Split is quite dirty, and the streets particularly around the hotel are filthy. This is surprising as the other cities we visited in Croatia (Dubrovnik and Zagreb) were a lot cleaner in comparison. As our room was located on one of the lower floors, it became noisy on one of the nights as Croatia had won a game in the Euro Football Cup which was on during our stay. It was quite noisy all night with cars constantly beeping horns, as well as a lot of noise from the streets below.

It is a 15 minute walk from the Hotel to the Old Town. We only did this during the day, and I can't comment as to how safe it would be walking back from the Old Town in the evening.

Breakfast was a good selection, however as a previous reviewer mentioned there were no bread rolls or even slices of bread to make toast! Also, the coffee at the buffet breakfast can only be described as awful. It was not drinkable at all.

The staff at the reception recommended a restaurant around the corner which was very good and of a high standard. This restaurant is definitely worth a visit. We can't recall the name of the restaurant, but the first word was something like Stari.

The hotel also seems a little expensive, and we're sure we were charged more than what we were originally quoted when we booked the hotel. When we were checking out, we were in a rush to get to the airport so we didn't have time to query the bill unfortunately. A word of advice is to allow enough time when checking out to check the bill carefully in case of any problems.

Overall it was a pleasant stay at the hotel, although I don't think we'll go back as we see no reason to visit Split on holiday again. If you do have to visit Split, I would recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: June 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank EmeraldPerth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 October 2007

We are 10 days into a 17 day trip to Italy and Croatia. This hotel is the cleanest hotel with the most modern ammenities we´ve experienced so far. Emaculate, contemporary rooms. Free internet. One of the best breakfasts too! The walk to the old town & water is 15 minutes (which was a bit far in cold weather). The cold weather is preventing us from venturing out to Boc or Hvar so visiting Split without enjoying the islands is probably not worthwhile -- at least for us.

  • Stayed: October 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank harderm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2007

I have just spent 2 weeks travelling around the countries that make up the former Yugoslavia and got to Split at the end of my trip.

I had been warned by colleagues at work that Split was a bit of a dump and not that great, so decided to at least book into a nice hotel. I knew it was a bit out of the town centre, but having checked the map didn't seem too far, and as a single traveller was watching the costs a bit.

The reception staff were helpful, the room was lovely and airy, great bathroom, comfortable bed a little balcony (although it didn't really look out on much, and a tv with some english channels - although the Croatian channels are in English with subtitles.

The walk to town is probably 10 mins fast walking, but it is possible to take a bus. The #37 bus to the airport goes from just outside every 20 mins and only takes 1 hour (to save trying to get the Air Croatia bus from town which doesn't link with the other airline timetables).

Had it been in the city centre I would have rated it excellent - but that's a personal preference.

  • Stayed: September 2007, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank stanton0406
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2007

This hotel was a big disappointment. It is rated as a 4-star, but is not by American standards (or other European hotels we have stayed in). To begin with, its website promises secure parking. Yes, there is a car gate to get into the very small parking area, but it is an automatic gate going out, and their is an open doorway (no door) into the parking area from the street. Also, the back door into the hotel is not locked even at night so anyone can access it.

We had reserved a triple for two days at $285/night. The kingsize bed was comfortable; however the "additional bed" in the room for our adult daughter turned about to be a low cot with a two-inch mattress over slats. When I went down to the reception area and asked for an additional mattress to put on top I was initially told, "not possible." I was offered an additional room at $170/night. I kept my cool and politely asked for the manager. A 5-minute phone conversation with the reception person and the manager ensued. I was then told we could have an additional mattress. That solved the problem.

The bathroom was quite large and had a lovely bath tub and plenty of hot water. However, the door handle kept coming off. I had reported this, but it was not fixed while we were there. The airconditioning worked fine in the 100 degree heat.

The buffet breakfast was an adequate European one with cold cuts and bread. Fried eggs were available, but no sweet rolls. Yogurt was in small containers and not the best quality. Orange and apple juice, coffee and tea were also available. Definitely not 4-star!

Finally, the hotel is about 15-20 minutes walk from the historic district, which we knew beforehand. The walk is fine during daylight, but at night it was kind of seedy, and quite frankly, the area of the city was quite filthy. The reception person did recommend a great restaurant around the corner which we loved.

I don't know if there are better hotels for the price to be had in Split, but just be aware of what you are reserving. It is not 4-star by most standards.

  • Stayed: August 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank anneharper1951
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2007

After a long drive from Dubrovnik to Split in the exhausting heat, we were just looking for a decent place to stay.

Thank goodness for the Art Hotel!

It is well-suited for business travelers (internet ready, very professional), but suits the needs for all travelers.

The front desk is VERY friendly and accomodating. In fact, the kind lady also coordinated a hotel and catamaran for us in Hvar for the next day. Internet is the room is very easy to access, and free. The rooms are very nice, the bathroom and shower are great, the hotel has parking (for a small fee), and breakfast is included.

The hotel is about a 10 minute walk away from the center of town and from a bunch of nice restaurants, cafes, etc.

What a fantastic experience this was!

  • Stayed: July 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank SmooveO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Split hotels
0.2 mi away
Atrium Hotel
Atrium Hotel
#17 of 56 in Split
550 reviews
1.7 mi away
Hotel More
Hotel More
#34 of 56 in Split
45 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Bellevue Split
Hotel Bellevue Split
#50 of 56 in Split
189 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Globo
Hotel Globo
#25 of 56 in Split
240 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel President
Hotel President
#42 of 56 in Split
302 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Consul
Hotel Consul
#40 of 56 in Split
54 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Art Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Art Hotel

Address: Ulica Slobode 41, Split 21000, Croatia (Formerly BEST WESTERN Art Hotel)
Region: Croatia > Dalmatia > Split-Dalmatia County > Split
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa
Hotel Style:
#10 Spa Hotel in Split
#22 Luxury Hotel in Split
Price Range: £85 - £440 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Art Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 36
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, LoveHolidays, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Art Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Art Hotel Split

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing