We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location, Iffy Security.”

Split Hostel Booze & Snooze
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Split Hostel Booze & Snooze
Ranked #72 of 484 Speciality Lodging in Split
Saint John, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
93 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Great Location, Iffy Security.”
Reviewed 15 September 2013

The location of the hostel is awesome, that's if you can find it! Split can be a bit tricky with side alley ways doubling as streets, so be sure to keep your eyes open when you're trying to find it. It's located in an alley behind a news stand. You will miss it if you don't see the news stand, and turn in behind the news stand and walk up the alley.

The room I had was alright. I was in a 5 bed mixed dorm. The room itself wasn't overly large, but was big enough for us to stay comfortably. One complaint I had was the location of the room. When you enter the hostel, there is a room on your right then stairs that lead up to the other rooms. The room on the right is where I stayed. This room also possesses the cleaning supplies, towels and sheets for the cleaning staff, so every morning, we had hostel staff coming in and out of the room to access these items. Many times, they left our door wide open while they were coming in and out. The other complaint is that the bathroom for this room is next to the entrance, so you would have to leave your room, cut through the line of people trying to check in and out and use the bathroom right in the lobby.

Security in the hostel is questionable. I never really felt unsafe, but I really didn't like that the door was just left wide open all day (until 10 pm), and then after 10, hostel staff leave and the hostel is unattended until they return in the morning.

The staff at the hostel were all super friendly, invited me out for drinks, and were available for any questions. One of the staff gave me his personal mobile number in case I had any issues with the shuttle he had arranged for 5 am on my day of departure. He could not have been more helpful!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Erin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

57 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    24
    18
    12
    0
    3
See reviews for
2
3
22
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 September 2013

Great location, the staff are extremely welcoming, they gave me a lot of money saving tips, the hostel has very clean facilities! This was nice hostel to stay for a few nights! I met there really nice poeple and we had great fun together. I recommend!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Andrew L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 September 2013 via mobile

Although they host a group dinner which makes it easy to make friends the restaurant was gross and charlie's bar was not a happening place at all. The hostel itself was adequate, good facilities, great included breakfast but not fruit.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CaitlynMK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2013 via mobile

This hostel is in a great location and the dinners they have every night are really good and you get your months worth but the security at the hostel is terrible we had an iPhone stolen from our dorm so just make sure you keep your stuff locked up!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Biancak123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 July 2013

This hostel was in a great location right in the middle of the town. Staff were friendly on arrival and gave some pointers of where to visit which was nice. The dorms were quite cramped and the building itself was quite noisy due to layout so wasn't the best night's sleep, but nothing really to complain about, it did the job!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Elizabeth W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guildford, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2013

We stayed in this hostel for about a week in June. If you are in Split to meet people then this is a great place to start; the staff are extremely welcoming and friendly, and the layout of the building is such that it would be nearly impossible not to bump into your fellow travellers/holiday-makers.

The facilities are clean and well-maintained. There are two toilets, one on the ground floor and one on the middle. Neither is particularly sound-proof, ha! - so if you're sensitive about the sounds you make then this might be something to consider. In fact, the hostel is generally just one big room on three floors (the top floor accessible by a very steep, ominous staircase) and I doubt there's much said in any place here that cannot be heard throughout.

Having said that, I found it quite easy to sleep at as the hostel staff (aided by a psychotic neighbour) do a good job of quietening the hostel down about ten o'clock, when the terrace is shut down and revellers move on to the nearby backpacker bar. Of course, sleeping in the morning can be an issue.

Location-wise, it is right in the middle of the old town. The beaches are short walks (15mins) but everything else is right by you. Ideal for travellers who want to meet people.

Room Tip: The top room is accessed via a very steep and narrow final staircase.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mrandocalrissian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2013

Perfect location. Small bathrooms.

We rocked up to this joint for a two night stay. Upon arrival we notified them that one of our party had to return home so could we get a refund on his bed. They promptly said no as they held the bed for him over the course of the four months (fair enough). At three o clock that night they opened the doors and had sold the bed to another traveller. We kicked up a stink and wouldn't allow him in as we had already paid for the bed and they had sold it again. After an hour of shouting (keep in mind it is still early in the morning) they finally gave in and returned our money.

Big Red you made no fans here. We will never stay here again and never recommend this place to anyone. You are there to work, not floozy yourself on every bloke that walks through the door.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank cleko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Split hotels
0.1 mi away
Split Hostel Fiesta Siesta
0.4 mi away
Hostel Split Backpackers
0.1 mi away
Design Hostel Goli&Bosi
Design Hostel Goli&Bosi
#110 of 484 in Split
173 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Tchaikovsky Hostel Split
0.3 mi away
CroParadise Blue Hostel
CroParadise Blue Hostel
#67 of 484 in Split
55 reviews
0.1 mi away
Silver Central Hostel
Silver Central Hostel
#168 of 484 in Split
36 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Split Hostel Booze & Snooze? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Split Hostel Booze & Snooze

Property: Split Hostel Booze & Snooze
Address: Narodni Trg 8, Split 21000, Croatia
Region: Croatia > Dalmatia > Split-Dalmatia County > Split
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #72 of 484 Speciality Lodging in Split
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Newly renovated Split Hostel Booze and Snooze offers affordable, safe, and clean accommodation to all travelers. We are situated within Diocletian Palace. The hostel is within 1 minute walking distance of the most famous sites and attractions in Split. Facilities include:• Free Wi-Fi• 24 hour access• No curfew• Linens included• English speaking staff• Lockers for storing valuables• 24 hour hot showers• Phone/fax facilities• Outdoor terrace• Tourist information• Air-conditioning / heating• Bicycle parking ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing